We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,586 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,581: English reviews
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I previously stayed last August and were so impressed we didn't hesitate to book when a Groupon Deal came up. We took our 13 and 14 year old midweek and it was a great deal. The room was spacious , TV with games, music channels , fridge ,iron and ironing board . Free wifi which is always...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny160266
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and I am so pleased to read your praise for your room, the gardens, golf, breakfast and spa. I am very sorry for the lapse in standards with food service in the bar and I will address this with the Bar Manager. Thank you for your feedback and I look forward to the...

Killaloe, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We attended a conference at the hotel and were very pleasantly surprised at the overall good standard of the venue. The rooms are well equipped and very comfortable. the breakfast was excellent and other meals were of a good standard considering they were serving a large conference crowd. The meeting areas were good for this type of conference with everything...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jim O
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and I am pleased to note you were pleased with your visit to the hotel as a conference delegate and in particular enjoyed the rooms, food and conference facilities. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Slieve Russell Hotel in the future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.

Western Ireland, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I am just back from a 2 night stay in the hotel and We had a lovely time. The hotel is in a fantastic location and we enjoyed a brisk walk along the perimeter of the golf course. The par 3 course was also a fun way to pass some time. We used the spa for a massage and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aimee Elizabeth W
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and I am very happy to learn that you had a lovely stay and enjoyed the walkway, par 3 golf, spa, room and staff. Thank you for your constructive comments regarding the bar/restaurant, I will discuss this with the relevant managers. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the...

Drogheda, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I am presently staying in the hotel as I have for the last ten years but the standard is definitely dropping. Doors hanging off in the changing room , broken clothes line in the room.smoking on the non smoking floor in some rooms . the main restaurant not open (even though it's easter and packed ). The setanta restaurant is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank blingrhino
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and I am most concerned to learn that you did not enjoy your most recent visit to the Slieve Russell. I will private message you for more details, so that I may follow up on any shortcomings. Kind regards, Tony Walker.

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have just returned to Galway following a fantastic first visit to this wonderful gem of a hotel Start to finish we couldn.t fault it. Staff are professional yet down to earth. Food is excellent. We ate in both restaurants and the foyer for lunch. Pool is so warm and the views are to die form tennis courts nicely positioned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eileen E
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your lovely review and I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and in particular the food, leisure facilities and the par 3 golf. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.

drogheda
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked for 1 night to celebrate a birthday at the Slieve Russell and wasn't disappointed. We were greeted at check-in by very friendly receptionist who upgraded us to a Superior Room , that was a good start, we then spent a pleasant afternoon in the leisure center and swimming pool , followed later by a very good meal in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank proinsios
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and I am delighted that you enjoyed the leisure centre, the restaurant and bar and found the receptionist to be friendly. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Slieve Russell in the future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After a busy day we arrived to the hotel to check in at 5pm. The Q was very long, however the receptionist did apologise for the wait. She then told us we had been upgraded, however after a few minutes wrestling with the computer she told us the room was no longer available. Her manager came to help her find...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eve127h
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and I am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. As you have also emailed me personally I will look into this and reply to you directly. Kind regards, Tony Walker.

Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed just before Christmas so it was so beautifully decorated and really got me into the spirit. we got upgraded on arrival to a suite and I cannot say enough to describe just how beautiful, luxurious and comfortable the room was. the bathroom was enormous with double sink, sofas and chairs, table, a fruit basket on arrival. the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Catherine M
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your wonderful review and I am so pleased to learn that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and in particular your suite. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.

Kildare, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have to say beautiful place went to wedding in November never being before 5 star all the way rooms lovely food could not faulted it in any way ground Beautiful staff very friendly great place for wedding

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marycampbell2016
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your lovely review and I am so pleased to learn that you enjoyed all aspects of your time with us. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.

County Antrim, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at the Slieve Russell in February with my husband for my birthday. He booked two nights in a suite with an evening meal for my present. I’d been twice before for weddings and was looking forward to a return trip. The hotel is really lovely and spacious, with lots of nice areas to sit and relax in over...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GMM35
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed the hotel, our staff and the food. I am sorry if you felt there was a delay between courses when you dined in the restaurant. May I also apologise that you were disturbed on your first night but I am pleased to note that...

441 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (375)
Viewed
Room/Suite (67)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (87)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (142)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (33)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyconnell
14.8 km away
Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan
34.6 km away
Lough Erne Resort
Lough Erne Resort
#5 of 7 in Enniskillen
1,405 reviews
19.0 km away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.2 km away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
19.6 km away
Hotel Kilmore
Hotel Kilmore
#3 of 4 in Cavan
227 reviews
30.9 km away
Errigal Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Slieve Russell Hotel Golf & Country Club is a top quality four-star hotel. Set in 300 acres, including 50 acres of lakes, the resort offers a unique experience in relaxation and leisure. Facilities include 222 stylish bedrooms, a world-class spa, excellent conference and banqueting facilities, along with a magnificent leisure centre. Enhancing the facilities is a superb 18-hole championship golf course, (ranked 5th in a survey of Irish Parkland Courses) with a nine hole par 3 academy course and adventure golf. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club

Address: Cranaghan, Ballyconnell, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Cavan > Ballyconnell
Price Range: ₹ 8,464 - ₹ 11,472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slieve Russell Hotel And Country
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book early , look for Groupon deals!”
oldeforge, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“rooms with walk in showers are available for mobility issues”
JimO47, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Golf course views are best”
proinsios, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I looking over the mountain”
marycampbell2016, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“over looking golf course is lovely & quiet lovely & sunny & bed was so comfortable”
lesleya887, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5