We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

337 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 333: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2014

We went to Sharrow a little bit sceptical, having heard reports that it was quite a way past its best, but honestly we loved the place and definitely hope to return. The view is to die for, the staff were wonderful (I'm afraid I don't understand some of the other negative reviews on this site in this regard), and there...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Aethelthryth
rainhill
Reviewed 1 November 2014

Just come back from a fantastic few days here we stayed in the lodge which is a short walk from the main house and considering all the calories consumed proved a blessing!!! The food was delicious we had breakfast lunch and dinner here as well as sandwiches on arrival all was first class, the wine list is extensive and not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sarahRainhill
Reviewed 1 November 2014 via mobile

Called in to see what it was like as had heard so much about it and was not disappointed. The staff where so helpful and first class. The room we had coffee in was exquisite and lovely views of Ullswater. Could just spent the whole day there and staff just could not do enough!!!!! A wonderful place in such a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Daviddpk
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2014

Although an impressive venue the tea was less so. Having informed the hotel of our requirements they were adequately met, but the food was disappointing. The sandwiches were excellent, but the cakes were tired-looking and had the appearance of being shop bought. The food would have benefited from the addition of some small, warmed sausage rolls as there was an...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Jesmond11a
South Shields, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2014

Fantastic located Hotel. We stayed in the Silver Room as a Birthday treat from my partner. As usual with the Lakes you take what you get with Weather! 60 MPH Winds and torrential rain meant it as a stay of over indulgence! We had afternoon Tea in the Drawing Room then returned to our Room and took advantage of a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Lawetoptravellers
Oliver S, General Manager at Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. It is great to hear that you had a fantastic, indulgent experience with us. It's a shame about the weather but we do hope that you were able to experience a fantastic view of Ullswater through the rain. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant...

Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2014

very disappointed with the food and also the service. having booked for a special occasion and let down by the quality of food and it was served cold. we had to send all main courses back to the kitchen to be redone which spoilt the occasion. you would expect top class food and service for what you are paying but...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank Neil B
Reviewed 26 October 2014

My partner and l attended the Sharrow Bay for afternoon tea. The staff were excellent. The food offered was extremely ordinary. Sandwiches consisted of "see through ham", smoked salmon, cucumber and chicken. Not very appetising. There were cakes that appeared aged and outside purchased. The scones were legendary in their hardness and lack of taste. Overall, the experience was ordinary,...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank 1851brilly
Oliver S, General Manager at Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are very sorry to hear that your afternoon tea at Sharrow Bay did not live up to your expectations. We will of course look into the feedback provided as this is not the kind of experience we wish to provide. Should you wish to discuss your review further please do not hesitate to contact...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2014

Excellent but 'cheese paring' was in evidence. For example the amuse bouche for dinner was the same soup that was served for lunch. Also the amuse bouche for pudding was a very boring Eton Mess. There is no need to serve amuses bouche, the good food just speaks for itself so if you have nothing special to offer, then just...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank julia p
Oliver S, General Manager at Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We do hope that the overall experience at Sharrow bay was enjoyed, we will of course take into consideration your feedback especially with regards to the menu layout as this has just been changed and is good to know. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future....

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2014

We had our first stay at Sharrow Bay recently. We were aware of the hotel's good reputation and we wanted to try it. Our room was good and provided everything we expected. The overall ambience of the hotel is good as well but it is looking a bit old fashioned. Our main concern is that the food available in the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank John E
Penrith, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2014

I joined friends for Lunch on a lovely warm day, we sat outside at the front of the hotel and enjoyed our aperitifs whilst perusing the Menu we had difficulty in choosing as everything sounded lovely, the pork fillet for main was excellent and the trifle for dessert was very good, the white, rose and red wines we were recommended...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank davidson103
Oliver S, General Manager at Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed a lunch with friends at Sharrow Bay, your feedback will of course be taken on-board. We do hope that we will have to opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

177 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (141)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pooley Bridge
1.4 km away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
9.4 km away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#5 of 11 in Penrith
949 reviews
26.3 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
18.9 km away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
26.8 km away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sharrow Bay is unique; the epitome of English country living in an unrivalled location surrounded by snow-topped mountains and fells, right on the shores of Lake Ullswater, widely regarded as the most beautiful lake in the country. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel

Address: Howtown Road | Lake Ullswater, Pooley Bridge, Penrith CA10 2LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith > Pooley Bridge
Price Range: ₹ 12,999 - ₹ 22,483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sharrow Bay Country Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country Penrith
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
england
Carlisle, England, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Coventry

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Garden rooms Harmony and Grace, if you can afford it.”
 of 5 bubbles Michael141035, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The garden rooms are huge with fabulous views.”
 of 5 bubbles SB2015SB, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Main House, overlooking lake (eg Marian)”
 of 5 bubbles Wistanswick_lad, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“garden rooms away from the main hotel building have fab views”
 of 5 bubbles jtl652015, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Most of the rooms have a lake view”
 of 5 bubbles 749alisonk, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5