We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Master Builder's House Hotel

Save
Share
Buckler’s Hard, Bucklers Hard, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO42 7XB England
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (467)
Room & Suite (105)
Dining (52)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-out
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
With its stunning location in the New Forest overlooking the Beaulieu River, this historic hotel at Buckler's Hard offers a relaxing stay of quirky but affordable luxury. Tuck into a pint and a snack in the Yachtsman's Bar & Gardens, or treat yourself to a sumptuous meal in the Riverside Restaurant. Most importantly, relax and enjoy every minute of your time with us.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Hiking
Horseback riding
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Fishing
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
1409Reviews15Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 598
  • 394
  • 249
  • 110
  • 58
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
travelguru05 wrote a review 20 May
Sherborne, United Kingdom14 contributions3 helpful votes
We had a one night stay here.On arrival we received a warm welcome and were shown to our room- the "cosy "room which is situated in the main house.There were some very nice welcome touches - such as a small complimentary bottle of gin and tonic, fresh milk, local biscuits tea etc. The biggest drawback of this room however is its access- very steep stairs with threadbare carpet, a poorly lit staircase, and very heavy fire doors to open.As read in a previous review, this has passed a fire inspection but I would have been very concerned that in the event of a fire some people would find it very difficult. The view from the very small window is of the roof of the kitchen. The water supply is also slow .Although this is the cheapest room to book I do think that there should be an advisory note re its access, and bearing everything in mind think that the room is expensive for what is offered. On a more positive note, the hotel's location is lovely, service was good and all of the staff very pleasant . The bar is convivial and we enjoyed the excellent local beers. We had an enjoyable evening meal - the risotto was particularly good. Breakfast was average for a hotel of this standard.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
JanJEG wrote a review 16 May
Stockbridge, United Kingdom10 contributions3 helpful votes
We booked a table in your river view restaurant to celebrate a special day with special American friends and I have to say it is the worst dining experience I have ever encountered, what made it worse was that we no option to get up and go somewhere else. There was an excess of staff but no one appeared to be in charge, the wrong wine was brought then when the correct white wine arrived if hadn’t even seen a chiller and was sat in an ice bucket with three cubes of ice so was extremely warm, a member of the kitchen team walked past our table and shouted ‘ohi’ along the length of the restaurant to get the attention of a member of staff, no finger bowls then when a second bowl was requested for the moules it was banged down on the table, prawns in shells in boiling oil so hot I scolded fingers trying to shell them, the tips of my fingers are still sensitive three days later, large amount of dirt under a storage unit by wall, which was obvious to us all, moules were luke warm in a bowl of liquid with no bread to soak the liquid up, the restaurant was only half set up and the area behind our table was used as a storage area and where a member of staff was being shown how to fold napkins whilst we ate. I could go on! We had the choice of ruining our special day by getting up and leaving or staying and making the best of an extremely disappointing occasion. We can now laugh and joke about our experience but we will never be repeating it. £250 for an occasion to forget.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
KateLondon_9 wrote a review 9 May
London, United Kingdom1391 contributions478 helpful votes
Lovely stay in the annex of this lovely hotel. Room was recently refurbished and it was very nicely done. Meal in hotel was delicious. Breakfast was also excellent. Great stay and would definitely return. Nice area for walks right by bucklers hard.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Sue U wrote a review 4 May
4 contributions
We got married here on 22nd April and we cannot thank the staff for making our day so special it was the best. The accommodation and venue were stunning the grounds and views are breath taking. This venue was so special to us for our big day. The food was amazing, staff were so helpful and accommodating. Thanks to Claire and here team For all there help. I would definitely recommend this venue to anyone for a wedding or function or just a lovely evening meal and drinks. Thank you all for our special day. Sue and Stu Dean
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Curiosity297990 wrote a review 3 May
Wiltshire, United Kingdom1 contribution
We stayed s as a party of 11 in 6 rooms to celebrate my mums 80th birthday. In all our dealings with the hotel in advance, sorting out types of rooms, menu choices,etc, the staff could not have been more helpful. On arrival we wanted to start with a birthday cake and some tea, the staff were so helpful in setting up a large table for us and helping with plates, knife, etc. Our evening meal was enjoyed by everyone. Throughout the event I don’t think the team at the hotel could have been more helpful and most importantly my mum felt she has enjoyed the celebration that she had hoped for. Me thanks to all the staff and a particular shout out to Sally whose help and communication skills through contributed to our enjoyable stay. Oh and it’s also in a great location with stunning views over the river!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Helpful
Share
enileuqcaJ P wrote a review 2 May
West Sussex50 contributions36 helpful votes
Like the Curate's Egg The Master Builder's is good - in parts. It has a lovely, quiet situation on the river with lovely views. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted. The rooms are well appointed with fluffy towels and good quality mattresses and linen befitting a higher rated hotel. A nice touch is a vintage style radio playing quietly in your room upon arrival and a mini bottle of a local speciality gin, a small can of tonic in the room fridge and a very sensible small bottle of fresh milk as well as all the usual tea, coffee and locally made biscuits to welcome you. However of the Luxury rooms, of which there are 4, 3 are situated above the pub part of this hotel, which means some noise from customers there until the pub closes and from the piped music which begins quite early in the mornings. Also, from rooms in the attic above, given that it is a very old building, means more additional noise by the very fact that the old place creaks - a lot! If this is likely to be a problem then the rooms in the annex would be a better bet for a good night's sleep albeit there is no view from these. The best room is room 20 (Luxury) for the stunning dual aspect view. The 1 AA rosette is indicative of good pub grub. Sadly though the actual restaurant is uninspiring. Breakfasts were good, individually cooked to order, but the waiting time was a good 20 mins! This could be easily improved if your cooked order was taken along with your tea/coffee order when you first sit down. We were dismayed however when we returned from a long walk on a lovely sunny evening and wanted to sit on the terrace with a drink to enjoy the remaining sunshine (having already booked a late dinner in the restaurant) we were told we were not allowed to have a drink on the terrace, only food, in case non-residents saw us!??? Isn't the whole point of being resident that you can avail yourselves of the facilities? We were told we could sit outside the pub on pub benches, where the general public are accommodated and where there was also a haring breeze from the river! No thank you. The resident's lounge at this time, given that it is quite small, was full. I understand that some changes are in the pipeline, I certainly hope that this will be one of them because this place could have a lot going for it if it could make up it's mind whether it is an hotel or a pub with rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Elaine A wrote a review Apr 2022
Salisbury, United Kingdom20 contributions3 helpful votes
My choice for my 80th birthday - a reunion of our family for the weekend. We chose this hotel because of its wonderful location. Staff excellent and accommodated our requirements for our party of eleven. We enjoyed visiting the old cottages and the Maritime Museum was brilliant. Food was excellent, and we all enjoyed the varied menu. Be aware that the hotel is genuinely old, with steps because of the different levels across the building. The main staircase is imposing, and it does have handrails to assist those with mobility problems (would be better if the large items at the foot of the stairs were moved forward slightly to allow people to reach the bottom without having to let go of the rail when descending the last few stairs). Sally was really helpful, and all the members of staff were friendly, pleasant and willing. Thank you for helping us to enjoy a wonderful family get together.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Anne L wrote a review Apr 2022
Solihull, United Kingdom17 contributions3 helpful votes
We self catered in the Old Telephone Exchange half a mile away with our young dog and walked down to the Master Builders most evenings, twice stopping to eat. The food and wine were first rate and the staff were exceptionally accommodating and friendly , both to us and the dog. We had dinner in a private room with a beautiful view😍. We wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this lovely place, and Bucklers Hard is just beautiful. We have fallen in love !
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Jo B wrote a review Apr 2022
2 contributions
This is a stunning setting we chose for a couples getaway, unfortunately we left feeling rather underwhelmed with our experience, the rooms are very nice, it has everything you need for a short stay, it’s clean, modern and comfortable , the complementary gin and shortbread was a nice touch. The bar was a bit of a disaster, on a busy Saturday there was one staff member, it took forever to get served, later that night (10 pm) they actually pulled a roller shutter down and left, we were then told rather flippantly by a staff member that we should come and find them if we wanted a drink, as there were several guest staying that night who were using the bar this was just bizarre . We ate in the main restaurant that night and again for breakfast, one member of staff kept addressing us as “hey guys”, which was irritating and inappropriate as we quite clearly the same age as his parents and some, there were lots of silly little mistakes like bringing our chosen corked bottle of wine to the table but then not opening it, not removing unneeded starter plates and glasses from the table, at breakfast one full English turned up without an egg, when it came back it had the addition of black pudding, which two of us hadn’t been given, this seemed to be a common theme as people on other tables didn’t seem to have the same items either despite ordering a full English, the plate size was enormous with very little breakfast on them, it was a juggling act on the table because of their size and a normal size plate would be better in relation to the size of the tables, one of us asked for tea and just received a cup full, no pot, it was just all a bit farcical. Then at check out as we had booked via booking.com this caused no end of problems with the payment, and we were told if we had booked direct this wouldn’t have been an issue, but yet the hotel subscribes to this site, we were then charged for an additional room by mistake, but we were then told it would take a few days to refund this so instead we put the extra towards restaurant charges and were then over charged an extra £45, and again advised of a refund delay, we drove away feeling we had just stayed at Faulty Towers. It’s a shame as we wouldn’t return now or go on recommend it unless the service across the board was vastly improved.
Read more
Helpful
Share
Paul W wrote a review Apr 2022
Brighton, United Kingdom34 contributions15 helpful votes
Always wanted to visit this area and this hotel was a great place to base ourselves, lovely staff, well laid out room and comfortable. Food good but a little expensive for what you get, wine very expensive. Beautiful beautiful all’s and views of the river and a great museum on the doorstep
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Garrett, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you very much for the feedback regarding your recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your overall stay with us, and we really hope to see you again soon in the near future. Kind Regards Chris Garrett
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$175 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
master builders hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHampshireNew Forest National Park HampshireBucklers Hard
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Master Builder's House Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Master Builder's House Hotel?
Nearby attractions include New Forest Activities (3.8 km), Beaulieu National Motor Museum (3.7 km), and Beaulieu Palace House (3.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Master Builder's House Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Master Builder's House Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at The Master Builder's House Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Master Builder's House Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Master Builder's House Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Beaulieu Bakehouse, The Terrace Restaurant, and Monty's Inn.
Is The Master Builder's House Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Bucklers Hard.
Are pets allowed at The Master Builder's House Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Master Builder's House Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to The Master Builder's House Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Beaulieu Palace House (3.0 km), Buckler's Hard (0.01 km), and Calshot Castle (7.3 km).
Does The Master Builder's House Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.