We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Melia Peninsula Varadero

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Travel Alert: Licensing Restrictions Apply More details
Management photos
Melia Peninsula Varadero
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,556 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Melia Peninsula Varadero
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,094: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
Brampton, Ontario
1 review
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2004

My husband along with my children aged 2 and 5 and myself went to this resort in January. We loved the resort itself, the 'plantation like set up' was beautiful. The rooms were very clean and beach was beautiful. I have to say that we were dissappointed with the food and the drinks. There wasn't much to choose from in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review

Dear Customer : First of all, greetings from Melia Varadero Peninsula. We regret the fact that you never has come a response from management. We would like to come back to share with his family Melia Peninsula. Best regards

A TripAdvisor Member
Calgary, Alberta
1 review
7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2004

First let me say I have been to Cuba four times to four different locations and this resort was by far the best. My topic is the food in Cuba and I just want to say I am tired of the travellers bashing it. One has to remember that you are not in New York or a major Canadian city...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank A TripAdvisor Member
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review

Dear Customer : First of all, greetings from Melia Varadero Peninsula. We regret the fact that you never has come a response from management. We would like to come back to share with his family Melia Peninsula. Best regards

A TripAdvisor Member
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2004

Our family (2 adults and 2 kids aged 4 and 6) travelled to the Hotel Tryp Peninsula Varadero from January 31/04 to February 7/04. We have travelled to Cuba three times in the past three years, previously to Sol Luna Mares (Holguin) and Melia Cayo Guillermo.Layout of the HotelThe hotel itself is fairly new and beautifully maintained. Rooms are set...

 Report
Helpful?
12Thank A TripAdvisor Member
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review

Dear Customer : First of all, greetings from Melia Varadero Peninsula. We regret the fact that you never has come a response from management. We would like to come back to share with his family Melia Peninsula. Best regards

Edmonton, Alberta
Reviewed 10 February 2004

Our first trip to Cuba... probably won't be the last. VERY pleasant surprise after reading all the reviews about the country and property on this site. I haven't a clue what people expect from a THIRD WORLD COUNTRY?? Guess what folks??? It ain't Canada... deal with it. Embrace the fact it's a different country and stop whining about why it...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Bryn G
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review

Dear Customer : First of all, greetings from Melia Varadero Peninsula. We regret the fact that you never has come a response from management. We would like to come back to share with his family Melia Peninsula. Best regards

A TripAdvisor Member
Alberta, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2004

Tryp was super. Great nightly stage shows for kids and adults. The beach is second to none and the food services were excellent. Rooms were above average as this is a fairly new place. Practice your Spanish for this Resort.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review

Dear Customer : First of all, greetings from Melia Varadero Peninsula. We regret the fact that you never has come a response from management. We would like to come back to share with his family Melia Peninsula. Best regards

A TripAdvisor Member
North Bay, Ontario
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2004

Tryp was a very nice trip. Spent from Jan. 24 thru 31st. Weather cooperated with just one windy day that postponed the Catamaran but was still fun on the resort. Amenities are many and suited to everyone from the single traveler to those with a family. Staff was neat and very helpful. Food was good with a huge variety. Cooking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review

Dear Customer : First of all, greetings from Melia Varadero Peninsula. We regret the fact that you never has come a response from management. We would like to come back to share with his family Melia Peninsula. Best regards

A TripAdvisor Member
Vancouver BC.
1 review
3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2004

First I'd like to say after reading all the negative garbage from readers before going to Cuba I was a little apprehensive. From the moment we arrived we felt that we were taken care of. Within 2 hours of arriving we were on the beach, in the sun and enjoying drinks. We booked the trip 5 months in advance and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank A TripAdvisor Member
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review

Dear Customer : First of all, greetings from Melia Varadero Peninsula. We regret the fact that you never has come a response from management. We would like to come back to share with his family Melia Peninsula. Best regards

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 27 January 2004

Just came back from a week (Jan 19-26/04) at the Tryp Peninsula (2 adults and a 7-year old). The hotel is very nice, and the grounds are beautiful and very clean. The rooms are great, big bathrooms with shower and bath. Water is nice and hot with great pressure. No bugs in room and the maid did a great job....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Paula R
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review

Dear Customer : First of all, greetings from Melia Varadero Peninsula. We regret the fact that you never has come a response from management. We would like to come back to share with his family Melia Peninsula. Best regards

A TripAdvisor Member
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2004

We got there on last june. I don't know if it was because of the low season but food and service was just the worst I've ever seen in Cuba. Which is not to say the least.They closed the pool for painting in mid-week, not letting us know we could go swim at the netx hotel (LTI), they regularly missed...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank A TripAdvisor Member
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review

Dear Customer : First of all, greetings from Melia Varadero Peninsula. We regret the fact that you never has come a response from management. We would like to come back to share with his family Melia Peninsula. Best regards

A TripAdvisor Member
Thornhill, Ontario
1 review
6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2004

Went for a week starting Dec. 12/03 with my girlfriend. Paid under $900 cdn. each for one room with a king bed. The room was perfect and as close to the beach as we could have asked. Unfortunately it's quite a walk from the main lobby where the buffet and bar is. Other bars are at the pool and one...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank A TripAdvisor Member
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review

Dear Customer : First of all, greetings from Melia Varadero Peninsula. We regret the fact that you never has come a response from management. We would like to come back to share with his family Melia Peninsula. Best regards

4,949 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4920)
Viewed
Room/Suite (441)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (927)
Viewed
View from Room (135)
Viewed
Bathroom (127)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1087)
Viewed
Dining (450)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (153)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (29)
Viewed
1:29
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (1568)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varadero hotels
7.7 km away
Melia Varadero
Melia Varadero
#6 of 63 in Varadero
4,743 reviews
8.3 km away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 63 in Varadero
5,179 reviews
3.9 km away
Melia Las Antillas
Melia Las Antillas
#12 of 63 in Varadero
4,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
Sol Palmeras
Sol Palmeras
#8 of 63 in Varadero
5,831 reviews
1.1 km away
Ocean Varadero El Patriarca
0.7 km away
Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
All inclusive resort ideal for families, with a dedicated children's area, a marvelous tranquil beach, full of activities for all ages. Honeymooners also get special treatment in a quiet special area. Tennis courts, gym, non motorized water sports, drinks, a la carte and buffet dining included. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Melia Peninsula Varadero

Address: Parque Natural de Punta Hicacos | Matanzas, Varadero 42200, Cuba (Formerly Tryp Peninsula Varadero)
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Price Range: ₹ 9,848 - ₹ 23,907 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Peninsula Varadero 5*
Number of rooms: 581
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Melia Peninsula Varadero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Peninsula Varadero Hotel Varadero
Tryp Peninsula Cuba
Peninsula Varadero
Tryp Varadero
Varadero Peninsula
Tryp Peninsula Varadero Cuba
Tryp Peninsula Hotel Varadero Beach
Varadero Beach Tryp Peninsula
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#27 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Melia Peninsula Varadero staff and other travellers.
390 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (390)

Questions? Get answers from Melia Peninsula Varadero staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“book at a different resort”
bluejay28, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Take your chances”
sidamplorrainea, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Very important to upgrade which only costs on average an extra $30. each person.”
henriv55, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“just not next to the main pool as there are lots of events in the evening”
egmut, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you want a quiet holiday ask to be away from the pool which has loud rap music several times per day for the fitness and dance classes”
paulinezest, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5