We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wicked Wee Dump Near the Hump

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tuatapere
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Wicked Wee Dump Near the Hump
Add a photo
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

20 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 20: English reviews
Start your review of Wicked Wee Dump Near the Hump
 Click to rate
Reviewed 14 February 2017

We stayed here for just the one night before our Humpridge adventure. We arrived late but Janice was so very welcoming. We had a lovely bath under the stars which was just gorgeous. I cannot rate the breakfast highly enough...freshly stewed apricots, cereals, toast, bread, thick yoghurt...all divine. We packed up the homemade slice Janice had made, and ate it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine H
HumpTrack, Owner at Wicked Wee Dump Near the Hump, responded to this review

It is recommended not to use names so ill just have to say a very big thank you C&G for writing this awesome review. You know how much we love to have positive feedback, by reading some of the previous reviews. I feel I am saying the same thing back in my response to every review. However at the time...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed here the night before we started the Humpridge Track (the drive to the trailhead from the Wicked Wee Dump is Approx 20/25 minutes). What a lovely little place! A lot of thought has been put into making this chalet really homely & comfortable, really well decorated. The bed was also absolutely fantastic & so comfortable. Breakfast was included...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank missechsinclair
HumpTrack, Owner at Wicked Wee Dump Near the Hump, responded to this review

That is such a nice review thank you. Also great to read your positive reviews on the Hump Ridge Track and the Last Light Lodge. Drainage all done lol. P.Nut and Janice W.W.D

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 5 January 2017

We stayed a night before taking on the hump ridge trail. The Wee Dump was fantastic and is probably the closest jumping off point for the Hump. Janice sent us off in the morning with some great date cake for the trail and stored out bags while we were away. It's a great place after the track too - as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
HumpTrack, Owner at Wicked Wee Dump Near the Hump, responded to this review

To both of you, thank you for your review. Oh dear the last comment about the tired calves. If thats all you had you did very well. Considering you took on the Hump Ridge with very little tramping experience. The new kit must have helped. Take care Janice and P.Nut W.W.D.

Toowoomba
Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

This has to be one of our best B&B finds ever! We stayed here the night before and after walking the Humpridge Track and it was perfect. Comfy bed, heaps of toiletries to choose from, home baked treats on arrival, a sweet little kitchen, sewing kit and nurofen to repair gear and bodies post walking..... And the breakfast was huge,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scc749
HumpTrack, Owner at Wicked Wee Dump Near the Hump, responded to this review

Holy! We can't thank you both enough for your review, with all of those complements. It is such a relief to hear back from people saying they have felt comfortable while staying at the Dump. Very tidy guests!!! Loved having you stay Hope you enjoyed your catch up with your friend in Queenstown. Thank you again Janice and P.Nut (Trevor)...

Moncton, Canada
Reviewed 18 May 2016

I had such a wonderful stay, I'm a bit late reviewing as my stay was 6 months ago now, but the experience is still fresh in my mind, it was soo wonderfull! Janice and P.nut were so gracious and friendly, felt at home right away. Such a warm welcome, without being invasive in the least. the perfect hosts!! such a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sophielofytab
HumpTrack, Owner at Wicked Wee Dump Near the Hump, responded to this review

Wow Sophie, What a blast from the past from the little Canadian girl called Sophie [ our granddaughters name] with boyfriend Blair [our sons name] and hairy dog buddy [Jack our cute hairy dog buddy] . So exciting to receive your awesome review and hear that NZ memories are fresh in your mind. Thank you. It was a pleasure having...

Alexandra, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 January 2016

We loved this wicked wee dump. We came for one night and stayed for two. You receive very special service from Janice. Loved the home baking and additional treats from her kitchen. The cabin had a very homely feel with lots of little luxuries for you to try. The decor is befitting of a house magazine. It has a great...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jen214
HumpTrack, Owner at Wicked Wee Dump Near the Hump, responded to this review

Happy that you picked The Dump to end up at on Kevin's mystery night away. The golf coarse is nice, even if its just to go for a walk . The day you went home our daughters partner and our son enjoyed a days fishing just up the river from where you went Kevin. They did a bit of catching...

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 7 November 2015

There is nothing dump-ish about this super special small place - it has absolutely everything your heart desires in a tiny space! We stayed here both before and after our hike on the Hump Ridge Track, and so glad we did. Janice and P.Nut are so friendly and welcoming, and with lovely baked goods on arrival, and a fantastic breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MichelleC42
HumpTrack, Owner at Wicked Wee Dump Near the Hump, responded to this review

"We loved our stay" those words are great to see. Thank you for that amazing review. Sorry that I wasn't here to greet you when you arrived back from the track. P.Nut rang and told me you were back, settled in and had taken advantage of the bath. I have never walked the track but if I did there is...

Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Reviewed 7 April 2015 via mobile

An amazing stay on this little cozy cabin. Janice is brilliant at making you feel at home.!try the outdoor bath if you feel brave enough. The only suggestion I would make is to place a sign outside in the road as it can be difficult to find at night.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank smackinlay
HumpTrack, Owner at Wicked Wee Dump Near the Hump, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing us and our Wee Dump. Thank you also for choosing to stay with us. I like your heading, after going up and down the road a couple of times I guess it was a Real find. Hope the rest of your holiday went well. Janice W.W.D

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 March 2015

We stayed here for 2 nights after doing the Humpridge Track, what a find it was just so amazing ,I fell out of the car into the glorious outdoor bath that Janice filled to the top with radox for me after Stumping the Hump! The Wee cottage is gorgeous and Janice has thought of everything you could want, it is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Donna578
HumpTrack, Owner at Wicked Wee Dump Near the Hump, responded to this review

Stump the Hump sounds like heaps of fun ( something I will never experience) . You both looked tired when you came home, but didn't take long to bounce back. After I have posted this response I am going to email the recipe for the cake. Not to horrible is it ! A couple of pieces have slipped through my...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 March 2015

We recently stayed here after doing the Humpridge Track, what a find it was just amazing ,The out door bath is awesome for those tired limbs.The Wee cabin is so cute and the breakfast was delicious!!!!! Thank you so much Janice we loved it all ,and hope to return. Debbie and Chris

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank debbie438
HumpTrack, Owner at Wicked Wee Dump Near the Hump, responded to this review

Debbie and Chris, Great to receive your review on trip adviser. Would be great if you were able to come back at some time. I thought after you left that you may have liked to go up the Lillburn Valley, that might be part of the next trip. Loved our talk in the morning (think we could do well in...

3 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Visit us for the ultimate cosy B&B experience. We have a self contained studio unit, suitable for a couple or one person. Continental breakfast included in the tariff. Kitchen, shower, toilet, alfresco bath, queen-sized bed & all linen provided. Nearest accommodation to Bluecliffs beach & the Hump Ridge track. Just 2km from Tuatapere. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wicked Wee Dump Near the Hump

Address: Papatotara Road | RD1, Tuatapere 9691, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Tuatapere
Price Range: ₹ 4,452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wicked Wee Dump Near the Hump staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Wicked Wee Dump Near the Hump staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There is only one unit so book early as this place gets booked out quickly.”
debbie438, 4 Mar 2015 | Read review
1 of 1