We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Horn of Plenty

Hotels.comUS$ 193*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

626 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Horn of Plenty
See the most recent reviews
Showing 624: English reviews
Ripon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2017

Saturday March 4th.2017 Very nice comfortable room and excellent breakfast otherwise pretty poor value. We were admittedly a large party of 28 ( 1 Table of 8 and 2 of 10 ) but all food had been pre-ordered. Some of us had tea/coffee in the first floor library and when we met at 7.00 for a drink before dinner we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WoodcockWill
host_10, Front Office Manager at Horn of Plenty, responded to this review

Dear WoodcockWill Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay at the Horn of Plenty. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our comfortable rooms, the canapes and the breakfast. However we are disappointed to read that your dinner was not up to our usual high standards. We are very sorry that you...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Stayed overnight in February. This was our second visit to this excellent country hotel. Still the same first class service and excellent food. Lovely clean room and nice dining room, with great views over the valley. Good value as well, considering the high standard. Would recommend a visit if you are in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Turbotman
Liverpool (UK)
Reviewed 6 March 2017

We arrived a little late for the planned afternoon tea, but this made no difference to our welcome. The Horn of Plenty is a few minutes outside Tavistock and with delightful views. We chose to take the pretty route across Dartmoor, although the mists for the second half of the trip did curtail the long distance sight-lines. But what a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tanllan
host_10, Front Office Manager at Horn of Plenty, responded to this review

Dear Tanllan, Thank you for leaving such a wonderfully descriptive review of your recent experience at the Horn of Plenty. We are so pleased to read that you both enjoyed your stay; your praise has been well received by all the staff! We very much enjoyed having you visit and we hope to see you again in the not too...

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

We recently stayed the evening here as it was my brothers wedding venue . As soon as we arrived were greeted with smiles and professionalism . We were shown to our rooms which are decorated , maintained and cleaned to a high standard. The food is fine dinning with a twist , the twist being I was actually full after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank craigandlisa1977
plymouth
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Stayed here while attending a wedding. Staff were great and very friendly. Our room was in the annexe to the rear of the main house. We were shown our room by the receptionist and this is a nice touch which many hotels could take note of. The annexe was built in 2014 and is of a modern design. The rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pensionersPlymouth
host_10, Front Office Manager at Horn of Plenty, responded to this review

Dear pensionersPlymouth Thank you for your lovely feedback and kind compliments . We are delighted that you are considering returning to our hotel again in the future, we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards Candace and the Horn of Plenty Team

Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

We had our wedding at the Horn of Plenty and to say it was a perfect day is an understatement! From booking it a year ago to the big day itself was so easy and stress free! The staff couldn't do enough for us and the chef along with his team served up a real treat, the whole day was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee R
host_10, Owner at Horn of Plenty, responded to this review

Dear Lee and Jo, I very much enjoyed reading your comments following your wonderful recent wedding here at the Horn of Plenty. Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review. The team and I wish you lots of happiness as newlyweds, and we hope to welcome you both back for many more stays to come. Warmest...

Devon
Reviewed 21 February 2017

My friend and I visited on a beautiful sunny afternoon in February. The setting is fabulous, very peaceful, relaxing and wonderful views. The exterior of this is far nicer than the interior. It is such a shame, this really could be an outstanding place to visit, however it is very average. The Afternoon Tea was served quickly, my friends dairy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sunshinehappysmile
Bournemouth
Reviewed 20 February 2017

We stayed here for 3 nights for a winter break; dinner, bed and breakfast. This was our second stay and we weren't disappointed. The only negative I have is that as a returning guest it would have been nice for this to be acknowledged. On check in we were welcomed and taken to our room, a very personal touch. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BournemouthJoanne
host_10, Front Office Manager at Horn of Plenty, responded to this review

Dear BournemouthJoanne Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review . I am so glad that you enjoyed your return visit to the Horn of Plenty; though, I am sorry to read that we missed our opportunity to acknowledge your previous visit on check in. We were happy to read that you enjoyed our “little extras”,...

Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

The rooms were absolutely stunning and for how much we paid I was not anticipating a room with a view like we had. A lovely little balcony with the amazing scenery. On arrival we were shown to our rooms and within the next 10 minutes the reception lady had come back out with fresh handmade cakes. The staff were so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Georgina A
Chudleigh, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Quite possibly one of the best hotels I have stayed in. From arrival to departure was truly marvellous. The service was second to none. The food outstanding. Our room was upgraded and was delightful. All of the little touches were there...cotton robes, proper fridge, exquisite toiletries etc. Pre dinner drinks and canapes in front of a roaring log fire? Why...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank SimmoFamily
host_10, Front Office Manager at Horn of Plenty, responded to this review

Dear SimmoFamily It has been such a pleasure reading the fabulous feedback you kindly left us following your recent stay here at the Horn of Plenty. We are thrilled to have left such a great impression on you both. I will be sure to pass your generous compliments onto the rest of the hardworking team and we hope to welcome...

490 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (195)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (78)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (239)
Viewed
Best Room (First Floor Coach House) (25)
Viewed
Best Room (Ground Floor Coach House) (22)
Viewed
Best Room (Lilac Main House) (31)
Viewed
Best Room (Main House) (26)
Viewed
Cosy Room (20)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (20)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
Second Deluxe Room (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Other (6)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulworthy
3.7 km away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
291 reviews
12.9 km away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
375 reviews
27.8 km away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tavistock
480 reviews
31.0 km away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,207 reviews
3.7 km away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Horn of Plenty Restaurant
Horn of Plenty Restaurant
Cuisines: European, British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Awarded "National Small Hotel of the Year - Silver" in Visit England's 2015 Awards for Excellence, The Horn of Plenty has been thrilling guests for 50 almost years with some of the South West's very best food, drink and accommodation. This independently owned small Country House Hotel and Restaurant has 4 AA stars and 2 AA rosettes for fine dining The hotel stands high on a hill, overlooking 5 acres of beautiful gardens and wild orchards, and beyond that, the breathtaking scenery of the Tamar Valley. 16 stylishly furnished en-suite bedrooms offer outstanding comfort and luxury. Most have balconies overlooking the valley. Food is high on the agenda here, with 90% of produce sourced locally. Service is everything you'd hope for: warm, welcoming, friendly and helpful, without a hint of stuffiness. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Horn of Plenty

Address: Gulworthy | Nr Tavistock, Devon, Gulworthy, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 8JD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock > Gulworthy
Price Range: ₹ 10,507 - ₹ 17,704 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Horn of Plenty 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Horn of Plenty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horn Of Plenty Hotel Gulworthy
Horn Of Plenty Tavistock
Horn Of Plenty Hotel Tavistock
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Horn of Plenty staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Horn of Plenty staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms looking over the Thamer valley are better I think.”
desbutton, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“If you want wifi that is reasonable check which rooms are best”
happyholidaygirl059, 11 May 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are great, most have views.”
90lesj, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“More expensive rooms have super views”
Turbotman, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The fabulous room 11 has access to the delightful garden”
Tanllan, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$ 193* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 198
Orbitz.comUS$ 193
Hotwire.comUS$ 193
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates