We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

222 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas
See the most recent reviews
Showing 211: English reviews
Whakatane, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We celebrated my wifes 50th Birthday and stayed at the Cooks Oasis Our hosts were fantastic nothing was a problem. They certainly go out of their way to make your stay memorable. Our room was excellent, with lots of great little extras. As they only have eight villas you get the very bset of service. We found the locality great...

Thank bob o
rarooasis, Part Owner / Manager at The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas, responded to this review

Kia Orana Bob, Many thanks for reviewing us on Trip Advisor - we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Yes, as you point out the snorkeling is very good on our local beach with plenty of varieties of tropical fish to be seen. Great that you were here during the whale season (July-Sept) to experience the amazing whale sightings...

Kaiapoi Nth Canterbury
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Loved the Cooks Oasis. Have been here in 2001 and have to say a fantastic improvement to the premises. We stayed for 11 nights with friends and we loved it here every day. The whole family are always obliging and the oasis has a warm family feel as it is not a large resort. Many wonderful restaurants nearby. The Kikau...

Thank Lynda P
rarooasis, Part owner / manager at The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas, responded to this review

Kia Orana Lynda, Many thanks for taking the time to place a review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here, enjoying the facilities, the great local dining and the lagoon. The sunset certainly is beautiful to catch from the local beach- especially with a glass of bubbles : ) Hope to see you all again...

Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We were a group of 7 women with different needs and Christine, Kiel, Eric and Roselle helped. They kept us informed of wind changes for snorkling kayaking etc. flights for close observation etc. They were always there for phone calls information and gave us donuts for Sunday breakfast. Our unit was very spacious over looking the beach. A very large...

Thank Anne255371
rarooasis, Part owner / manager at The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas, responded to this review

Kia Orana Anne, Thanks very much for taking the time to place a review on trip advisor - much appreciated! We are pleased that you all enjoyed your holiday here. The 2 Bedroom Lagoon View Villa that some of you stayed in was an excellent choice for you, allowing plenty of space and great for self catering. The outside deck...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 July 2012

My partner and I arrived in Rarotonga on one of those awfully late/early morning flights from Auckland. The pre-arranged taxi was waiting for us as we exited the terminal. The Cooks Oasis is not far from the airport (3.5kms) on the north-west side of the island so the $21 per person airport transfer fee seemed really excessive. The following morning...

Thank ZackSReed
rarooasis, Part owner / manager at The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas, responded to this review

Kia Orana Zack, Many thanks for your review on trip advisor. We appreciate your time in doing this! Great to hear that you enjoyed your vacation at The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas and enjoyed the use of the snorkelling gear and other complimentary facilites. We look forward to seeing you both again one day! All the best.

Lilienthal, Germany
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We were at Rarotonga for six nights and it was perfect. We spent our Honeymoon there and it was a perfect decision to stay at "The Cooks Oasis". Many thanks to Christine and Roselle for all their good tips. They were very helpful for us and there was no need to go to a tourist information. They booked every activity...

Thank Michelsontour
rarooasis, Part Owner/Manager at The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas, responded to this review

Kia Orana Michelsontour! Thanks so much for reviewing on Trip Advisor, we appreciate it. It was great to meet you both and we are delighted that you had a great honeymoon at The Cooks Oasis. It is our pleasure to be able to help with local information, and bookings etc. Looking forward to seeing you another day - maybe an...

Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Just returned from the Cook Islands and had a great time staying 3 nights at the Cooks Oasis. The Johnson family were very kind and interesting in making sure that everything was going well. I enjoyed my chats with Christine and Kiel; and Roselle was very helpful with the washing machine. My room had everything that I could have needed...

Thank Mathyew
Management response:

Kia Orana Mathyew, Many thanks for your review! So pleased that you had a great time staying here at The Cooks Oasis and had the time to use some of our great facilities. Hoping to see you again one day when you are travelling the pacific. All the best :)

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 June 2012

I arrived in Rarotonga on their Monday night, the 18th of June, and spent there 8 nights. Unfortunately, the first impressions were not so great. Pecel Taxi, the company that was supposed to pick me up from the airport, forgot about me even though I emailed my flight details to Christine, one of the managers of the Cooks Oasis, and...

Thank siberianchick
Management response:

Kia Orana Siberianchick, Thanks so much for taking the time to place your review on Trip Advisor, we very much appreciate this. Our sincere apologies for the two issues that you have pointed out and we would like to respond to these issues that you encountered. In regard to your inbound airport transfer, this was very unfortunate and again we...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 24 June 2012

we stayed half a night in the Cooks Oasis arriving from Aitutaki at lunch and leaving to Auckland by midnight. Christine had prepared a really nice light lunch with fruits, yogurt, toast, butter, jam, cheese, biscuits and orange juice. We stayed in the garden villa. Everything is perfectly organised in the room and you quickly feel at home. The only...

Thank chrix_20
Management response:

Kia Orana chrix_20, Many thanks for taking the time to place a review on Trip Advisor, we appreciate your time in doing this especially as your stay was short! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Cooks Oasis and that you managed to check out the beach, facilities and local area. Hoping you had a great time...

Gore, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We spent 5 nights at Cooks Oasis as it was recommended by our son who stayed here last year. This was our third trip to the Cook Islands and the Johnson Family are the best hosts we have ever experienced.The purpose of this trip was for our son's wedding and Kiel even assisted us to source some last minute flowers.The...

Thank Shona R
Management response:

Kia Orana Shona, many thanks for your feedback on Trip Advisor about your recent stay with us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and are sure you will have wonderful memories of your holiday (also given that you celebrated a very special occasion here in the Cook Islands!). All the best and hope to see you again...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We only spent 3 nights here before flying to Aitutaki, but it was a great 3 nights. Chrstine and Kiel are amazing hosts, very imformative and helpful (booking us a rental car before we arrived, booking a table at a restaurant foir us etc). Our room was very nice and clean, and the air conditioning was great. Free breakfast on...

Thank James G
Management response:

Kia Orana James, Thank you for taking the time to feedback on Trip Advisor about your recent stay, we really appreciate it and are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We are only too happy to help with recommendations and bookings for activities and dining out, also arranging scooter or car hire. We like to assist in helping to...

158 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (118)
Room/Suite (34)
Pool/Beach Area (31)
View from Room (5)
Dining (2)
Bathroom (3)
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Family/Play Areas (1)
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (40)
Room/Suite (12)
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Bathroom (3)
View from Room (1)
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
0.6 km away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
6.4 km away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#3 of 5 in Avarua
180 reviews
3.8 km away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Magic Reef Bungalows
Magic Reef Bungalows
#2 of 13 in Arorangi
262 reviews
0.1 km away
Sunset Resort
Sunset Resort
#1 of 5 in Avarua
608 reviews
4.7 km away
Lagoon Breeze Villas
Lagoon Breeze Villas
#1 of 13 in Arorangi
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas are located in Arorangi, Rarotonga. We have 8 self catering villas nestled within tropical gardens. Enjoy our fresh water cool-off pool and other great complimentary facilities including snorkelling gear, sun lounges, kayaks and beach towels. We are on the western, sunny and sheltered side of the island where you can watch the fantastic sunsets. The Arorangi district is only 15 minutes to the main Township of Avarua and 10 minutes to the airport. Take less than a minute stroll down the path to the white sand beach and beautiful lagoon. Perfect for sunbathing, relaxing, and watching the whales cruise by (in winter). For some family fun try out our kayaks, or go snorkeling and view the tropical fish. Self-cater or enjoy eating out at one of 6 restaurants in easy walking distance. Our secluded property with its comfortable and stylish pacific rooms combined with our excellent location on the island and excellent service really are a winning combination. We pride ourselves on running a “boutique” look, feel, and service property without the high-end expense. We are family owner operators. Our main focus is to ensure our guests have a great stay at The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas and enjoy their time in Rarotonga. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas

Address: PO Box 497, Arorangi, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Price Range: ₹ 7,811 - ₹ 12,222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cooks Oasis Hotel Avarua
The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas Rarotonga/Arorangi, Cook Islands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I had villa 2 it was surprisingly large”
  • aerial of hotel area
 of 5 bubbles 425talker, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Villa 8 is great but can get hot due to being on the top floor”
  • Sunset on the beach
 of 5 bubbles Oscar-Cheryl, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“with this room you are able to get a bit of a sea breeze”
 of 5 bubbles anndc56, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We had an upstairs seaview room and it was very spacious but all the rooms looked good”
 of 5 bubbles W4334EZlaurad, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“A garden villa would be best as it help avoid noise and has a nice verandah in a garden setting; I was in Room 1.”
  • Inside Villa 1
  • Villa 1
 of 5 bubbles RonRSydney_Australia, 2 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5