We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

White Horse Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
White Horse Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 139: English reviews
Start your review of White Horse Inn
 Click to rate
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great cocktails, the 'real deal' made expertly by the lovely Antonia. Her mojitos and Margueritas were soooooo good! Brought back many happy holiday memories on a cold Scottish afternoon. The wood burning stove helped keep the lovely lounge nice and cosy to.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank munrocket
Glasgow Scotland
Reviewed 17 February 2017

Good stopover. Working in the area Great welcome. The staff are brilliant. Great food too. Super breakfast Poached egg perfection ! Will def return next time in the area Only small point.-- The rooms are a little bit dated now. Possibly remove the baths and fit shower enclosures?

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fastskier
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 January 2017

Stayed one night on business. In an area where room rates tend to be inflated, this establishment keeps their rates real. Check-in was friendly and efficient. The rooms are within an annex behind the main building. Bedroom was basic but clean. Strangely, no headboard on the bed. Kettle on the dressing table but no electric socket within reach. The nearest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
White H, Owner at White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thanks Bill for a well balance review. There are some issues in the rooms regarding availability of sockets and there proximity to the equipment and this needs addressed. I'm sure there was coffee. It is housed under the oblong black unit the biscuits and cups sit on. The top slides round. Perhaps we need to make this clear. In many...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

I visited with my family on 3rd January and was so disappointed. Food was absolutely terrible. 3 of us had fish and chips. Fish was dry and tasteless. Batter was soggy and undercooked. Chips were soggy and black as though they had sat for days in water. Mushy peas were so runny you needed a spoon to pick them up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barry M
White H, Owner at White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Barry. Thanks for your blunt review. I'm surprised at your comments. As you will see from the other reviews, we are regularly complimented on our food and service. We do sometimes get it wrong, however, we are always very keen to receive feed back and in fact, encourage it. If you had made an attempt to contact us you would...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Visited here for Sunday lunch. Bit disappointed they didn't have traditional roast on but I had sweet and sour chicken, sister had fish and chips, daughter had mac and cheese. All were nice . We had coffee and shared cheese board which was lovely. Devenick cheeses are a treat . Pity I was driving , would have gone well with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maisiegogs
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

We visited on Christmas Day for a family lunch. Lovely menu, the cheese soufflé starter was gorgeous and the beef wellington main was delicious. Had kept room for desert and was not disappointed. Really friendly efficient staff. We booked for 1.30pm and it was great that the table was not needed again which left us free to sit and relax...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nikewen
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Our first impressions on driving up to the White Horse Inn were quite misleading. From the outside the building resembles a painted portacabin, so our expectations weren’t high. However, the inside is surprisingly spacious and beautifully decorated. The staff are friendly and helpful and on New Year’s Day, The White Horse was doing a roaring trade with brunch fully booked....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DunelmArts
Dorking, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2017

The hotel has a warm and welcoming atmosphere with real wood floors and tasteful soft furnishings. The owner Ewan even serves the huge breakfasts personally and is very knowledgeable about golf and the magnificent nearby Trump links course. The bedroom was very comfortable and warm, and everything in the en suite worked perfectly. The shower in particular was good quality...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thomasconner99
Reviewed 30 December 2016

I would like to thank all the all the staff for giving us a excellent service on Christmas Day The food was delicious tasty and good variety to pick from as. my daughter is vegan and it is sometimes difficult for her to have a choice especially at a Christmas dinner most restaurant just do traditional turkey dinner. the food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eve T
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 December 2016

Visited the White Horse with my wife for a late lunch on the run-up to Christmas. Ordered from the festive menu and all three courses were interesting and well presented . Good value too. As always, the staff were very friendly and the restaurant cosy and well decorated. Hope to return soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jjbell565

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balmedie
5.5 km away
Premier Inn Aberdeen North (Bridge Of Don) Hotel
22.5 km away
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cruden Bay (Port Erroll)
221 reviews
11.8 km away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 64 in Aberdeen
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express - Aberdeen Exhibition
12.7 km away
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ellon
91 reviews
1.0 km away
The Cock & Bull
The Cock & Bull
#1 of 2 in Balmedie
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about White Horse Inn

Address: Old Road | Balmedie, Balmedie AB23 8XR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Balmedie
Price Range: ₹ 3,191 - ₹ 5,237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Horse Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Horse Hotel Balmedie
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from White Horse Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from White Horse Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Only saw 1 room. All at the rear”
 of 5 bubbles fastskier, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I think it is all ground floor, so no issues there.”
 of 5 bubbles thomasconner99, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Good family hotel restaurant excellent for lunch and dinner staff very friendly”
 of 5 bubbles evet447, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“all of the rooms are equal”
 of 5 bubbles edithmmowatt, 16 Mar 2016 | Read review
“We did not stay”
 of 5 bubbles margarets917, 15 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5