We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Maison Gautreaux

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Maison Gautreaux
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

44 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 34: English reviews
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 14 May 2016

The hotel has free parking on the street, which we had no problems with. The room looked very bland, but everything worked. The breakfast consisted of fruit and a ham and cheese sandwich, which was minimal but filling. The passion fruit drink was delicious. The hotel is on a waterfront strip with lots of hotels and casinos, but think twice...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ted U
JuanGautreaux, Manager at Maison Gautreaux, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we look forward to see you again at our place

Reviewed 7 April 2016 via mobile

The accommodations were fine. The building is beautiful, and the employees were very nice. Complimentary breakfast was satisfying. Wish we had time to explore the area a little more, but were off to Jarabacoa the next morning. Would recommend to savvy travelers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
JuanGautreaux, Owner at Maison Gautreaux, responded to this review

Thank you for your reply!!!! We hope to see you around again

Boulder, Colorado
Reviewed 31 March 2016

The manager made a special treat for everyone on Easter, they took really great care of everyone, moved me into a room with working AC. Gave lots of does an don't regarding the city. Clean, nice, very central location near the sea.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DiversionUTL
JuanGautreaux, Owner at Maison Gautreaux, responded to this review

Thank you for yopur reply, we hope you come again and notice the things that we have done to get better

Reviewed 28 January 2016

Overall the Maison seeks to serve you and take care of your needs in any way possible. The overall hotel is fine. It is clean and usually when I am in the Dominican, I am out early and back to the hotel late. I use it as a place to sleep. Regarding sleeping, bring ear plugs. You never know what...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
JuanGautreaux, Owner at Maison Gautreaux, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Mr. Brian We look forward to see you in our place the next time you come to Santo Domingo. The issue with the water pressure will be solve in the next week and also we have contract the internet with fiber optic cable to reduce possible damages. we will be getting stronger our network with...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 20 August 2015

Everyone is fixed on staying at the big chain hotels, but before those it was the small hotels that existed and gave the area and the town the Historic look. The Maison has what you need: great location, Wi-Fi, clean towels, water, air condition, comfortable bed, breakfast to start your day (even a Jacuzzi) and a staff that is ready...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Manny P
JuanGautreaux, Owner at Maison Gautreaux, responded to this review

Thank you for your review!!! We look foward to see you again in our place. You are welcome!!!!! Visit us again soon!!!!

Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Reviewed 6 June 2015

I am a salesman who has worked the Caribbean for roughly 30 years. About 17 years ago, I found Mason Gautreaux . It is a small hotel located in a better part of the capital. It is owned by the Gautreaux family. It is a simple hotel. It is very clean. It has wifi, air conditioning, 24 hour electricity, and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Philip G
maisongautreaux01, Manager at Maison Gautreaux, responded to this review

Thank you Sr. We feel very happy to read your comments and that comments make us to be better everyday with the friends that visit our place.

Quito, Ecuador
Reviewed 26 February 2015

I had booked a stay for 5 nights at Maison Gautraux in late November, and given the reviews I thought it would be quite decent for the price. Mind you, 60/night is not cheap either, so I assumed it would be quite ok. I was wrong. The building and rooms look nothing like the pictures, so don't be fooled. Not...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank widgeon91
JuanGautreaux, Owner at Maison Gautreaux, responded to this review

Please can you tell me in wich room you stay?

Tijuana, Mexico
Reviewed 5 January 2015

Liked: hotel location and breakfast. Stuff is welcoming and always smile. Dislike: Room bathrooms are old and mostly dirty, WIFI isn't available everywhere, I got robbed and this is the saddest. Right next to the entrance are trash cans and rats.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JulietVatslaviv
JuanGautreaux, Owner at Maison Gautreaux, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we have seen and look to solve the problems that you mention, we try to provide security to our guests in our place, but some situations we cannot control in the street like the ones that happened to you that get robbed in the street. Sorry for that.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 21 December 2014

This is a cheap hotel, ideal for a low-budget stay, but not more that one night. The staff is very friendly. However, the rooms are small and noisy. The mattress is on top of a platform made out of concrete, not a bed or even box-spring. The bathrooms are really low-key. Not ideal for couples or families. It is extremely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nrodrig
JuanGautreaux, Owner at Maison Gautreaux, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment, this kind of comments make us to be every day better and try to look for the excellence in our place, we are a low budget hotel and economic that try to give the best to our costumers, we cannot give the ammenities that a 5 star hotel can give because we charge around the...

Sacramento, California
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I spent a long weekend in Santo Domingo taking a holiday from working in Port-au-Prince. This hotel was great due its proximity to the waterfront, without being in a very noisy part of it. The hotel is also located relatively centrally in Santo Domingo, so you can walk a reasonable distance in any direction and find something interesting. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Caleb D
JuanGautreaux, Owner at Maison Gautreaux, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we look foward to see you again

117 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (69)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
Plaza De La Cultura
Carey House Hotel
Carey House Hotel
#59 of 79 in Santo Domingo
11 reviews
Royal Palace Hotel
#69 of 79 in Santo Domingo
11 reviews
Hotel Duque De Wellington
#71 of 79 in Santo Domingo
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Plaza Del Sol
#31 of 79 in Santo Domingo
31 reviews
Zona Colonial
Hotel Portes 9
Hotel Portes 9
#25 of 79 in Santo Domingo
181 reviews
Zona Colonial
Antiguo Hotel Europa
Antiguo Hotel Europa
#43 of 79 in Santo Domingo
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Maison Gautreaux is the house of a highly respected and well known family of Santo Domingo, was converted into an hotel in 1994 by the Gautreaux Family, the hotel has a very nice decoration and you can breath a familiar atmosphere when you are in our acomodations. You will feel like you are in you own home when you spend your days with us. We will feel very happy to have you here. We will be waiting for all of you!!! The Maison Gautreaux Your Home in Santo Domingo!!! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Maison Gautreaux

Address: Gascue C/ Osvaldo Baez - Felix Mariano Luberes 8, Santo Domingo 10207, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo
Price Range: ₹ 2,497 - ₹ 3,982 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maison Gautreaux 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Maison Gautreaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Gautreaux Santo Domingo
Maison Gautreaux Hotel Santo Domingo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Maison Gautreaux staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Maison Gautreaux staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just tell the staff what you require to make your stay an enjoyable one! Have rooms on 1st floor.”
 of 5 bubbles 733mannyp, 20 Aug 2015 | Read review
“The best rooms are on the top floor. There is a roof top patio with an excellent view of the sea”
 of 5 bubbles 378philipg, 6 Jun 2015 | Read review
“If you wanna choose a good room, go and check all available and choose the best one from those”
 of 5 bubbles JulietVatslaviv, 5 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Just no make reservation.and come and have a look at rooms. If you have reservation, they will push you in a terrible room with no window= exactly like a prison. Telling you there is no room but this one= it is a lie .. it is Dominican sty of service. I stayed in Dominica for 1month ,,every one of hotel has this style.= means when you have reservation you would be treated as a prisoner.If you have no reservation you have a choice and you will be treated as a human. This is the reason why many reviews have different dimentions in Tripadvisor about Dominican hotels. No reservation is the key. (Hotel is paying some money to booking company, and they try to give you the worst room ,,this is Dominican`s mentality.”
 of 5 bubbles MaguderD, 20 Feb 2013 | Read review
“Rooms on the ground floor are very dark, upper floor rooms get more light. Also check for fans, hairdryers etc. as these aren't in every room, despite what the hotel claims!”
 of 5 bubbles orphanpiglet, 10 Jul 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay