We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

De Old Drift Guest Farm

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
De Old Drift Guest Farm
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

310 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for De Old Drift Guest Farm
See the most recent reviews
Showing 234: English reviews
Lexington, Kentucky USA
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at De Old Drift Guest Farm near Addo, and will definitely visit again. Wonderful staff and service, lovely rooms, great location, good food! We didn't expect it to be as wonderful as it was!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sylviaw2016
Baildon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel was lovely. Room was large, clean and had everything we needed. Outside pool and the grounds were all good. The food in the restaurant was really good. We went on a safari to addo with lindo. This was really good, she was informative and we had a great day which was really worth the money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heather D
Cologne, Germany
Reviewed 14 December 2016

Nice location with great service and food. Room (we had 2 bedrooms) could have been a little larger and the Addo could be a little closer (you drive for about 30 minutes to get to the entrance), otherwise perfect!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andre K
Norwich
Reviewed 11 December 2016

First stay in South Africa. Old drift felt safe and relaxing. Our cottage had everything we needed and also our own piece of garden. Loved sleeping beneath a mosquito net. Great pool with plenty of birds to watch.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 675daphnes
Harringworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2016

We arrived very late indeed, but the staff and chef could not have been more obliging and helpful. The chef, although finished fro the day, reopened his kitchen just for us and provided us with a most excellent late supper. The room was great but the shower was poor and the bathroom needed a general up date. The dining room...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank christopherhP9031LF
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 1 December 2016

We booked into De Old Drift as Addo Game Park was full and they where running a 1/2 price special. I am pleased that we booked the special as I do not think the venue is up to standard at it's usual price. For starters I would have expected a personalised welcome letter at this standard. The room was nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MoccaJava
Lize K, Owner at De Old Drift Guest Farm, responded to this review

Good Morning, thank you so much for taking the time to wright such a long review about our guests farm. All our rooms get double checked before any of our guests arrives by Nandi & Lindo and they take such pride in our guests farm. I have asked them about the shower and the toilet paper and you have not...

India
Reviewed 21 November 2016

After a long day in the car we arrived just before dark to find out there was no room in the dining room, all reservations were booked. The town was a bit far off and we were too tired. We had to leave early in the morning and they did not offer a packed breakfast or anything. The staff was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harafarms
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 20 November 2016

My friend from New Zealand and I only stayed over at the Old Drift Guest Farm for one night last December and were so impressed with the place. We were given a huge room with King size beds, aircon and a beautiful view of the indigenous garden. We even had our own private braai area. The morning of our departure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl968
Ile-de-France, France
Reviewed 13 November 2016

We had a Lovely stay at the Old Drift farm, we enjoyed the food during the dinner/ breakfast and also their safari with our driver/guide Lindo. All was perfect ! Thank you for your welcome and hospitality, we recommend without hesitation

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gaetcha
Lize K, Owner at De Old Drift Guest Farm, responded to this review

De Old Drift team are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially Lindo, as she takes much pride in the Safaris. It was our pleasure to have you with us and thank you so much for recommending us. Hope to see you again soon!

Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 29 October 2016

We only stayed for one night at the De Old Drift Guest Farm but we surely regretted not having planned for al longer stay. It is beautiful and a perfect for a mix of relaxing on the terrace or by the pool and visiting Addo. The team is really friendly and helpful. For us they switched around Addo tours due...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrisro2016

175 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (105)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (70)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (35)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addo
9.0 km away
Hitgeheim Country Lodge
2.5 km away
Chrislin African Lodge
1.0 km away
Zuurberg Mountain Village
Zuurberg Mountain Village
#1 of 2 in Addo Elephant National Park
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 km away
Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm
4.7 km away
Africanos Country Estate
15.6 km away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#1 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
COME AND RELAX IN OUR TRANQUIL ENVIRONMENT, WITH ONLY SOUNDS OF NATURE AT YOUR DOORSTEP... De Old Drift Guest Farm, a short distance from the little village of Addo in South Africa’s malaria-free Eastern Cape province and only 15min drive from the renowned Addo Elephant National Park, with its big Seven, and numerous other species. De Old Drift is a working citrus farm, one of the smallest but most peaceful farms in the area. Take a tour through the orchards and venture down to The Sundays river, only a short 2km away, where Njala, Kudu’s and Rooibok can be seen on the ridge of the mountain. Relax around the pool after a long day at the Elephant Park, or take a walk through the garden and orchards, when the trees are in blossom, the smell of citrus permeates the air. Enjoy our refreshing breakfast in our thatched roof lapa overlooking the garden and swimming pool area. Adventure, fun and games await children, where Pumba (Labrador), Timone (Jack Russel) and Mufasa (Bullmastiff) love to make new friends and play... a little paradise for all children. Your hosts Neels, Juanita and Steffi, will make sure that your stay will be one to remember. ... more   less 

Additional Information about De Old Drift Guest Farm

Address: De Old Drift | R335, Addo, Sundays River Valley 6105, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Price Range: ₹ 5,515 - ₹ 13,276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Old Drift Guest Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your De Old Drift Guest Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from De Old Drift Guest Farm staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from De Old Drift Guest Farm staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Double rooms at the back of the guest farm are more private and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Cheryl968, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All accommodation looked great!”
 of 5 bubbles 433jeanb, 28 Feb 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are in separate little outbuildings so you're not in a big, noisy hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Dancerpainter, 14 Jan 2016 | Read review
“I love the Deluxe self-catering unit as it can sleep six people in total and have a fully equipped including a stove) kitchen.”
 of 5 bubbles ZeldaBij, 12 Nov 2015 | Read review
“The rooms are all different and apparently the rooms nearer reception have slightly better wifi although it is still erratic we were told by other guests. Some rooms are further away, but nice and quiet. The whole farm is very peaceful and we enjoyed it.”
 of 5 bubbles 621susanw, 31 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay