We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Laxnes

Save
Traveller (590)
Room & Suite (316)
Dining (47)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good29%
  • Average10%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“hot tub”(96 reviews)
“northern lights”(290 reviews)
“golden circle”(100 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Hot Tub
Non-Smoking Hotel
Airport Transportation
Family Rooms
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Additional information
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (1,140)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Laxnes
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
1,070 results
Traveller rating
638
310
99
16
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
638
310
99
16
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubnorthern lightsgolden circleporridgethe busthe hotel managermountain viewlaxnes horse farmblue lagoonpetrol stationwaffle machinelocal amenitieshired a cargreat bakeryminute driveupgraded to a suitecity centre
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
141 - 145 of 1,070 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Hotel way out of Reykjavik, £40 to get into City Centre !! Told by travel agent that there was several restaurants in vicinity, there was 1 a Sports Bar but you might include KFC, Dominos, a burger bar & a kebab shop as more !!...More

Thank snowy067
Response from Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel LaxnesResponded 16 February 2017

Thanks for your second review and hope its the last one as your comments are very damaging . Gbp40 by taxi yes but only Isk440 by public bus whoch run every 30 minutes into Reykjavik .The hot water also smells of sulphur which does smell...More

Reviewed 14 February 2017

Very disappointed on arrival, for what we paid felt really disappointed. Rooms are VERY VERY basic, was like going back in time to the early 80's, furniture poor. One of the rooms smelt of sewage, had daily bleaching of drains. Rooms were very clean though....More

Thank sotongirl2017
Response from Hotel-Laxnes, Manager at Hotel LaxnesResponded 15 February 2017

It would have been good to hear that you were unhappy when you arrived so we could have changed room or even moved you to another hotel while you were still here. Most clients are staying at our Hotel for the Mountain view and the...More

Reviewed 14 February 2017

What made our stay most enjoyable was Shaun's professional yet candid personal advice that he afforded to us as if he was our personal tour guide. In addition, as hotel manager he was most accommodating in many ways. Shaun's dual capacity roles were demonstrated in...More

3  Thank sylviajohn2017
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Quirky Hotel on the outskirts of Reykjavik but with a bus stop into town right outside which takes 20 minutes. Great little find and was very comfortable for our last 2 nights in Iceland. Our rooms were massive and very warm, comfy beds and lovely...More

Thank Chompies2013
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

We are usually not the 'review' type of people, however, after our recent stay at Hotel Laxnes we felt compelled to let others know just how fabulous this place is! We purposely sought out this hotel due to its reviews and its great location in...More

2  Thank factor3028
View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Airport Transportation
Breakfast included
Multilingual Staff
Breakfast Available
Things to do
Bar/Lounge
Hot Tub
Details
Price range
US$ 141 - US$ 289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 141 - US$ 289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (590)
Room & Suite (316)
Dining (47)
Pool & Beach (1)
Amenities (25)
Family and Play Areas (7)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
1jazz19
14 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Hotel-Laxnes | Property representative |
Hi yes this is easy you can take the public bus from opposite our hotel they run every 30 minutes.Then get off at Hlemmur bus stop and walk a few minutes to the Harpa building where you can catch the hop on hop off city bus... More
0
Votes
Phoebe N
14 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from Hotel-Laxnes | Property representative |
Hello yes grayline and Discover Iceland
0
Votes
lollysills
15 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from kitta5 | Reviewed this property |
Hi, you could ask to organize a transfer for you directly at the hotel or you can get a shuttle to Reykjavik (STOP 10), turn around the corner and get from stop Hlemmur bus 15 to Mosfellsbær and stop at Haholt in front of... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"All rooms appear to be similar"
Read review
"The best view is the mountain view rooms. The first floor rooms have little kitchens and the 2nd floor rooms..."
Read review
"Ask for a mountain view room"
Read review
"Rooms facing the mountains are spectacular as you may get to see the Northern Lights"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing