We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Travelodge Gateshead

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Travelodge Gateshead
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

285 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 284: English reviews
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

The girls and I stayed here on 19th/20th November. The staff were very nice and the rooms were exceptionally clean, comfy beds and spotless bathroom. The only thing was we had our doors open as we were across the corridor from each other. We weren't noisy at all but had been asked to close them :(

Helpful?
1 Thank Travel0vers
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff were all really friendly and always happy to help. We paid for dial a drink which took the money and never showed up, when we rang they laughed at us down the phone so security tried to help. Great location 15 walk from metro centre, 10 min drive from newcastle centre. Loads of food places outside the hotel

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank racheljH6034BM
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel was very good value for money, perfect location for a night of eating out and a couple of drinks and visiting metro as just along the road. Very clean, spacious and staff were extremely welcoming and helpful.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank Jax802015
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just got back from yet another great stay at this hotel, the staff are always very friendly and helpful and do not treat you like a customer but more of a friend as they make sure you feel really welcome. I have been coming to this hotel for a few years now and to be honest I would always stay... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank Michael W
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a late booking and an amazing price was offered, with cancellation up to lunchtime on the same day! Good facilities nearby and a great location for shopping and sightseeing. Hotel basic but clean, staff friendly and welcoming-all in all a great basic hotel which does what it says on the tin! Would defo recommend and would visit again!!

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank Heather C
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Gateshead, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We’re so pleased to learn that you enjoyed our friendly, welcoming staff service as much as you enjoyed the location of our hotel as this is what we like to see. We’ll be happy to provide your comments to the hotel as this is the best way to help give the best service possible to... More 

Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very uncomfortable beds and excessive noise from Stag/Hen groups. They should put a warning that at weekends they accept such bookings, especially when booking a family room. I certainly wouldn't stay at this Travelodge again. 😟

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Henry Bruce W
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Gateshead, responded to this review

Your comments are greatly appreciated and thank you for taking the time for reviewing our Gateshead hotel. We're sorry to hear that your experience with us was affected by noise of other guests and did not lead to a peaceful sleep. We strive to provide a comfortable night’s sleep for all of our customers, and we are sorry that on... More 

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at the travelodge on the 10th November to the 12th excellent customer service from Justine would definitely recommend this hotel easy to get to the metro centre and Newcastle city centre . Clean and tidy free car park nice room hope to see Justine again when I come back thanks travelodge !!

Helpful?
2 Thank mpmcgrath69
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Gateshead, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback about our team member Justine. It will give us great pleasure in passing your kind comments onto our hotel team and we thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. We do hope you choose to visit Travelodge again soon. More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

ideal for shopping and restaurants, the skiff inn has delicious food , two minute walk away the staff were very friendly , a lovely place to eat . frankie and bennie breakfast was lovely , good selection

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank J3755AOlindam
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Gateshead, responded to this review

May we thank you for sharing your recent experience of our Gateshead Travelodge with us and taking the time to write your review. We are pleased to learn you were happy with the Hotel’s location and that your overall experience was a positive one. We aim to offer our guests great value stays in comfortable surroundings and we are happy... More 

Whitehaven, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Wound not recommend this hotel for a disabled person, totally unacceptable in these modern times. Disabled twin room - no handrails/grab rails in the bedroom, small bed, the bed was only 2.6 wide (adult is a size 12), support alarm other side of the room. Bed was in front of windows so you had to climb over the bed to... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Q8566GMsandrac
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Gateshead, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are really sorry to hear that you had many issues during your stay with us. We strive to offer the best service possible for our guests so please accept our apologies that we did not succeed in doing so on this occasion. We have passed on your feedback to... More 

merseyside
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Not much wrong with this place. I would highly recommend it. It's 10 minutes walk from the Metro centre, and has decent links to Newcastle. The room are like new and the breakfast very good. There is on site parking and the service at reception excellent.

Helpful?
2 Thank MrTwonky
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Gateshead, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are so pleased to hear that you were happy with the location of the Hotel and that your overall experience was a positive one. Your feedback is invaluable and a copy of your comments will be passed to the Hotel Manager. Thank you once again... More 

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swalwell
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel
0.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#18 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
633 reviews
0.7 km away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
4.5 km away
Premier Inn Newcastle - Team Valley
5.6 km away
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Travelodge Gateshead

Address: Clasper Way, Swalwell, Gateshead NE16 3BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead > Swalwell
Price Range: ₹ 3,085 - ₹ 6,992 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Gateshead 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Gateshead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Gateshead Hotel Swalwell
Travelodge Hotel Gateshead
Travelodge Hotel Swalwell
Travelodge Newcastle Upon Tyne
Travel Lodge Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Travel Lodge
Newcastle Upon Tyne Travelodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Gateshead staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Cramlington, United Kingdom
over a year ago
England, United Kingdom
Glasgow, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Gateshead staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't get a room overlooking the KFC drive thru.”
 of 5 bubbles JonM761, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor Near Reception if walking is a problem.”
 of 5 bubbles Waterworks_traveller, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
“easy for a nightout in newcastle £10 in a taxi great !!”
 of 5 bubbles oskaruby5, 22 May 2016 | Read review
“Or room had a lovely view of the Tyne (I think)”
 of 5 bubbles KeithB561, 29 Mar 2016 | Read review
“All rooms seem ok.”
 of 5 bubbles 286simonh, 10 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay