We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Barfung Retreat

Traveller (392)
Room & Suite (92)
Dining (13)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
11 rooms are housed in 3 separate cottages. Separate entry with balcony. All rooms are furnished with good linen and 10 inches spring mattress. Attached spacious toilets with warm and hot water. Rooms are floored with wood. Wall are also wood paneled. Heaters provided if required. TV on demand. Rooms are provided with tea makers and accessories.
Read more
Property amenities
Room service
Free parking
Restaurant
Breakfast included
Airport transportation
Breakfast Available
Multilingual Staff
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room features
Family Rooms
Smoking rooms available
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Great View

Location

Full view
141Reviews
414Photos
3Q+A
40Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 93
  • 35
  • 6
  • 4
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This hotel could be great, but it is terribly managed. There was no water for 3 hours in the morning. The manager did not seem at all sorry, say sorry or offer any discount. He was rude and arrogant and almost had a fist fight with our driver. The property employs child bengali
Read more
Response from TheBarfungRetre... R, Guest Relations Manager at The Barfung Retreat
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Sir, it is always sad to know that you have experienced these things. However, I wanted to make clear that our staffs are all educated and have attained the age of 18 and knows English and Hindi as they have their work experience of 4-5 years in places like Gujarat and Pondicherry. We are surprised to know how you even know that our common language is Hindi as we have been running our retreat for so many years and we have thousands of guests who came and spoke either English or Hindi. Again, we are in a very offbeat destination and we advise you to please be considerate with the amenities and facilities as this is not a luxury resort. People come here to meditate, birdwatching and to relax in the lap of nature and to find peace of mind, though they know about the limitations of staying in such an offbeat place. People who come here must be considerate about not getting 5-star property services and facilities which we believe you had and didn't turn out well. Also, we wanted to request you to be at least respect the place and abide by the local values and sentiments of the staffs wherever you travel. That would make a good person. However we don't have any personal grudge with you, you can visit again so that we can serve you better. Thank you for the precious time you have taken to write us a review. We appreciate that a lot.
Read more
+1
Based on my stay at the Barfung Retreat in December 2015, I didn’t think twice this time around. Though the resort is still picturesque and the rooms neat/spacious, the hospitality and overall service provided was appalling. Room - spacious, neat and comfortable. Each cottage
Read more
Haning stayed there for a full week I think The barfung retreat has some plus points and some minuses too, but it all depends upon the mindset of the visitors. From my point of view, + clean, warm room, good linen, 24hrs hot water, clean bathroom, room heater when outside
Read more
An excellent, family friendly place. The staff are very friendly, helpful and will go out of their way to make your stay trouble free (our car wouldn't start on the last day and the staff lent a hand with a push and a shove!). The food is good and plentiful. The roads in South
Read more
This Barfung Retreat have the most amazing service with friendly staffs who are like families. They sung for us at the bon-fire. Manager Sandipan is very helpful. The property is overall heaven in the Himalaya. I recommend it to all who loves off beat destination. The most
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Family and Play AreasBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Room
View of the mountains and forest from the patio
Stunning view from the main building.
The honeymoon suite is huge and has a private deck.
PreviousNext
12345619
No.. very strongly I suggest to book an alternate place. I was travelling with a 3 year old, and the one night I spent was a nightmare. I actually decided to forego the second night booking money as well and decided to move to another place . I would not recommend this place at all. They are not a child friendly place at all
1 vote
Show all answers
We stayed in the upper floor rooms. If you are taking the middle cottage then the lower floor rooms are much better. Only two cotteges have lower floor rooms. This place is near Sikim NIT college. You can contact 8906120938 nawang for Innova 4500- 5000 from NJP to Barfung. Or you can contact 7872884993 Milan Bolero Max Namchi Car
0 votes
Show all answers
TV available without extra cost,but sometimes because of weather you could face disturbance
0 votes
""Suite Room and Deluxe Room are the best with huge balcony"."
"Ask for a view! All the rooms have one!"
"Suit Room - M1"
"Any of the cottages can be taken- or take the suite room where you will have teh luxury of a veranda over-viewing the Mystic Mountains."
"Rooms are too good .. "
PreviousNext
1234568
PRICE RANGE
US$ 38 - US$ 60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaSikkimSouth SikkimRavangla
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing