We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (190)
Room & Suite (38)
Dining (14)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good20%
  • Average11%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“the bus”(121 reviews)
“day trippers”(19 reviews)
“gold panning”(30 reviews)
AMENITIES
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Family Rooms
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Wheelchair Access
All hotel details
Additional information
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (370)
There are newer reviews for Denali Backcountry Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
360 results
Traveller rating
206
70
42
27
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
206
70
42
27
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe busday trippersgold panningcold cutsopportunity to meetserved family styletwo nightsdenali backcountrymosquito nettingmountain bikinganimal sightingsgreat picturesfishing polesthe riverbike ridepan for goldsix hours
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 360 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2017

The location is amazing but found the food & accomidations just average. There is no privacy you can hear the people in the room next to you. For such a remote location really would prefer privacy. There are several other lodging choices would suggest checking...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kelli C
Response from Christopher H, General Manager at Denali Backcountry LodgeResponded 15 November 2017

Kelli C, Our location in Denali and specifically in Kantishna is amazing and we hope that you were able to get out and enjoy the wilderness while you were here. People enjoy coming to Denali for the wildlife, scenery and the hiking opportunities in the...More

Reviewed 15 September 2017

The ride into Denali Backcountry Lodge is amazing. Maybe a little rough for some folks ( 90 miles in a bus on dirt road), but the views are great. Loved staying in the cabins. Very comfortable and clean. Nothing special about the food; Id expected...More

Thank janefromwestva
Response from Kimberly K, Operations Assistant at Denali Backcountry LodgeResponded 17 November 2017

Hello janefromwestva, Thank you for your review! We're glad that you enjoyed the vast landscapes and wildlife of Denali National Park and Preserve on our Denali Backcountry Adventure to your stay at our Denali Backcountry Lodge. We’re happy you stayed with us and enjoyed the...More

Reviewed 15 September 2017

Am very disappointed w experience. I waited a long time and spent a lot of money for horrible service and food. I won't reqamined to anyone. Very very disappointed,!!! I request a refund for this horrible experience!More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank ellenbN733PO
Response from Christopher H, General Manager at Denali Backcountry LodgeResponded 8 November 2017

EllenbN733PO, We are sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. As a team we strive to meet all guests expectations and address any issues as we are notified. Please reach out to us directly so we can discuss the issues in...More

Reviewed 15 September 2017

Location was amazing and lodge has potential, but poor food/dining really impacted our experience. The staff are young, but eager to please and clearly love Denali/Alaska. There are only a select few options when not camping in Denali and expect to pay for the privilege....More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lisa H
Response from Christopher H, General Manager at Denali Backcountry LodgeResponded 15 November 2017

Lisa H, Thanks for staying with us in Kantishna! We always want to surpass the expectations of our guests and we are sorry that we were not able to do that with you during your visit. We will continue to discuss the suggested improvements that...More

Reviewed 14 September 2017

This is one of the best experiences i have ever had staying here in remote Kantishna.The cabin rooms are not large, but clean and spacious enough as you will spend most all your time here outdoors. We scored big with our room on the river;...More

Thank hjensen90
Response from Kimberly K, Operations Assistant at Denali Backcountry LodgeResponded 17 November 2017

Hello hjensen90, Thank you for your review! We're glad that you enjoyed the vast landscapes and wildlife of Denali National Park and Preserve on our Denali Backcountry Adventure to your stay at our Denali Backcountry Lodge. We’re happy you stayed with us and enjoyed the...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Denali National Park and Preserve
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Spa
Hotel Amenities
Shuttle Bus Service
Breakfast included
Dry Cleaning
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Details
Price range
US$ 529 - US$ 858 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 529 - US$ 858 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (190)
Room & Suite (38)
Dining (14)
Pool & Beach (5)
Family and Play Areas (5)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
EnjoyingNC
1 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Barbara G | Reviewed this property |
Yes you can go on self guided hikes straight from the lodge. Staff will have information
1
Vote
KarlaMarie
20 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Bill C | Reviewed this property |
The bus leaves from the train station. Some people on our bus left their car at the train station or across the street at the park visitor center.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Ask if there is a room available that does not share a wall with another room."
Read review
"Expensive but a room by the water worth it!"
Read review
"for best view get a river side cabin."
Read review
"There are no bad choices as these are individual cabins all on the ground floor."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing