We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tropicoco Hotel

11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travel Alert: Licensing Restrictions Apply More details
Management photos
Tropicoco Hotel
Tropicoco Hotel
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

616 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 355: English reviews
Start your review of Tropicoco Hotel
 Click to rate
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Spent seven days at the hotel. Chose the hotel because of its location - beach was just across the street. Beach was however quiet most times. Would have loved to have more music to dance to when not in the water. Hotel did not fall below my expectation of a two-star status. Though, it was all-inclusive, meal was neither special...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oladiran O
St. Catharines, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited Tropicoco with my 16 year old son during March break. Unfortunately the weather was horrible the entire time we were there. Overcast, chilly, high winds and frequent drizzle so we could not really enjoy the beach, although we did go for walks every day. The hotel however was wonderful. I loved the retro Soviet design and the entire building...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Linda V
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

This review borrows significantly at the outset form from an earlier review on Villa Bacuranao but does conclude differently. As mentioned previously that if your priorities are largely beach, pool, free drinks, to be surrounded by other foreign tourists and several large and varied meals a day, there are obviously better places to go. On the other hand if your...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ian C
Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've given this place 5 stars because I don't believe it deserves all the bad rep and horrible reviews it gets. Our stay here was a last minute decision. We'd been staying nearby in Guanabo and after seeing how gorgeous the beach was here at Tropicoco we decided on a few more days there before going back to Havana city...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Lucia A
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel was awful bed had blood stains bed bugs the towels was moldy and stink the food omg worst food I ever eat the staff was amazing but they need to use gloves when preparing meals no paper plates sandwich in your hand they need 100% renovation I was so disappointed I was ready to leave the night I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Twills33
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We we're here 2nd week of this month.The place is nothing so fancy (this is Cuba a developing country hello?) But it had everything.From AC safety box clean towels ,daily room cleaning and their sheets are more whiter than the sheets I had in the hotel I was lodge in London UK or In Boston ND Florida.It was really clean.The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Marilou A
adrianmpg1988, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Tropicoco Hotel, responded to this review

On name of the Tropicoco hotel many thanks for your comments, ,it was a pleasure to have you with us, we appreciate it very much, thank for your preference, best regards

Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

We were at Tropicoco from April 3rd to 10th. Our room was awful. Toilet seat broken and air conditioning made as much noise as a truck. We asked to change rooms and were told it was not possible. We waited until the reception shift changed and when we asked again we were able to change rooms. The food was good...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sandra C
adrianmpg1988, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Tropicoco Hotel, responded to this review

Dear client . Thank you very much for write and for all yours comments . we really sorry for all the inconveniences you suffered ,but really all your comment help us to be better every day . best regards

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 6 April 2017

For an all inclusive, you can't get prices cheaper than $1000. Just make sure you don't buy souvenirs and cigars in the stores. Rum is cheap, but t shirts and other souvenirs like mugs are expensive. I bought a mug for $5 but the t shirts were $16. No way!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank EdLovesmexico
adrianmpg1988, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Tropicoco Hotel, responded to this review

Hello from Tropicoco hotel . Thank for write, we are happy that you consider your general satisfaction about the Hotel good ,the souvenir it is another thing but I can said that ,not all the stores have the same price . best regards

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 31 March 2017

This was my l0th holiday spent at the Tropicoco Hotel which I call "my home in Cuba". Weather, good, service, ocean - everything was just so good which made for an excellent holiday. So nice to meet the pleasant staff again and also touch base with the many friends I have made, over the years, that also holiday there. Thank...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank epcanuck
adrianmpg1988, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Tropicoco Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for write about your experience in our hotel . it very nice to know that was good. thank very much on name´s of all of the workers of Tropicoco hotel will be nice to receive you one more time . best regards

Winnipeg
Reviewed 25 March 2017

We just got back from a week at the Hotel Tropicoco after spending a pleasant week there. Since our first visit in 2010 we were happy to see the improvements that they are making there. The food is more varied and pleasant tasting and the fruit and salad bar are great. Coffee in the morning at the bar bears special...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Les W
adrianmpg1988, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Tropicoco Hotel, responded to this review

hello from Tropicoco. Thank your for come back to Tropicoco hotel and for all your nice comment dear client all the changes that you saw are the result of ours work every day, your words they are very stimulating for us ,we will continue offering better ours service for you and for all ours client . best regards Public Relations...

829 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (654)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (71)
Viewed
View from Room (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (172)
Viewed
Room/Suite (51)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
9:28
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (271)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (154)
Viewed
Amenities (13)
Viewed
Beach (14)
Viewed
Pool (11)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
Standard Room (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Other (9)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
26.1 km away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#12 of 79 in Havana
1,581 reviews
26.5 km away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
3,253 reviews
21.2 km away
Hotel Habana Paseo
Hotel Habana Paseo
#44 of 79 in Havana
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 km away
Hotel Kohly
Hotel Kohly
#41 of 79 in Havana
229 reviews
26.1 km away
Memories Miramar Havana
Memories Miramar Havana
#10 of 79 in Havana
981 reviews
19.7 km away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 79 in Havana
1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Tropicoco Hotel

Address: Ave Sur y Las Terrazas | Santa Maria del Mar, Havana, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Price Range: ₹ 4,650 - ₹ 9,236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropicoco Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Tropicoco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicoco Hotel Havana
Hotel Tropicoco
Tropicoco Havana
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Havana
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tropicoco Hotel staff and other travellers.
51 questions
Ask a question
Burlington, Canada

My brother was wondering if this would be a good hotel for his girlfriend, 12 yo son,and his adult children to travel to, for a 1 - 2 week vacation. The adults are considering taking day trips into Havana, and leaving the 12 yo at the hotel, whilst they do this. (I have my own opinions about this, however they are not shared! Don't roast me!)

Are there facilities for children, ie nanny/babysitting services? Realizing they are "older", but still not quite old enough to amuse themselves for that extended period of time. Is the beach safe? Is there security, lifeguards?

No one in the group speaks Spanish - is the staff conversant in English? Do they have medical facilities or a doctor ON staff, 24/7? (My young nephew has some medical conditions that may flare up)

I am wondering if this is a "safe" place for the kind of vacation my brother envisions??

Please understand, I am looking for the input of other travellers. I have travelled extensively to Cuba, speak understandable Cubano, but have NOT been to this hotel. Personally, I would feel comfortable leaving a child alone in a hotel where I knew the staff, only if I were in the general area AT the same location and only for short periods (couple of hours) .... given that this boy neither speaks the language, nor tends to not be "streetsmart", I definitely lean towards a more family friendly resort (and vacation).

Perhaps I'm mistaken, but hope that past and regular guests of the hotel could respond. Thanks so much, and I really am appreciative of ALL input

5 months ago

See all questions (51)

Questions? Get answers from Tropicoco Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The higher the floor the better the view!”
luciaaG9676WV, 10 May 2017 | Read review
“Depends if you want an ocean view you need a room looking north - if you want a larger room you need a room looking south”
epcanuck, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“3rd floor up”
353lesw, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“3rd floor and above have an ocean view and are usually quieter”
609russelm, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ocean view are small,south side larger rooms 3rd flr”
  • 3rd floor sitting area view
billhN1992NJ, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates