We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

94 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 40: English reviews
Gainesville, Florida
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed at Sunset Bay Club recently and very much enjoyed the excellent food, the Brazilian lobster is extraordinary. Note they charge extra for the butter and lemon sauce to dip the lobster which is rather odd. Marcela, one of the owners is very nice and accommodating. Roger, her husband is always lurking around the restaurant and is well know...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank WorldClassBob
sunsetbayclub, Owner at Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. Please be informed that my husband lurking around is to ensure that staff is working to their best of their abilities and to ensure that all customers are given proper service as is required. We look forward to your return with us again.

baltimore, maryland
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Went to the Sunset Bay Club restaurant on two occasions, once in November 2013, and the second time in January 2014. The owner really goes out of his way to treat you like family. Greets you at the table with an aperitif - a shot of Schnapps! Had the pan fried lobster both times. The first time it was a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rumrunnerfrank
sunsetbayclub, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for taking the time to review our Lobster Palace Restaurant. We are indeed elated that you were satisfied and you enjoyed dining at our restaurant. Thanks for sharing photos as well. We hope to see you some other time.

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The husband owner is not a very approachable person. He seemed more like a tyrant to his employees while trying to appear cordial to his guests. I was at their beach area and he was yelling at his employee(s) and slamming the door (a few times) in front of us and some other people. Very unprofessional. When we tried to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank D0wnNDirty
sunsetbayclub, Owner at Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. At Sunset Bay Club we try our best to keep customers satisfied. At the time of your stay if you experienced an altercation between the manager and a staff member that's because that staff was not working in accordance with the policies that we have set at our establishment, he was refusing to take care...

Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Our dive group stayed here and this place has some problems. DIVING They advertise as a dive resort but don't have a full time dive staff. When they have divers, they contract with some freelance Divemasters to do the dives. The boats are very small and slippery. One of our divers slipped getting into the boat and was hurting for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JOHN G
sunsetbayclub, Manager at Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments about Sunset Bay Club and dive center. We are sorry to hear your recent experience led you to give us this review. We certainly feel that our team went overboard in catering to your group and apologize if we did not meet your expectations. We are shocked to see how badly you rated us but...

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I stayed here on a dive and stay package, and was the only client for some nights even though it was a "high season". A bit spooky until another guest appeared. The rooms are basic, OK beds, no hot water, but the wifi works most of the tome. There is a sauna in the hotel, but it was not heated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DiverPaivi
sunsetbayclub, Manager at Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. At Sunset Bay Club we provide customers with quality service and you were no exception. Even during the high season it can get quiet at times. We're sorry if you felt a little lonely for some time. We do hope to see you again.

Paris, Texas
Reviewed 11 January 2014

nice little beach, but the hotel is really nothing special: you could find the same thing almost everywhere in the world. over 150 US$ a night is really to much, when you compare it to other hotels on the island. but what really bothered us: the owner doesn't seem to treat his staff very nicely, the athmosphere was tense. although...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nanibw
sunsetbayclub, Owner at Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Surprisingly, our establishment is one of the best priced in Dominica. At Sunset Bay Club we try everything in our ability to provide customers with 100% good service hence the reason for the manager always being around to ensure that it is provided to you the clients.

Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Just came back from there today. Paid 75 EC for a ribeye, 15 EC for a chocolate milkshake, and about 20 EC for a banana split. Everything was great. Asked for the ribeye to be well done with the garlic sauce and it was perfect. The milkshake was very good and I highly recommend it. The banana split was great....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Steve C
sunsetbayclub, Owner at Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We are happy that you and your friends enjoyed dining with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Try the Grilled Lobster or Grilled Shrimp. The best deal in excellent butter and garlic grolled lobster and shrimp. Amazing quality and a most suprising price. The folks who do this restaurant have an amazing grip on customer service and food preparation!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank T C
sunsetbayclub, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again sometime soon.

Riga, Latvia
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The location of the Sunset Bay is fantastic; it is right on a very beautiful beach, with no neighbours. Two buildings are actually directly overlooking the beach - the dive centre and the restaurant. Consequently, the bungalows with the beach view are actually facing the back side of the restaurant. Sometimes this gets uncomfortable (smell of food or quite a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Valts V
sunsetbayclub, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your review. We are happy that you had a pleasant stay here. We try our best to always keep our clients satisfied. All the best.

Reviewed 20 June 2013

The manager and staff at Sunset Bay were wonderful. We scheduled a whale watching tour in June 2013. While we didn't see any whales but we had fun with several pods of dolphins. We did not stay at the hotel but did try the restaurant which we found to be overpriced and not very good. We recommended the 'tours' at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YLBurgess
sunsetbayclub, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We do hope that you will be back here soon to do more whale watching tours with us.

97 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (86)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roseau
0.0 km away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
0.0 km away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
435 reviews
0.0 km away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
712 reviews
0.0 km away
Manicou River
Manicou River
#3 of 4 in Portsmouth
131 reviews
0.0 km away
The Tamarind Tree Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A cozy, beachfront hotel conveniently located in the center of Dominica's west coast. We offer all-inclusive or bed & breakfast plans to suite your needs. Our dive center, located on our private beach, offers morning boat dives, snorkeling and whale watching or relax at our pool and sauna located in our tropical garden. Come and enjoy a relaxing experience you will never forget. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center

Address: Batalie Beach | P.O. Coulibistrie, Roseau, Dominica
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint George Parish > Roseau
Price Range: ₹ 6,670 - ₹ 10,074 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Bay Club And Seaside Dive Center
Sunset Bay Club & Seaside Dive Hotel Roseau
Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center Dominica/Roseau
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Sunset Bay Club & SeaSide Dive Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“corner suits are large and sunny”
 of 5 bubbles whitney20162016, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The rooms located farthest from the restaurant are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles Marigrow, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The rooms with an ocean view also face the rear of the restaurant area, so if you want something a bit more private, the second row buildings or the suite (a stand alone much bigger room) are nice for that. Also, the rooms on the end nearest the river would be the most quiet.”
  • Suite wide angle
  • Suite
 of 5 bubbles NateMuskoka, 26 Apr 2014 | Read review
“Car required if you want to explore the island after diving”
 of 5 bubbles Williethehobo, 20 Apr 2014 | Read review
“All rooms are pretty much the same. Try for being the only occupied room in a building so you have hot water.”
 of 5 bubbles johngI2296BQ, 9 Feb 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay