The Citadel Resorts

The Citadel Resorts

Village Jiya, Tehsil-Palampur Midway Dharamshala - Palampur, Badsar 176059 India
Views of the resort and from the resort. The mesmerizing architecture and the natural setting.
Traveller (99)
view from lower ground floor balcony
Room & Suite (39)
Dining (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 1 hotels in Badsar
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
At the far end of the earth, surrounded by snow capped mountains, streams, lush green tea gardens and balmy air, nestled in a small quiet hamlet of the Mystical Himachal- Jiya. The serenity of Jiya is so immense that only your soul can feel it. An inviting Jiya has its only escapade is located at an elevation of 5000 feet above sea level in the beautiful Kangra Valley of Himachal Pradesh. It is surrounded by Tea Gardens & forest & commands a breath taking panoramic view of the Dhauladhar Mountains at 16,000 feet to the North & Kangra Valley to the south.The citadel resort is a boutique resort tastefully furnished, with well kept 26 guest rooms with individual balconies, Central heating system and all modern facilities, lobby, Library & dining space, to start with( gym, games room, health centre and conference room to be added in a few months). Excellent food, quite and tranquility, disturbed only by the birds, long & private walks down to the village Jiya, will make your visit a memorable one.The beauty of the resort is that it is located at a secluded and quiet place, at the same time you can enjoy the hubbub of an urban life. Just 30 km from Gaggal airport, 20 km from Dharamshala, and 14 km from Palampur, 5 Km from Shree Chamunda Temple, Jiya offers you a peaceful vacation alongwith all the advantages of a busy hillstation. Our daily local tours of Shobha Singh art gallery, Palampur agricultural university, Tea gardens, Macloedganj - the holy seat of Dalai Lama and the evening strolls at the Palampur bazar give a quality past time. To top it all fishing at the flowing by streams and trekking adds that extra zing to your holidaying with us.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Valet parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Room features
Bathrobes
Desk
Private balcony
Room service
Seating area
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Room types
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi
126Reviews1Q+A48Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 67
  • 39
  • 9
  • 3
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
V A wrote a review Mar 2021
37 contributions8 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Property is situated in very peaceful area away from the crowd ,food was good .hotel is neat and clean .Rooms have very small balconies and property need a renovation . there are facilities like TT, Pool and outdoor badminton . Views are very amazing .
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: higher floor rooms have better view but rooms are almost same
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
amod25 wrote a review Feb 2015
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India2 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
a beautiful hotel in the midst of nature. Situated in the lap of snow clad Himalayas this hotel offers awesome views. Meticulously designed rooms and outdoor spaces by the owner who is an architect by profession ensure that the stay is comfortable and relaxing. A must visit place for people looking to detox from hectic urban living - the food was delectable, service courteous and prompt, together with the relaxing ambiance. An excellent place for families with indoor play area for kids as well as adventure seekers with ample scope for trekking around the valley and mountains. Will definitely visit again soon.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ketan_dave2013 wrote a review Oct 2013
London, United Kingdom3 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Me and my family visited this hotel earlier this year and had a fantastic experience. The location was amazing, the staff even more amazing, the service brilliant the views breathtaking.

The location was serene and the views from the rooms were amazing. The staff were the nicest people you could meet and attended to all our needs whatever they were and whenever we asked. Vijay and Ankush attended to our every need without any fuss. Ravi the security guard was a gentleman personified and made wood fires for us every night. We would then sing and drink by the fire in the fresh mountain air.

Rajat the manager was always available and made sure that all of our requests were promptly dealt with.

All I can say is if you are visiting the Kangra / Palampur region then this is the place to base yourself. Whether it be for relaxing or adventure activities....

Citadel - I hope that you can continue to maintain this standard for years to come and I look forward to seeing you all again.

Ketan, Trupti, Neha and Nirav and Surekha from London England
Read more
Date of stay: March 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TheCitadelResorts, General Manager at The Citadel Resorts
Responded 30 Oct 2013
Dear Ketan Bhai.., Thank you for the great review and we are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your time at The Citadel Resorts,Jiya. The views speak for themselves and the Great Snow capped Dhauladhar's and the Baner River next door are a sight to behold.Your positive words are a great source of Encouragement for the Team at the Resort.It is our responsibility to make your stay as comfortable as possible . We are an Extended home of your's in India.Would love to see you more at The Citadel Resorts,Jiya. We all miss you a Lot here.Our Team often speaks about you .What a wonderful time we had with you as guests at the resort. Pay our Regards to Mataji ,Mam and love to the children"s. Looking forward to greet you at The Citadel Resorts,Jiya again .... With warm Regards Jai Shri Krishna!!!!!!!!!!!! Rajat Chauhan 094188 79512
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
anupam59 wrote a review Sept 2013
Jalandhar, India24 contributions9 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
A wonderful serene destination away from madding crowd and nestled in the lap of nature.
You feel the nature play at its best. An unexplored destination where you can simply relax and are at total leisure to enjoy the ambience. You can go to nearby Mc Leod Ganj or, kangra or Chamunda Temple. Bir Billing Indian paragliding Haven is also nearby. Tea gardens are at a stones throw. Best place to unwind for 3-4 days.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2013
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Go For Room No. 203,204,205 or 206 these Rooms have balconies towards the River Side
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TheCitadelResorts, General Manager at The Citadel Resorts
Responded 11 Sept 2013
Dear Mr Khanna, Thank you for Patronising The Citadel Resorts,Jiya .It is a pleasure to have you with us at The Citadel Resorts,Jiya every time on your Visits. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your time at the Resort and the team right across was able to delight you with the small touches that we try and do for our guests. The Citadel resorts is located in the Heart of the Kangra valley with Dharamshala,Mcleodganj on one side and Palampur,Baijnath on the other.Tea Gardens,gopalpur Nature Park and the rice fields of Jiya Village in the background of the snow Capped Dhauladhar mountains are a sight to behold. Thank you for your positive comments. We look forward to more visits from you with us. Thanking You With warm Regards Rajat Chauhan 094188-79512
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nalini B wrote a review Jun 2017
Chennai (Madras), India12 contributions14 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here End May 2017 (28th to 30th) and it turned out to be a terribly unpleasant experience. We were allotted a room that had a 'trash view' in lieu of the valley view that we had imagined. No power when we checked in - and there was no power throughout the night and till we went out for sightseeing..could not sleep at night due to noises of people working at night.. Then the next morning, had to wait for a bucketful of hot water to take bath. No semblance of being on vacation and no relaxation whatsoever. We were shifted to so called valley view room next day but that was so and so. Also, the kettle was missing in the new room. A struggle throughout our stay. Dinner was to order and did not have any choice of cuisine - Not my idea of a holiday and no way to relax in such a place... Do not make the mistake of choosing this hotel - Be very cautious while you book through Make my trip - These guys take you for a ride...
Read more
Date of stay: May 2017
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
50jatin wrote a review Jul 2015
New Delhi, India4 contributions5 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
please dont be cofised with the name , its a just a small hotel in village called jiya , location os good for nature lovers only, insects are very big problem you can not enjoy the nature becase you can not open the door , hospitality and food is good , but over all a big no fro my side because , you are not there to sit in the hotel , no place for childrens to play only piturisation is good in that paticular pic, and that is the only open area they have , balconies of even delsuxe rooms are very small , over all a big no.....
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: no acs rooms only choose super deluxe rooms only valley side
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ashish A wrote a review Mar 2015
Delhi24 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I went to dharamsala in Feb 2015 with my family and stay there in citadel resort. It is a very awesome place for nature lovers. Its very peace and calm place. Valley and mountain view is great from rooms. Food is very good. I was impressed with the room service. I will definately recommend this resort if you are looking for some calm place to enjoy the beauty of nature.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2015Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wayne R wrote a review May 2014
Goole, United Kingdom68 contributions25 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I can only assume that the people who have praised this hotel are more easily pleased that we are. The views were magnificent and the staff were pleasant and helpful. Beyond that it would be very, very difficult to write positively about this hotel. The room was dirty, despite booking a twin and the booking being accepted months ahead - there were no twin bedded rooms in the hotel. The sheets and bedding were stained, the room was shabby with gaps in the windows mould on the walls and a general feeling of disrepair and of being very run down. Our first impression on arrival in the foyer should have told us all - it was dirty, shabby and unwelcoming. Despite explaining in detail to the manager why we were not prepared to stay for the full length of our booking, when our travel company called he told them he did not know why we had left, demonstrating extreme two-facedness, as he had sympathised with our complaints and told us he fully understood. The food offered was very limited with non Indian food being non-existent (though breakfast was pleasant taken on the terrace). What a shame, simply by spending some money and checking that the standards are raised this could be a brilliant little hotel. Only two rooms have showers! The rest use buckets. If you will settle for hostel standards this could be acceptable.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: If you want a shower make sure you book one of the rooms with one and do not believe anything you...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RajatChauhanGM, General Manager at The Citadel Resorts
Responded 30 May 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and your invaluable constructive feedback.Yes The Citadel Resorts,Jiya is one of the Best Locations in the Valley . It is sad to hear that you did not have a comfortable stay at the Resort .Every Detail of your has been noted and immediate action has been worked upon.We do not have showers in the Standard Category of Rooms .Deluxe and Super Deluxe Rooms have showers.Standard Rooms are the one with twin beds.We have planned to install the showers in the Standard rooms after this season.We have worked upon a new Menu with more Variety .Team at the Resort tries hard to exceed expectations of each and every guest of ours. It would be an honour to welcome you back to renew and restore your trust in The Citadel Resorts,Jiya. Our sincerest apologies for the negative experience on your first visit to the hotel, and we hope you will afford us the opportunity to make it up to you in the near future. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Citadel Resorts,Jiya in the Dhauladhar's! With Warm Regards Rajat Chauhan 09418879512
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Geeta P wrote a review Oct 2013
New Delhi, India2 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Tired of the City Chaos,come and stay here and experience the beautiful nature with the sound of river flowing,the fresh air cool air .The view from the window just mesmerizes you. Mountain heights,goats grazing far high up ,lush green trees everywhere .

