We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mangawhai Heads Holiday Park

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mangawhai Heads Holiday Park
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 101: English reviews
Start your review of Mangawhai Heads Holiday Park
 Click to rate
taos
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We rented the tiny cabin, which was perfect for our needs - queen bed, little kitchenette and very clean. Had to walk to the toilet & full kitchen block but no problem. Beautiful location right on the estuary - lots to see and do. Was very quiet as we were there during the week. Great location, swimming at high tide...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nzoppies
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The campsite is in an excellent location right on the beach. Amenities were fantastic and well maintained. Family friendly atmosphere. Heaps of room to throw/hit/kick a ball around or go for some nice walks - just be sure to check the tides as they are big and you have to plan your beach walks and activities around the tides.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scottyquay
Noela G, Owner at Mangawhai Heads Holiday Park, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your comments and glad to hear you had a great time with your group. Our tide does go out a way which leaves heaps of room for sand activities - great for little kiddies when it is in as very safe for them. Looking forward to having you all back next year.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A great beach front location with fantastic new facilities on the north end. I was impressed with how clean these were kept throughout the weekend. But a downside is that the showers are metered. $1 for 7mins is not much, but it does mean being extra organised for showers, or choosing another place that doesn't have metered showers. But if...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank YG1RG1
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful beachfront location for camping, But Beware!!! I thought we were suppose to camping at a family friendly holiday park but due to certain caravan site holders it felt like we paid money to stay at a Retirement Village. No disrespect to retirement villages I'm sure you have lovely residents compared to the ones we encountered during our stay. After...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Amanda C
Noela G, Owner at Mangawhai Heads Holiday Park, responded to this review

We are very disappointed that a fellow camper treated you the way they did, We were unaware that this took place and will address this with them, so in future they come to management with any concerns. All we ask is that everyone respects that they are sharing the same space as each other and in most cases separated by...

Auckland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed a wonderful 3 night stay at the above park in our motor home. We would have stayed longer but they were fully booked for the weekend we wanted. We were down the north end right by the sea. Perfect. The facilities down that end are new and the best we have seen in any camp. I understand the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KateVB
Noela G, Owner at Mangawhai Heads Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments Dianne and happy to hear you had an awesome time, it was our pleasure to host you. The weather was perfect for your stay. Our improvements are ongoing, we are very happy with the improvements to the northern amenities which has made such a difference and we look forward to providing better amenities on the south...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great location and outstanding toilet facilities at the north end. Not great facilities at the south end though. Dated dirty toilets with no dryer or hand towels. Really smelly. I had to walk there (quite far) from the north end several times a day to use the kitchen to heat my babies bottles. It would've been great if some limited...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Lotte M
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Not our first time at the campsite and was a good family atmosphere, with good amenities and friendly staff. Only issue we had was that one group left a day after the other - something that was noted on the system during booking processes but was still an issue when the second group came to leave. Otherwise was an enjoyable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
Noela G, Owner at Mangawhai Heads Holiday Park, responded to this review

Glad to hear you had another quality stay with us. Having bought a run down park and can only do so much each year to improve our facilities - it is heartening to know we are doing it right. Our apologies for the issue when you went to leave, I can only assume that the gate codes used were muddled...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Have stayed here twice now and will definitely go back. The first time we had dolphins come in to the estuary to play - what a bonus. Caught fish from the kayak and casting off the beach. Safe swimming for the kids and the ocean beach just around the corner for the more adventurous. Very clean, friendly and well managed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jill F
Noela G, Owner at Mangawhai Heads Holiday Park, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments on your enjoyable stay at our park. Great to hear you have experienced first hand the joy of our coastal environment, fishing, swimming, dolphins etc. We look forward to welcoming you again sometime soon.

Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

Love this campground , great location, facilities and service .. Had a fab time here with the awesome weather and loved we could hire kayaks and Paddleboards at a reasonable price to get to the sand dunes ..We had a blast here !! Highly rec xx Kids friendly !!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bronwyn L
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 February 2017

This is my 7th year camping at the Mangawhai Heads Camping Ground. Nola and Richard are fantastic camp owners! The new facilities on the North Side are outstanding. The campground is always clean and the location is out of this world. Great fishing, great friends and great times!! Come and visit beautiful NZ!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cooeelou

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mangawhai
9.8 km away
Waipu Cove Resort
Waipu Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Waipu
57 reviews
35.4 km away
Warkworth Lodge
Warkworth Lodge
#1 of 2 in Warkworth
70 reviews
39.2 km away
Snells Beach Motel
Snells Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Mangawhai Lodge
Mangawhai Lodge
#2 of 6 in Mangawhai
46 reviews
9.9 km away
Camp Waipu Cove
Camp Waipu Cove
#1 of 5 in Waipu
320 reviews
9.8 km away
Mangawhai Retreat Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located just 90 mins. north of Auckland on a tranquil lagoon style harbour. Kick back and relax on one of our many absolute beachfront un powered sites or powered sites back from the beach. A water lovers paradise with safe swimming. If camping is not your thing, we have 2 2 bdrm s.c. units available. A perfect place to stop, relax and enjoy the beauty this region has to offer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mangawhai Heads Holiday Park

Address: 2 Mangawhai Heads Road, Mangawhai 0505, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Mangawhai
Price Range: ₹ 2,435 - ₹ 6,662 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mangawhai Heads Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Mangawhai Heads Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mangawhai Heads Holiday Park staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Mangawhai Heads Holiday Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Unpowered campsites are on closest to the beach”
 of 5 bubbles Scottyquay, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“This is a superior camping ground; the communal facilities are fantastic. The cabin was very well appointed.”
 of 5 bubbles ldunne_184550, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“camping sites north end are mostly family groups”
 of 5 bubbles wyandall, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Vineyards and Olive Groves nearby. Beautiful views. Excellent beaches. Handy to other towns and villages.”
 of 5 bubbles pjg63, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“good winter rates for us in our caravan.”
 of 5 bubbles 752ricd, 25 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5