We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Royal Westmoreland

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Royal Westmoreland
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 116: English reviews
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Not what I would consider a 5*. This is the smallest room in a Royal Villa, no 8 Ocean Drive! Broken shutters so no natural light available into this truly tragic room. The shower was unusable as it was just a trickle, the bathroom was actually smaller than the shared guest toilet. We were informed that all rooms were of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank brenbur
Edinburgh
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Sitting at club house just now waiting for airport transfer after 7 nights in ocean drive villa. We have had numerous issues since arrival but icing on cake as can't even get served a coffee as kitchen closed!! Please look very carefully at the villa you are booking as everything is promised before arrival but very different whilst here. Love...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank diamondsEdinburgh
Trudi246, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Westmoreland, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. As you will have experienced and seen from media reports rainfall in Barbados has been persistent and plentiful during these last two weeks and during your stay with us. Persistent heavy rainfall unfortunately caused issues with maintenance at the villa you stayed at, along with long lasting damage to local...

Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

If your undecided about visiting Barbados my advice would be just do it,this is only my first visit and I can promise you, you will not be disappointed. We are currently staying at royal Westmorland and it is exceptional. Our villa is beautiful and is equipped with everything you could possibly need and more. The resort is stunning and you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Louise L
Trudi246, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Westmoreland, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your kind words, we hope to see back to the island again very soon! We will pass on your thanks to the team who of course will miss you too!

Longton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had several issues since our Saturday arrival through to the Monday, the management handled these issues quickly and I commend Chris Pitt for his help. I will therefore review based on general experience rather than specific issues. ** BUYER BEWARE ** The Royal Westmoreland is an estate over over 750 acres primarily focused on selling building plots for high...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank David R
Trudi246, Manager at Royal Westmoreland, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review us. Royal Westmoreland is a growing community and due to increasing demand for custom built properties, the resort is every expanding and which our guests are fully informed about in advance, as you note, the works taking place on individual plots north of the resort in a new development did not impact on...

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On arrival I was disappointed, as I had specifically booked a balcony sea view and we were allocated on arrival a garden view apartment. However, to move on, the three bedroom apartment was pristine, well equipped, air conditioned, serviced daily and had free wifi. It was faultlessly appointed and comfortable with each bedroom having its own bathroom ( Thank you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pam T
Trudi246, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Westmoreland, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It is unfortunate that on arrival you were not allocated the apartment requested. Our properties are checked before all arrivals and a change to allocation would only happen if we felt the property was not fit for rental due to maintenance issues. We want each stay you have...

Edinburgh
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I'll start by saying Barbados was brilliant, we had a fantastic adventure going all round the Island. We stayed in an apartment, which is a good 10 minute walk (and if in the evening along a very dark road) to the main reception and Rum Shak, which serves over priced, adequate first night food. You will absolutely require a car...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghWeesa
Trudi246, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Westmoreland, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Royal Westmoreland is set among 750 acres of stunning Barbados scenery, such a vast area of land will of course bring its issues when it comes to distance, this is why we offer resort buggies to those properties that are furthest from the centre of the resort. These buggies make the whole resort accessible within...

Surrey England
Reviewed 5 November 2016

If you have booked a villa in the vicinity of the Sanctuary or the Clubhouse car park be prepared to be subjected to continuous noise from early morning until late in the afternoon. The current works include reshaping of coral boulders to fit the perimeter of the latest building project of eight town houses. If you propose to have a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TJT41
Trudi246, Public Relations Manager at Royal Westmoreland, responded to this review

We understand you have rented privately with a homeowner and not through the resort. Its worth noting when you rent through our direct rental programme our in depth knowledge allows us to hand pick the property for you to suit your holiday requirements. The road works being carried out are being executed by the homeowners association, not the resort management...

Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

As a family we have been coming to Barbados for many years. This is the first time we have stayed at Westmorelands and I can only say the place is beautiful! Our villa was lovely! After a few days of visiting Mullins beach we were very relaxed and happy. We have many local friends on the island who had told...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sh_global
Trudi246, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Westmoreland, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and kind words. Our members, owners and guests pay a substantial amount for membership to have the privilege of using the facilities. When booking privately we recommend you check with that villa owner/manager to confirm what access is included in the rate you pay. We do hope to see you on resort again in the...

Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Royal Westmoreland is an amazing place to stay whilst on the island - excellently looked after and everything you need. The concierge was also most helpful on during our stay. We were initially staying elsewhere on the island but we relocated after a week as we really wanted to be closer to Mullin's Beach Bar for the day and other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cleaneatingkelly
Trudi246, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Westmoreland, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to review our resort, your feedback is very valuable to us. Hope to welcome you back soon!

Rota, Spain
Reviewed 31 August 2016

The house is impeccably hospitable. There are three bedrooms in the main house, large kitchen with many amenities and upscale Miele appliances, along with two open living areas, a small office nook, theatre room, and four full bathrooms. Moreover, a golf cart and a full time housekeeper are included; Melissa is an incredibly helpful and sweet individual, a gem. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Snookie99
Trudi246, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Westmoreland, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort and your kind words. It is great to hear that you enjoyed yourselves and we do hope to see you again very soon.

79 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
5:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint James Parish hotels
4.4 km away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
919 reviews
4.1 km away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
549 reviews
1.9 km away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
The Sandpiper
The Sandpiper
#13 of 26 in Saint James Parish
267 reviews
2.1 km away
Fairmont Royal Pavilion
2.8 km away
Sandy Lane Hotel
Sandy Lane Hotel
#3 of 26 in Saint James Parish
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Royal Westmoreland is an exclusive Barbados estate and country club, a gated community of luxury homes and holiday villas with exceptional facilities, including the world-class Royal Westmoreland championship 18 hole golf course. Spread across 750 acres of lush tropical landscape in the Parish of St James overlooking the Platinum coast, Royal Westmoreland offers the ultimate Caribbean lifestyle, for a holiday or for a lifetime. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Westmoreland

Address: St James, 24023, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish
Price Range: ₹ 17,365 - ₹ 63,843 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Royal Westmoreland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Westmoreland Hotel Saint James
Royal Westmoreland Saint James
Royal Westmoreland Barbados/Saint James Parish
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Saint James Parish
#9 Spa Hotel in Saint James Parish
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Saint James Parish
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Westmoreland staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Westmoreland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All villas are very comfortable and high quality. Personally the royal villas are more than adequate for a family of 6/7.”
 of 5 bubbles AndrewTaker, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Forest Hills was nice where we stayed - dont know about the other villas”
 of 5 bubbles X8367RBcarolb, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I would definitely recommend booking direct with the resort not through a local Estate Agent.”
 of 5 bubbles PDOV, 24 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Look at the properties onlone”
 of 5 bubbles GerryB914, 17 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Stay Elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles ElleR630, 2 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay