We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Garraway Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Garraway Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

51 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Garraway Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 44: English reviews
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Reviewed 31 December 2014

My husband and I and daughter along with other family members stayed at the Garraway for the Christmas week. It was a decent stay. One of the best aspect of the hotel is the location - right on the Bay front and I believe all the rooms face the front of the hotel so there is a water view and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jazzlover23
pestaina, Owner at Garraway Hotel, responded to this review

It is very unfortunate that this gentleman refused to comply with hotel policy which he insisted on flouting by refusing to patronise the bar in return for the free use of hotel wifi. It is surprisingly strange that after walking around he chose to sit in the hotel lobby and only then found it to be 'seedy.' His account of...

Christiansted, St. Croix
Reviewed 23 November 2014

One night was all I needed. This hotel is located directly across from Fort Young which is far superior for just a little more money. The bed sheets in the room were worn and looked dirty. The water pressure was low and the “In Room Wi-Fi” didn’t work. When I complained that the Wi-Fi wasn’t working (the wireless router was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Erik H
pestaina, Owner at Garraway Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your complimentary and appreciative remarks about the Garraway Hotel. We always try to live up to the expectations of our guests and provide the hospitality for which not only the hotel is known but for which our island Dominica and its people are proud of. We will continue to do all we can to make sure you are...

San Salvador, El Salvador
Reviewed 23 August 2014

There were not many hotels to choose... Dominica is a small country with only 72,000 people, they have 9 volcanos (3 of them active) and everything is surrounded by mountains. For nature lovers is the right place. In my opinion, the Fort Young Hotel is the number one there, but it was fully booked so I got Garraway, which was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MariaSalaverria
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 16 November 2013

On our trip to Dominica we had yo stay in a hotel for one night. The Garraway had vacancy, it was a great choice. The staff was very receptive, warm and friendly. We were checked in quickly, escorted to our room, which was very spacious. The hotel is located right on the water front, which is not a reflection of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Anthony J
pestaina, Owner at Garraway Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted that your stay with us met your expectations. We hope that we can again provide you with the excellent service of which we are very proud when you next come to the island. I will certainly convey your compliments and comments to our Staff who continually work hard to meet the standards of excellence we set ourselves....

Reviewed 4 June 2013

Stayed at Garraway for two weeks. The only good thing was the breakfast which was overpriced and could be included in the stay package. A few of the front desk folks were out right rude. The executive suite was not really a suite ...none of the usual amenities ...have to carry a large key around And the front door closes...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dangleben1969
pestaina, Owner at Garraway Hotel, responded to this review

We regret that your stay at the Garraway Hotel did not meet your expectations. We have noted your comments and concerns and where positive will consider how these can be used to improve on our service to clients. Where negative we will do everything to turn these around. We take steps at all times to ensure that the safety and...

Bronx, New York
Reviewed 2 April 2013

I stay for three nights and couldn't get another hotel since there was a big cricket tournament when I went and all of the other hotels were filled to capacity. The food was very good and local dishes were offered in the morning. Didn't eat lunch or dinner there. Was out during lunch and went around the corner at a...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank JiClipper
pestaina, Manager at Garraway Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us. It was a busy time as Dominica was hosting a Cricket Test Match at the time. However we do try to ensure that all our clients are happy and given excellent service. We would have liked you to savour more of our local cuisine as we do have a varied selection of meals for lunch...

Fairbanks, Alaska
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We were forced to stay here during a travel delay due to a cancelled flight, it was one of the only hotels which would accept the airlines voucher. While the hotel itself was OK, I have no idea why anyone would actually pick it given the other choices. It's right downtown next to the cruise ship dock. It's very busy,...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank AKGirl1883
pestaina, Manager at Garraway Hotel, responded to this review

We re happy that you stayed with us and apologise for the noise which is caused by the traffic outside depending on the level of activity in the country. We would have been happy to move you to another room which we usually do to accommodate guests for their satisfaction and comfort. Our location is very strategic and all our...

Chaguanas, Caroni, Trinidad and Tobago
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Dominica unfortunately does not have any modern design hotels, Garraway is in the top 5 best on the island. Difficult to keep the noise from the city out of your room. Requires better maintenance. The hot water is lukewarm, but the cold is cold. Having stayed all over Roseau, it's a toss up really when it comes to accommodations. I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ttman A
pestaina, Manager at Garraway Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us. You will be happy to know that our wifi service is now operating perfectly so we apologise for the hiccup you encountered during your stay as it was just being tested at the time. We would have gladly moved you to a room away from the traffic ton ensuern that you were insulated from the...

Toulouse, France
Reviewed 24 November 2012

More of a business hotel than tourist, rooms are large and modern with fridge & kettle and most have a sea view. Good for sunsets, but you may wake up with a multi storey cruise ship outside your window as the dock is on the opposite side of the road. The staff were helpfull, I had not heard good things...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TravelTrax1
pestaina, Manager at Garraway Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your observations about our hotel which does cater for both the business and leisure visitor. We do not have a swimming pool but since we are so centrally located and pride ourselves on being the Nature Island of the Caribbean, we feel that most people love to enjoy our natural rivers, sulphur spas and beaches. We are able...

Bridgetown, Barbados
Reviewed 7 May 2012

The Garraway hotel enjoys a prime location on the Roseau waterfront offering gorgeous sunset views from its West facing aspect. It's clean and the rooms are spacious; bathrooms are OK but could use an upgrade -however the towels were quite new when I stayed recently which was a positive. The front desk is usually very helpful and the restaurant staff...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BigBananaMgt
pestaina, Manager at Garraway Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks much for your response. While we do not yet have access to wifi we offer internet access in all rooms free of cost but are considering wifi access in the short term. We greatly appreciate your comments which have been very helpful and will convey your kind comments about our staff accordingly. We hope that our services will be...

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roseau
0.1 km away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
744 reviews
1.8 km away
Evergreen Hotel
Evergreen Hotel
#5 of 7 in Roseau
61 reviews
29.3 km away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 km away
The Tamarind Tree Hotel & Restaurant
1.9 km away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
29.6 km away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Garraway Hotel is perfectly suited for the business and leisure visitor who wish to have easy access to the city of Roseau and its environs. It is strategically located on the historic Bay Front named after the Caribbean's first female Prime Minister,the late Dame Mary Eugenia Charles. Comprising 31 rooms with 20 single/double standard rooms and 11 suites (all air conditioned plus having standing fans), it provides comfortable accommodation for singles, doubles and families who wish interconnecting rooms. We have added wifi services to our free internet service. Our local cuisine caters for a variety of food choices for breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks. We offer karaoke entertainment every Friday evening and can arrange tours to the many natural sites and attractions which have made Dominica well known as the Nature Island of the Caribbean. Please come stay with us! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Garraway Hotel

Address: Place Heritage | One, Dame Eugenia Charles Blvd., Roseau, Dominica
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint George Parish > Roseau
Price Range: ₹ 7,234 - ₹ 8,599 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garraway Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Garraway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garraway Hotel Roseau
Garraway Hotel Dominica/Roseau
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Garraway Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Reading, Pennsylvania
2 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Garraway Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 302 good two double beds”
 of 5 bubbles 69BigAL, 3 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Look for one I on the west . may see a sunset”
 of 5 bubbles darroux33, 20 Sep 2015 | Read review
“If they still have karaoke on Friday night it is not a good idea to stay on the second floor, above the bar.”
 of 5 bubbles Lifrarpylsa, 18 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Stay at another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles AlS098, 16 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Ask for the ocean view.”
 of 5 bubbles MariaSalaverria, 23 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay