We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Travel Alert: Licensing Restrictions Apply More details
Management photos
IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,023 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,658: English reviews
Start your review of IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Had a great time at the resort... huge shoutout to the twins Yohan and Yjordan as well as Charly, who made us feel like family and welcomed us kindly into the resort. They were always encouraging us to partake in activities we would have never partaken in otherwise. Some of the best animation team members i have ever met in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reem S
Charlottetown, Canada
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Staff and Service - Wonderful.They all worked their hearts out for us from dawn to dusk! It was sad to see them work their butts off, only to be not tipped on different occasions by other guests! Hats off to them! Great job! We would like to recognize the following people: Guests Services - Wendy, Aidolys, and Yania - Thank...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian F
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Cuba is the cheapest of all the island nations vacations , unfortunately you get what you pay . The resort is lacking in room infrastructure, fixtures are loose or broken , the house keeping staff will make beds but may not clean the floors and washroom to your liking , especially the floors as sand from beaches is carried into...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jasdev B
Delta, Canada
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Avoid! Rooms were dismal and disgusting- mildew, mice droppings and cockroaches in abundance. Rooms not cleaned, sheets changed once in 10 days! Talking to hotel staff pointless, west jet rep not helpful and leaving a tip didn't help. Both of our rooms had items (colouring books, bras and Tylenol) "taken" from them. Hotel only changed the cleaners upon complaints. Avoid...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank calmhope
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Yes, it may be slowly-crumbling elegance...but elegance nonetheless is the word I would use to describe the Iberostar Playa Alameda. A giant fountain and stained-glass windows welcome you to the reception area with its comfortable seating and access to wifi (1.5 CUC will get you one hour of on-line time). Royal palms flank the "red carpet" boulevard that runs down...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Agnes M
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A group of 11 traveled to the Playa for March break. Overall, we were satisfied considering the price. We stayed in bungalow 11 and 16 (we were in 1107) and both had basic but renovated rooms with large updated bathrooms an very comfortable mattresses. Our pool towels were in the room on check in. We did not try to exchange...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ilove2travel1970
Brossard, Quebec
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We have been all over Cuba 20-25 times and we love it, if this would have been our first time we would have never returned, needs complete over all, broken lights, walls half painted, food good for Cuba but not much to choose from, bartenders need a course, 4 days without toilet paper in lobby bathroom, hotel charges more for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jylamontagne
QualityMCuba, Manager at IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for choosing our hotel IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda as your preferred destination in Cuba. We are really sorry to see that your stay was not up to the standard you expected and deserve for that we want to truly apologize. Therefore we would like to explain that our Management and Maintenance Department are constantly working...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I needed a last minute vacation and only had 3 vacation days left at work so I booked a 5 day vacation at this resort in Varadero (weekend included of course). I love Cuba so this would be my 6th time vacationing there, only my second time in Varadero though. I've been to Holguin a few times, Cayo Coco and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nikki B
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It was a nice hotel, the beachfront is stunning and the weather was splendid, but we didn't get towels on our first day and the food wasn't really good, although there was an abundance of ice cream, which was a great thing 😊 The room wasn't really clean, there were remnants of somebody else's shaving cream in the shower as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
QualityMCuba, Manager at IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda. We really appreciate you mentioning our beachfront hotel beauty and its splendid water; this is something we really take pride of at Playa Alameda. On the other side, we are really sorry to read that your stay was not up...

Reviewed 1 week ago

After 16 days of backpacking and staying in casas particulares I was happy to know I was going to sleep a night in a resort. Unfortunately it was not as great and relaxing as I had imagined. The staff is friendly and overall tries to do the best they can, but in a lot of way I feel there is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine M
QualityMCuba, Manager at IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for choosing our hotel IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda as your preferred hotel in Varadero, Cuba. We are pleased to read that you were well served by our friendly staff and that you could enjoy the bed in your room, as well as the temperature and pressure of the water. However we are saddened to hear...

3,576 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3563)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (755)
Viewed
Bathroom (85)
Viewed
Room/Suite (310)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (703)
Viewed
Dining (243)
Viewed
View from Room (115)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (59)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (10)
Viewed
1:29
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (1282)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varadero hotels
6.8 km away
Ocean Vista Azul
Ocean Vista Azul
#7 of 63 in Varadero
1,121 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Melia Marina Varadero
7.5 km away
Sol Palmeras
Sol Palmeras
#8 of 63 in Varadero
5,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Grand Memories Varadero
Grand Memories Varadero
#34 of 63 in Varadero
1,826 reviews
1.6 km away
Ocean Varadero El Patriarca
8.2 km away
Melia Varadero
Melia Varadero
#6 of 63 in Varadero
4,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on a beautiful stretch of Varadero Beach surrounded by tropical gardens. Elegant atmosphere. Wide range of gastronomy. Varied entertainment programme. Golf course nearby. ... more   less 

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel

Address: Las Morlas, Km 19 | Punta Hicacos, Varadero, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Price Range: ₹ 9,162 - ₹ 24,607 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 391
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and Iberostar so you can book your IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Alameda Varadero
Iberostar Varadero
Playa Alameda Varadero
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Varadero
#9 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#15 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel staff and other travellers.
211 questions
Ask a question
Grande Prairie, Canada
Toronto, Canada

See all questions (211)

Questions? Get answers from IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ensure it is refurbished, higher floors have a better view”
 of 5 bubbles A5156SDbrianf, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Beachfront rooms on the third level are more quiet, private and provide the best views.”
 of 5 bubbles AgnesM851, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“rooms with a ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles jylamontagne, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The rooms are much alike, check the lock door and patio door for working security.”
  • Lockset missing the striker half
 of 5 bubbles 896lylec, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in building 16 were close to the beach and had new bathrooms”
 of 5 bubbles Mifftt, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5