We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bishops

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Bishops
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

147 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 143: English reviews
UK
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

What a disappointment! Wonderful location but let down by sloppiness and lack of attention to detail we stayed for 2 nights (mid week £169 for 2 nights- just as well we got a night free as this hotel is definitely not worth anything like that per night). We had a large room that we were happy with. Unfortunately there was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ciao2009Uk
Bristol
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There's something very strange going on at this hotel/restaurant, and reading the reviews of the restaurant on here it seems we are not alone in our experience. The management just don't seem to want to be there. Sulky, moody, hard to track down, slamming plates of food down in front of you. Completely awkward on what was meant to be...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Sarah B
Philip R, Manager at Bishops, responded to this review

It is clearly important to the reviewer to have written this review but it would have been more useful if he or she had got their facts correct first. I do not know who you are but have made inquiries of the staff. I am the Manager and I was away that weekend so any references to the Manager have...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Had a wonderful evening at Bishops last night. It's funny reading the reviews on TA, because we had such a warm welcome, and the staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful! The location is absolutely perfect. There cannot be many more beautiful spots than Lulworth Cove in the UK- it's stunning! We ate at the restaurant and the food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PF1973
Philip R, Manager at Bishops, responded to this review

What a lovely review. It really makes all the efforts that we do put in together with the rest of the staff well worth while. We look forward to seeing you again at Bishops - and your friends. Thank you.

Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

This was mine and my partners 1st time visiting the area. We checked in with a rather cranky manager (I think his name was Tim) who remained less than hospitable for the duration. We were then shown our room which was the pool room. The website did say you would either love it or hate it....well it was definitely the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Nmoghadd
Philip R, Manager at Bishops, responded to this review

It is difficult to find words to reply to this. I cannot accept that the sheets were not clean nor the bathmat. This is just not how we do things. I do not think that the paint was still wet but the fact that it was newly decorated is surely a fact to celebrate. I do not recall who you...

Amesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 October 2016

We ended up at Bishops after finding all other restaurants in West Lulworth fully booked. The bar was very cozy but the selection of drinks was very limited and uninspiring. Staff were friendly and attentive aside from forgetting to lay the table with cutlery! We had main meals which were disappointingly average considering the above average price. We all agreed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank _pbaileyassociate
Philip R, General Manager at Bishops, responded to this review

Your review is mixed but the main criticism seems to be price. We have recently put the price of lobster up from £20 to £22.50 because the general view was that it was too cheap for such quality and freshness straight from the Cove waters. The fish and chips is either battered jumbo cod or sea bass. The latter is...

Ohio
Reviewed 4 October 2016

We had a great stay at Bishops. The location cannot be beat! And we enjoyed talking with Paul and other guests in the evening. We stayed in an attic room, so it was indeed tiny. Very tiny! But we knew it would be, and spent little time in the room, so we're not disappointed. If you plan to spend a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rachel16
Philip R, Manager at Bishops, responded to this review

Thank you. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. Your comment re the Attic rooms (not sure which one you had) are fair and it is worth using this as an opportunity to reiterate their status here at Bishops. They are what we call "budget" rooms and are for the purpose you used yours - to sleep in primarily. They...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Wonderful location and views from Bishops Boutique Hotel. We enjoyed the 2 relaxing nights we spend here in Cliff Suite. We enjoyed the Kingsize bed and wonderful linen. Fluffy bath towels and robes. Our crayfish dinner was delicious. We enjoyed the French music (Brel) playing in the main house. Wish it was warm enough to swim in the pool. Hope...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ronelvz
Philip R, Manager at Bishops, responded to this review

Really pleased you enjoyed your stay. I would just add that at this time of year the pool is well used and really not too cold. The sea is even still warm enough for enjoyable swimming. Perhaps you are used to warmer waters!

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

My wife and i had dinner at Bishops while staying in West Lulworth for few days. We had eaten here before and wanted to see what direction the Resturant had taken. We are staying at our favourite West Lulworth Cove Inn which is now a great place to eat but fancied some variety. We were well rewarded by the experience!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
Philip R, Manager at Bishops, responded to this review

Thank you. I am so pleased your enjoyed your meal. Your suggestions are noted and appreciated.

Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for one night. The staff were the friendliest I have ever met in my 50 + years of travel. I had a whole lobster for my dinner which was not expensive and cooked just right. We stayed in The Study which was 2 large rooms and a super bathroom with shower, bath and 2 hand basins plus...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MarshallAlec
Philip R, Manager at Bishops, responded to this review

It is truly rewarding to get such glowing feedback. Thank you very much.

Lake George, New York
Reviewed 18 September 2016

Let me begin by saying that Bishop's has the best location in Lulworth Cove. We stayed for six days in the Boat House room, which has superb views in three directions. The rooms were clean, but furnished and decorated in spartan fashion. The bathroom had a tub, but no shower curtain. There was only one narrow towel bar, and there...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jeff D
Philip R, Manager at Bishops, responded to this review

Thank you for taking to trouble to write. Your remarks are noted both good and not so good. There are some areas where we need to try harder and will do.

133 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (105)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Lulworth
0.7 km away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 3 in West Lulworth
391 reviews
13.9 km away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
844 reviews
9.0 km away
The Smuggler's Inn
The Smuggler's Inn
#1 of 1 in Osmington Mills
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 km away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
825 reviews
12.0 km away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#19 of 22 in Weymouth
936 reviews
21.2 km away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#3 of 14 in Poole
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bishops, once the home of the Wordsworths (Bishops of Salisbury), stands on the edge of the Cove and is sheltered by Bindon Hill. Originally two cottages and dates back to 1650’s one of the oldest buildings in the village, the extensions and additions have been made with care and the building is one of the architectural features of Lulworth. The gardens overlook the beautiful Lulworth Cove and there is a large swimming pool for our guests. Bishops is on the cliff top of the world heritage Jurassic coastline at Lulworth Cove and the famous Durdle Door. Close by the stunning Studland Bay and shores of Sandbanks and Poole harbour. The countryside is ideally placed for exploring Thomas Hardy’s Wessex, The Isle of Purbeck, Corfe Castle, Swanage and Wareham a Saxon town. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bishops

Address: Bishops Cottage Main Road, West Lulworth BH20 5RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > West Lulworth
Price Range: ₹ 8,122 - ₹ 12,183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bishops 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Bishops reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishops West Lulworth, Dorset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bishops staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Lake George, New York
3 months ago
Sunninghill, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Bishops staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't book the Attic rooms... even youth hostels have better rooms!”
 of 5 bubbles Kelea2014, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't choose the back attic rooms!”
 of 5 bubbles AsherzSmith, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The Study suite is very large and spacious”
 of 5 bubbles pennyb458, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Probably ask for double rooms over the bar or breakfast rooms or looki g out to sea”
  • view from bedroom above the bar
 of 5 bubbles kiwisteph2015, 15 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the Bar Room which was very comfortable and clean just mind the step up to the bed and the step down in the bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles brucewillis68, 18 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay