We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Boutique Hotel Palacio

Save
Share
Calle Duarte 106, Santo Domingo 10211 Dominican Republic
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (648)
360
Panoramas (8)
Room & Suite (447)

About

#20 of 103 hotels in Santo Domingo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Hotel Palacio, located in the center of the colonial city, the oldest part of Santo Domingo and one of the most visited tourist areas of the Dominican Republic. We are located just two blocks from the Catedral Primada de America and right in the center of all the historical and cultural attractions of the first city built in the New World. In the Colonial Zone you will find monuments, museums, exhibitions and concerts of classical music and modern art. It will add interest to your stay in this magical city.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Coffee shop
Airport transportation
Meeting rooms
Steam room
Car park
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Rooftop pool
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Wine / champagne
Car hire
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Bottled water
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Italian
803Reviews31Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 397
  • 272
  • 93
  • 27
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
worldmaps wrote a review Mar 2021
New York City, New York297 contributions46 helpful votes
I have mixed feelings about the hotel. Here are some PROS and CONS that I hope helps others. PROS 1. The staff is fantastic. They are all friendly, welcoming, professional, and always willing to help. 2. The location is perfect. You are a couple of blocks away from the main park/plaza of the Zona Colonial. You are half a block away from a strip of stores and restaurants. The location cannot be better. 3. Good food. Many hotels offer free breakfasts, and if you are a traveler, you know those breakfasts aren't always the best. Well, this place gives you all kinds of food options, plenty, and very tasty. I was beyond content with it. CONS 1. Some of the doors have glass, and the light from the halls is bright. If you are sensitive to the light when sleeping, make sure you ask for a room with a solid wood door, and without glass. I did not bother me, but I am noting it for others. 2. The phone in the room did not work. Not a big deal for me, but I am still noting it. 3. The AC remote control does not work. To be clear, you can turn it on and off, and regulate the temperature, and that was enough for me, but the rest of the buttons did not work. 4. Poor WiFi. This was a particular challenge for me. I needed to work, and I could not from the room. I had to move to the ground level of the West Side of the building in order to get connection. The staff did acknowledge the signal on the east side of the building was not good. 5. The computers in the lobby are broken. Upon checking in, I asked if they had access to computers and printers, knowing that I would be needing them, and they said yes. As soon as I dropped off my luggage in the room, I came downstairs to use these computers, just for them to tell me they were not working. I did not understand why they would not disclose the information, specially because I had specifically asked about it. 6. Some of the rooms have a peculiar smell, like mold (but not sure what it is). This might be because it is an old building in the historical district. I am happy I checked the room before agreeing to it, because I was able to switch to one that did not smell. Beware. 7. The water faucet in the sink was impossible to use, literally. No matter how slow and careful you'd open the faucet, the water would splash all over. They definitely need to replace those sink faucets. 8. There are bugs and even small reptiles in the rooms. I saw tiny roaches, ants, geckos, and small insects flying inside the room. In all fairness, this is an old building, and you are in a country with tropical weather, where I supposed one should expect it. Despite the CONS outweighing the PROS, I am giving this place 4 out of 5 based on the service I received from its staff, the location, and the food.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Marie B wrote a review Jan 2021
28 contributions3 helpful votes
I was searching for a good family hotel in Santo Domingo for a few nights and came upon this one. The reviews were fairly positive and I couldn't be more pleased with my choice. It's located right in the middle of Ciudad Viejo and within very short walking distance of a supermarket and cafeteria. This hotel is absolutely beautiful and I really loved the outdoor courtyards. The buffet breakfast was very decent also; coffee was on point. The only issues I encountered were a broken TV and ac unit. When I reported it to hotel, I was moved to another room. Other than that, I have no complaints. I would definitely recommend this hotels to others and stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Glenn wrote a review Jul 2020
Yorkshire17 contributions8 helpful votes
Avoid this place like the plague, they stole my deposit!!!  Seriously. I left the hotel February 3rd after 4 nights. They took the deposit -over $400 - the day AFTER I left.  I didn’t know this until I got back to the UK and checked my card account.   I reported this  to Agoda customer services, who asked me to send them proof of my payment, which I did.  Then ignored my evidence and told me the hotel told them that I would receive my money back shortly.  That didn’t happen, so I chased Agoda again, who told me the hotel had told them a new date for when I would be refunded by.  This didn’t happen - again - and I asked Agoda what evidence the hotel provided of the alleged payment?   Agoda ignored this question, and simply advised me to contact the hotel, which I had already tried to do - the hotel haven’t replied to any emails.  What do Agoda expect me to do, fly to the DR to chase it up in person? Now, in July, still no refund or even any reply from the hotel, and no help of any kind from Agoda.  I provided evidence of the payment, and lack of any refund to the account. The hotel have provided no evidence of any refund, and Agoda have simply accepted the hotel’s lies without question. So, I guess the short review is this:    - Hotel= THIEVES  - Agoda = enablers
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Reservation Boutique Hotel Palacio, Ventas at Boutique Hotel Palacio
Responded 15 Jul 2020
Thank you very much for leaving us your comment and as we explained to you by private mail the amount charged corresponds to your stay because at the moment we do not have FREE rooms. A cordial greeting!
Read more
Brian A wrote a review Mar 2020
Manistee, Michigan77 contributions86 helpful votes
We had scheduled a trip in the middle of the Covid-19 Pandemic and had to cancel our reservation. Despite having to book during a busy week that made our reservation non-refundable the hotel has refunded our deposit. We are very thankful and will definitely return some day.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager Palacio Hotel, Director General at Boutique Hotel Palacio
Responded 9 Jul 2020
Dear guest Thank for taking your precious time to comment about our hotel , we are flattered , grateful and very pleased that you feel good in our hotel and feel proud of our effort to maintain quality in our services and facilities. We are waiting for your next visit to Santo Domingo. Best Regards
Read more
Curtraveller wrote a review Mar 2020
Willemstad, Curaçao3254 contributions110 helpful votes
Location is great if you want to be in Zona. All sights walking distance and so are restaurants. The hotel has a colonial vibe. Rooms were large. A bit of basic. No coffee machine. Check-in kinda took a long time. I don't think you should explain all touristic sites to a client when people are waiting to check-in. Price is a bit too high for what you get. Some people had to leave at 7AM and asked for a sandwich and while the kitchen was open this was not possible.. when breakfast was included.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager Palacio Hotel, Director General at Boutique Hotel Palacio
Responded 18 Mar 2020
Dear guest Thank for taking your precious time to comment about our hotel , we are flattered , grateful and very pleased that you feel good in our hotel and feel proud of our effort to maintain quality in our services and facilities. We are waiting for your next visit to Santo Domingo to continue as usual, provides a good service. Best Regards
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$83 - US$164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
palacio hotel santo domingo, palacio santo domingo
LOCATION
CaribbeanDominican RepublicSanto Domingo ProvinceSanto Domingo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
45
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Boutique Hotel Palacio
Which popular attractions are close to Boutique Hotel Palacio?
Nearby attractions include The Colonial Gate 4D Cinema (0.3 km), Kahkow Experience (0.4 km), and Zona Colonial (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Boutique Hotel Palacio?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Boutique Hotel Palacio?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Boutique Hotel Palacio?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Boutique Hotel Palacio?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Boutique Hotel Palacio?
Conveniently located restaurants include Nacan Restaurant, Pat'e Palo European Brasserie, and Pura Tasca.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Boutique Hotel Palacio?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Boutique Hotel Palacio have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Boutique Hotel Palacio offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Boutique Hotel Palacio?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Boutique Hotel Palacio?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Alcázar de Colón (4.4 km), Parque Colón (0.2 km), and Panteon Nacional (0.4 km).