Thanks Citadel for making my trip memorable . Am sorry when i arrived i said why are you so far as i was so tired searching your place and it was dark .But I take back all i said . JUST remember you have done the best putting up this property there at Jiya .

Your staff is excellent ,courteous,simple .Guest is God for them . Food was also simple tasty suits all palate .

Only few tips a coffee maker in d room,a handwash,shower will make the standard room fetch more money and add to the comfort.

WOULD COME BACK AGAIN . Thank again

Geeta + Ben
Read more
Date of stay: October 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Choose any room all have the same view
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TheCitadelResorts, General Manager at The Citadel Resorts
Responded 30 Oct 2013
Dear mam, Thank you for the great review and we are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your time at The Citadel Resorts,Jiya. The views speak for themselves and the Great Snow capped Dhauladhar's and the Baner River next door are a sight to behold.Your positive words are a great source of Encouragement for the Team at the Resort.It is our responsibility to make your stay as comfortable as possible . i have taken a personal note of your feedback and forwarded it to the Senior Management . Sorry for the inconvenience you faced Locating us.We Plan to put a few more Hoardings and Road signs . Looking forward to greet you again at The Citadel Resorts,Jiya .... With Warm Regards Rajat Chauhan 094188-79512
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andy Mittal wrote a review Aug 2013
New Delhi, India2 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
we were a group of 15 people (4 families). we had a very comfortable stay at citadel! the rooms were good with each individual room providing a wonderful view of the dhauladar mountains and a river. the resort which is in the midst of natural beauty provides peace and calm. during our stay from 14th of august to 17th of august a cultural evening was also held where a local dance and music group showcased their traditional heritage and we ended up dancing and singing with the group. the staff and service was exemplary and all are needs were fulfilled. we went on long walks to the river admiring the nature all around. there are places to visit near the resort as well such as McLeodganj(where one can shop and visit his holiness dalai lama's monastery) ,tea gardens,palampur (where we went swimming in the river),dharamsala cricket ground, norbulingka institute,etc.. basic services such as television and internet are available and there is carrom and chess for kids as well. the hosts are extremely welcoming. all in all we had an amazing stay at citadel resort!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2013
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TheCitadelResorts, General Manager at The Citadel Resorts
Responded 30 Aug 2013
Dear Mr Mittal, It was a pleasure to have you with us at The Citadel Resorts,Jiyal. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your time at the Resort and the team right across was able to delight you with the small touches that we try and do for our guests. Thank you for your positive comments. We look forward to more visits from you with us. Thanking You With warm Regards Rajat Chauhan 094188-79512
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from classicmale
Ahmedabad, India67 contributions27 helpful votes
It's too high.Bargain high.they will give @3000
V A wrote a tip Mar 2021
37 contributions8 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"higher floor rooms have better view but rooms are almost same"
Read full review
Ajay_Gokhale wrote a tip May 2018
Thane, India7 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms with valley view"
Read full review
Madhavi S wrote a tip May 2018
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Request for a room with a balcony and not the basement"
Read full review
Prasanta D wrote a tip Mar 2018
United Kingdom88 contributions64 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"small 20 room hotel with vast open areas and most have clear views of nature on more than 1 side"
Read full review
santoshh wrote a tip Jan 2017
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India77 contributions15 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Choose second floor valley facing room."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Badsar area.
PRICE RANGE
₹2,416 - ₹2,749 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaHimachal PradeshKangra DistrictBadsar
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE CITADEL RESORTS (Badsar) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Citadel Resorts
Which popular attractions are close to The Citadel Resorts?
Nearby attractions include Chamunda Nandikeshwar Temple (4.7 km), Chamunda Devi Temple of Devi (4.7 km), and Saurabh Van Vihar (7.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Citadel Resorts?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Citadel Resorts?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at The Citadel Resorts?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at The Citadel Resorts?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Citadel Resorts?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cliffy's Cafe, The Terrace, and Neugal Cafe.
Does The Citadel Resorts have airport transportation?
Yes, The Citadel Resorts offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Citadel Resorts located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Badsar.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Citadel Resorts?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Citadel Resorts?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Citadel Resorts?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
FlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire