We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Visalam

Hotwire.comUS$ 107*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 111*
US$ 107*
Great Deal
US$ 111*
US$ 111*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Visalam
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

225 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Visalam
See the most recent reviews
Showing 169: English reviews
Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 24 March 2016

amazing property with ever smiling staff.very large cool rooms .The highlight for me was the kitchen with all the cookware from past eras maintained in perfect condition and all the spices used in chettinad cooking displayed with pride.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shalinibasani
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, Manager at Visalam, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your heartfelt appreciation of Visalam and it's authentic culinary experiences. We are very happy that you had a satisfying experience and hope you are able to come back and stay with us soon. Warm regards, Febin Thomas Manager Visalam heritage hotel a CGH earth experience hotel Chettinad, South India

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 March 2016

This was probably the best "find" we had on our extended trip in South India, in a small town in the Chettinad region, still not well known to tourists. A small boutique hotel beautifully converted from a merchant's house with huge and comfortable rooms, excellent a/c and a fascinating history all around. There is a lovely pool and the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank idandb
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, Manager at Visalam, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for taking time out to review Visalam thoroughly on all its aspects, as also for keeping the intrigue alive for future guests to the destination, we really appreciate your effort.I have also made a note of your feedback on Wi-Fi and presentation and we shall endeavor towards a better score on that. We look forward to providing...

North London
Reviewed 2 March 2016

What an oasis of calm this hotel and village are after coming in from the onslaught of noise elsewhere! The village appears to pride itself on keeping things relatively clean and together that is a welcome change from the inordinate amount of littler that lines the roadsides and waterways in pretty much all other areas. Apparently the local council here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneNorthLondon
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, Manager at Visalam, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us ,your feedback was more than appreciated and we thank you for all your suggestions and things you have brought to our attention.We made the changes that you have suggested in order to create wonderful stays for all of our guests. Thank you for your kind words and...

Boston
Reviewed 24 February 2016

Beautiful hotel in a restored Chettinad mansion. Lovely pool and gardens, poolside area for lunch, unless you chose the banana leaf lunch in the demonstration kitchen (we had a cookery class beforehand). Breakfast was in a different area of the garden and dinner on a roof top terrace. Shiva entertained us with jokes and parlor tricks and dressed up as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank woodstockgalBoston
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, Manager at Visalam, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are extremely happy that you have taken the time to leave us a great review on TripAdvisor. We would like to thank you for acknowledging Shiva and Ramu for their wonderful services. I am proud to say that my entire staff is our most valuable asset. All of us here take customer service very seriously to ensure...

great bardfield
Reviewed 20 February 2016

We were here 5 years ago, and Visalam was just as great as we remembered it. If you see a CGH hotel, you know it will be good, and Visalam is superb. Its a small renovated Chettinad house, with everything well thought out. We loved our bedroom, which was huge and cool. Food really great - loved our small cookery...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wfleischmann
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, Manager at Visalam, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review and the great score! It is rewarding to hear that we have succeeded in making you feel at home and that you experienced no difficulties with our services or amenities and took full advantage of our location. And our staffs especially Shiva, Rama and Thomas improve upon your experience. Your complements will...

Cookham Dean UK
Reviewed 6 February 2016

Excellent welcome with very friendly & charming manager with excellent staff. Beautifully restored & tastefully converted Art Deco building. Our "Standard" bedroom was very large but in our room steps to bathroom could be hazardous to some (I don't think all rooms are similar & would be on one level). Delightful garden with lovely swimming pool beside which lunch can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NandPCookhamDeanUK
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, Manager at Visalam, responded to this review

Dear Richard & Nevenka, It is indeed very much appreciating for us to see your detailed review. it gives us lots of happiness and pride to see your descriptions of our staffs and the house. We are very much glad to know that our efforts are rewarded through your feedback. We feel very much charged to do even better. I...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2016

A lovely property in an old Chettinad house. Beautiful gardens including a kitchen garden which we were taken around. Great fresh water pool, no chemicals and small eating area for lunch and breakfast. Roof top restaurant also great and the food excellent. The cookery demonstration was extremely worthwhile too. The only down side was the shortage of visitors so the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank caralyn s
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, Manager at Visalam, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful feedback. Your words have encouraged us to work harder towards maintaining the highest of standards. We look forward to welcoming you again and assuring you of another fantastic holiday. Warm Regards, Febin Thomas Manager Visalam heritage hotel a CGH earth experience Chettinad - India

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 January 2016 via mobile

But the food is SO disappointing. Wow. Really disappointing. Frustrating because as a Western tourist you really want to sample the cuisine. Otherwise the mansion gorgeous, the pool chemical free and relaxing, staff lovely and rooms comfortable and spacious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, Manager at Visalam, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us at Visalam. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay.I'm sorry your experience of cuisine however wasn't to your satisfaction. Thanks for sharing your feedback; we shall definitely look at what needs to be done to bring it up to scratch. We look forward to having you back with us again. Warm...

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 January 2016

We were in a ' standard heritage room'. I therefore cannot imagine what a luxury room is like. This was enormous, with large separate dressing area and bathroom. Very well furnished and equipped. Spotless Very friendly and helpful staff, one of whom accompanied us on a tour of the town and surrounding area the next day. Food was fantastic with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jmg52
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, Manager at Visalam, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a response regarding your recent stay with us. We are incredibly happy to hear that you had such a pleasant stay with us and your kind words will definitely be shared with the rest of our team. It is our goal to create a memorable and enjoyable stays for each...

Reviewed 25 December 2015

This accomodation is small but beautiful building. You can feel like a lord in the hotel. Service are excellant and food is really nice.Only problem is frequent black out and internet connection. It was difficult to find Visalam. When we came from north the sign is not clear so we passed and few people knows the place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jhchang

276 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (264)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (69)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (118)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kanadukathan
0.0 km away
No photo provided
Hotel Sathyam
#1 of 1 in Pudukkottai
7 reviews
7.0 km away
Chidambara Vilas Chettinad
Chidambara Vilas Chettinad
#1 of 4 in Pudukkottai
183 reviews
0.5 km away
Chettinadu Mansion
Chettinadu Mansion
#2 of 2 in Kanadukathan
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Chettinadu Court
Chettinadu Court
#2 of 5 in Karaikudi
63 reviews
4.3 km away
Saratha Vilas
Saratha Vilas
#1 of 1 in Kothamangalam
187 reviews
9.8 km away
Nachi Residency
Nachi Residency
#2 of 15 in Karaikudi
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Visalam ( A CGH Earth Experience) is where you would want to go to experience a unique Tamil culture. Located in Kanadukathan village in chettinad, Visalam has many a stories to tell of the heritage, culture, food and people of this interesting tamil community, the chettiars. Stay at Visalam for that journey back in time and for that warm tamil hospitality. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Visalam

Address: Kanadukathan L F Road, Kanadukathan 630103, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Sivaganga District > Kanadukathan
Price Range: ₹ 6,010 - ₹ 16,092 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Visalam 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HRS, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Visalam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Visalam Hotel Kanadukathan
Visalam Kanadukathan, Tamil Nadu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Visalam staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
bangalore

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Visalam staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I think the rooms on the first floor have better views and privacy.”
barbaraa122, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All of the rooms are large and gracious, with charming period features.”
angelacX523TQ, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“if our rooms was anything to by all the rooms are probably great.”
daisybell561, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“No televisions but good wifi.”
sabbadayfarm, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Further away from road may be quieter.”
SallyandHarry, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotwire.com
US$ 107* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 111
TripAdvisorUS$ 111
Hotels.comUS$ 107
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates