We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Lake of Bays Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Lake of Bays Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

54 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 51: English reviews
Newmarket, Canada
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

We booked a stay here that we thought was a little bit expensive but we were excited to see what we would come to. The restaurant was not open all that we paid for breakfast we weren't even told that there wasn't a restaurant open. The place is very outdated and very dirty. Our toilet stop working because the septic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank altuna79
Suzie F, General Manager at The Lake of Bays Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Chris. We are very sorry to hear this review. I remember how much you both loved the surroundings. Unfortunately, yes, we had a septic emergency and had contractors on site immediately to resolve the problem. As soon as we discovered the issue, we relocated you to a villa suite to accommodate you. Unfortunately, that suite was the only one...

Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

My new husband and I stayed here for a mini-honeymoon. I've grown up camping in Algonquin since I was young, but my husband isn't much for tents. We stayed in a suite that had a stove top/fridge and microwave. The lodge was steps from the lake, the deck/beach area had patio furniture and kayaks and canoes all included with our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly J
Suzie F, General Manager at The Lake of Bays Lodge, responded to this review

Kelly, we really enjoyed you being here :-) It is always so nice when we learn that couples are here for special get-aways like anniversaries and birthdays, even engagements on our dock under the stars. We are so happy that you chose the Lodge for your mini honeymoon. Let's make it a tradition for your upcoming anniversaries!!!!

Frodsham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

When we planned our 3 week trip around Canada one of the highlights was to be a stay in a lodge by the lake. How wrong could we have been. It must be said that the location of Bristlecone is great, but the cabin we were allotted was appalling! The list would be endless, except we gave up... The patio...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter F
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 6 September 2016

We stayed here years ago with a group of hikers when it was known was Nor'loch. We tried the cottages this time. Ownership was changed 6 weeks ago, we were told. They no longer serve dinner. Our price included a continental breakfast. Pros: We like the fact that our cottage was right by the lake. The place is equipped with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank uwland
Suzie F, General Manager at The Lake of Bays Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We endeavour to meet our guests needs and your opinion does matter to us. We did have issues with the wifi and that was fixed yesterday. Great signal now :-) We would love you to come back and reserve a Villa suite that is more to your liking over a cottage. It will be beautiful...

Whitby, Canada
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

The Accomodations were a negative for us. The facility we stayed in was old and outdated. The place smelled of bleach and was not very well cleaned. Carpet was filthy, tv converters were dirty, fridge was dirty and falling apart literally. The Price we paid was too high for what we received. Continental breakfast could have been so much better...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mommy888
Suzie F, General Manager at The Lake of Bays Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback from our guests. Yes, the location is beautiful and we are very family oriented. We are so glad that the children enjoyed the lodge and fire pits. On a positive note, we have NEW owners. Upgrades are on the agenda. We are excited and looking forward to what is about to...

United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

There are mixed feelings about our stay here. There are many positives, for example, the staff were friendly, and the best part of this lodge was the lake and the free use of the canoes and kayak. Loads of fun and the lake is so relaxing and we were able to sit out on the deck and enjoy the beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mia M
Toronto
Reviewed 10 July 2016

Well located not far off the highway and walking distance to the village yet far enough to to be quiet and tranquil. The beach is located a cross a gravel driveway and has boats available to borrow. 3 kayaks, canoes and a little paddle boat all safety equipment is provided. A small sitting area with tables and umbrella is located...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank scott6428
Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed the first week of June on a recent trip to Algonquin Park. The property was conveniently located and the room was both clean and offered all the practicalities that are expected. . Both Suzie and Wayne were tremendous from check in until check out and we will certainly not hesitate at staying again in the future and recommending to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JMWNiagara
Suzie F, General Manager at The Lake of Bays Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. The property at Bristlecone Lodge is just beautiful and we try our best to accommodate each guest, while giving them their privacy at the same time. That was a beautiful weekend for relaxing on our beach and the water was beautiful and warm. Please do come back again!

Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

I don't usually write reviews as most hotels, lodges, etc are pretty much all the same and as advertised but Bristlecone Lodge was a total surprise. Though we arrived about a week before the season began, and the flowers were just starting to peek out of their beds, we nestled into a wonderful suite with a fireplace and a king...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lynne B
Suzie F, General Manager at The Lake of Bays Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much. What lovely words. Bristlecone Lodge is a gem. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you come back soon :-)

Reviewed 23 April 2016

Apparently under new management this year. The staff were amazing - very customized experience. They helped us start a campfire, make smores, go hiking, and just relax. The breakfasts were so great and personalized to your liking. The hot chocolate was amazing. Definitely would come back. Thanks for making it memorable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
Suzie F, General Manager at The Lake of Bays Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words Brian. We were delighted to have you here. Please come back in the summer :)

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dwight
38.9 km away
Arowhon Pines
Arowhon Pines
#1 of 1 in Algonquin Provincial Park
160 reviews
9.9 km away
Deerhurst Resort
Deerhurst Resort
#3 of 18 in Huntsville
2,499 reviews
9.0 km away
Algonquin Lakeside Inn
Algonquin Lakeside Inn
#2 of 2 in Oxtongue Lake
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
430 reviews
8.4 km away
Lakewoods Cottage Resort
17.3 km away
Tulip Inn
Tulip Inn
#9 of 18 in Huntsville
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
All season resort in Tall Pines on the Sandy Shores of Lake of Bays, bordering Algonquin Provincial Park. Just 2.5 hours north of Toronto in the Muskoka Region. Deluxe adult Jacuzzi Villa suites and private cottages all viewing west over the Lake. Wedding & group rates. Open all year. Catering to OFSC snowmobile club and part of Muskoka 17 trails and RAP (Ride Algonquin Park). 2016 Winter is catering to ice fishermen, snowmobilers, skiing enthusiasts and good old winter get-aways! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Lake of Bays Lodge

Address: 1091 Dwight Beach Rd, Dwight, Ontario P0A 1H0, Canada (Formerly Bristlecone Lodge)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Dwight
Price Range: ₹ 7,760 - ₹ 9,558 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lake of Bays Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Lake of Bays Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lake Of Bays Lodge Dwight, Ontario
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Lake of Bays Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Moore heaven cottage has screened porch.”
 of 5 bubbles scott6428, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
“A room facing the lake is ideal!”
  • View from our room
 of 5 bubbles gailben2015, 12 Aug 2015 | Read review
“I like access to ground level suite but you may hear the guests upstairs.”
  • View From Canoe Oxtongue River
 of 5 bubbles pd32, 1 Aug 2015 | Read review
“The corner suites with in-room whirlpool tubs are at the far end... nice and private. Consult with the manager and she can set you up with the best room for your needs.”
  • Suite #7
  • View out our window (Suite #7)
  • View out the door of Suite #7
  • Suite #7
 of 5 bubbles SueFin, 4 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Ask to see the cottages that they have available, before you settle for the one given to you. A couple of them looked to have decent layouts.”
 of 5 bubbles Shera176, 19 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay