We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Woodlands Cottages & Backpackers

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kenton-on-Sea
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Woodlands Cottages & Backpackers
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

56 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 55: English reviews
Start your review of Woodlands Cottages & Backpackers
 Click to rate
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 2 April 2017

We visited Kenton-on-Sea for the first time ever and booked at Woodlands for our anniversary. Although the bush cabins are really ideal for a romantic weekend away from the hustle-and-bustle, they are definitely more rustic than one would expect from the photo's and not as "cosy" as one would expect: Our weekend turned out to be a coldish, rainy one,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Riaan D
Alkmaar, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewed 20 March 2017

O where to begin. My husband booked this accommodation based on photo’s looking decent. Please see attached photo’s of how it really looks and I don’t even need to say anything further. I would not complain if the price was more realistic Not R475 p.p.p.n. Not the location nor the season is reason enough for them to be overcharging so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SerafynCera
Sandton, South Africa
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Poor accommodation for a couple - especially one not young or backpacking. Had asked for twin beds - got an old small double - terrible mattress on bed and, frankly, just rather tatty in every respect. Manager was friendly and understanding when we cancelled our second night.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 590achimg
WoodlandsCottages, Owner at Woodlands Cottages & Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Elderly Couple I am not sure of what your booking requirements were and apologize for not having followed through with this, and not having you in separate beds. We pride ourselves at Woodlands for being a special place of comfortable and loving surrounds. We did replace the lampshade that had a tatty cover after you left, thank you. I...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 5 February 2017

Stayed 5 nights in Bush Cottage. Clean, well-equipped and private, with lovely outdoor bath. Heard and saw beautiful birds. Enjoyed braais at the cottage, and also meals at The Goat Shed. Staff efficient and friendly

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank susanbZ1765YL
WoodlandsCottages, Owner at Woodlands Cottages & Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Phil and Sue Woodlands is for you! It's your space and vibe. This is real eastern cape coastal bush, and the birds revel in it.Thank you for the great review. Please keep intouch. Kind regards, allen

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 15 January 2017

I stayed in Ngwenya. It is very run-down. It hasn't been painted in years, the bathroom is very old, the window latches are broken, the linen is very old. I love the location and the feeling of family

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank graceb529
WoodlandsCottages, Owner at Woodlands Cottages & Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Graceb529 Really sorry about that, we had such a rush of people at the beginning of the season we missed the gap to repaint the bathroom. If we had known your unhappiness during your stay, we would have made a quick plan for you. You were great company in all the events too, thank you for participating. We completed...

Grahamstown, South Africa
Reviewed 5 December 2016

A very pleasant stay. Accommodation unit was neat and tidy and well secluded by thick bush. The bird watching from the veranda was amazing. The bird list in the brochure needs some serious upgrading. Fridge in the central unit was useless which would be a big problem is we had stayed longer.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathycN170UK
WoodlandsCottages, Manager at Woodlands Cottages & Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Kathyc, that's a great review, thank you We have had many birders tell us we have at least 160 species on Woodlands property.... We try and keep the bush as special and indigenous as possible, keep out evasive and alien creepers and weeds. It is a long and costly process. Thank you for your time taken to give us...

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 20 November 2016

Upon our arrival, we were welcomed friendly and our cottages were shown to us. Woodlands Cottages & Backpackers is situated in a very beautiful and tranquil area. We could relax and enjoy the time spent there.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne V
Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

eception was locked on arrival, owner was nowhere to be found. Interior was out of date, the matress was the worst. No hot water in the shower and a power outage added to the fact that this most expensive night of our trip was our worst so far.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Taric S
WoodlandsCottages, Owner at Woodlands Cottages & Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Taric S No excuses, it was a messy day. I was personally there. Hectic winds effect the geysers, and that was the day it rained as well. The power out, sorry cannot help that one. This is a big concern when it happens due to coldrooms, aquaponic systems,security systems.... We are not a modern place and will keep it...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 29 October 2016

When one needs a bed to sleep in and a bathroom the place is fine. Everything was clean and save parking is available. The place i very basic, (type big wooden wendy-house). Don't expect to much. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank T303UQpeterw
WoodlandsCottages, Manager at Woodlands Cottages & Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Sir Thank you for the review. We have at least 5 different options of accommodation. Activities and stuff to do in the Kenton area ( Route72) are key reasons why people come to Woodlands. Most of our families in transit and weekenders are out and about, so basic is good. Hope to see you soon, kind regards allen

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 25 October 2016

What can I say. That place is so peaceful, the host Allan was welcoming us with a friendly face and seeing us off the Sunday. The atmosphere surrounding the place, tranquillity. I would recommend it to my family and friends and definitely planning on visiting soon.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elvorina U
WoodlandsCottages, Owner at Woodlands Cottages & Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Elvorina Thank you so much , it was such a pleasure to host you, and will look forward to your next visit. PLease keep me posted, BEST regards allen and Woodlands team, and all the dogs and cats and birds and animals !!

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kenton-on-Sea hotels
0.0 km away
Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp
0.0 km away
Kariega Game Reserve - Main Lodge
0.0 km away
The House Quarters
The House Quarters
#5 of 8 in Kenton-on-Sea
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge
0.0 km away
Kariega Game Reserve - Settlers Drift
0.0 km away
Milkwood Manor B & B
Milkwood Manor B & B
#2 of 7 in Kenton-on-Sea
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Woodlands Cottages & Backpackers have new owners and are on track to putting the secret garden accommodation sanctuary back on the map. In addition to the family and pet friendly environment we also offer team-building getaways and with the new backpacker facility we can offer small group leadership camps too. Our cottages are fully equipped self-catering units with a television and romantic outdoor boma-baths. We also offer value for money family and adult friendly spacious backpacker - most of the rooms do have en suite bathrooms and families in transit have been pleasantly surprised with this offering which also offers a large fully equipped kitchen for meal preparation. In addition to accommodation the main house also offers a games room, large television and wi-fi room and for guests' convenience we also have an on-site pub & restaurant where they can relax and reserve your meals. The restaurant is also available for private functions and this feature has been very popular with young and old alike from 18th to 80th birthday parties and corporate/business functions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Woodlands Cottages & Backpackers

Address: PO Box 330, Kenton-on-Sea 6191, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Kenton-on-Sea
Number of rooms: 10
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Woodlands Cottages & Backpackers staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Woodlands Cottages & Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in the "Boma" cottage. There is a quaint path leading to the cute cottage, which has a porch swing and a private braai area.”
TayshiaStrydom, 11 Oct 2015 | Read review
“All chalets are very good and well disguised in the surounding bush/vegetation”
52gunnerg, 21 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a cottage”
Silliusmillius53, 7 Mar 2015 | Read review
“The area by cottages is a bit overgrown; lots of spiders and wasps building or having nests.”
CharleneHaines, 20 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Thw wooden cabins are much nicer than the Potters cottage in my opinion”
Nushqa, 13 Mar 2013 | Read review
5 of 5