We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

767 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 746: English reviews
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

Excellent stay at Bowden Hall. Staff very friendly and helpful. Food to a very high standard with a slight change in menu each nigh which made it more interesting. Hotel has been decorated to a modern design. Room large very quiet and airy. Overall no complaints.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clive615
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Clive615 We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of...

Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Stayed for two nights at this characterful hotel which has refurbished public rooms and stylish dining room. However for a 4 star hotel the rooms were a little disappointing in comparison and bathroom was very dated although everything provided and the room was comfortable and clean. Lots of items were missing at breakfast and had to request various cooked items...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Angela Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on trip advisor following your stay at Bowden Hall Hotel. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our recent refrublishment of the public areas and the stylish dinning area. This was the second phase of a three phase refrublishment and we were hoping to start the bedroom...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2016

We stayed on a Saturday night on a secret escape deal, it was very good value, the room was on the 4th floor and quite large, there was no lift, but they offered to take our bags up for us, but we managed ok, the food was really good and dinner and breakfast, we found all the staff friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tina G
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tina G We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality...

Hastings, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Before I start I will say that the hotel manager was helpful when we complained on check out ,we had complained at reception the day before with no result, they agreed that deliveries should not be that early and noise unacceptable , nothing changed. When we arrived at this hotel it was nice to see the downstairs area had been...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tony b
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear tony b Thank you for taking the time to write a review for your stay with us in September. We were sorry to read that you were disturbed by noise each morning and since your review we have issued emails out to try and prevent any further disturbances which may occur. We were pleased however that you experienced a...

Wellington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

The pictures of the hotel attracted us to book and the hotel is indeed picturesque with very attractive gardens. However I would not recommend the hotel for those with disabilities. There are no lifts and the rooms can be far away from reception. The rooms are basic with poor ventilation. The Sash windows will not stay open and the beds...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pokertom
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear pokertom Thank you for your comments from your stay in September. We were glad that you found our hotel to be both picturesque and surrounded by attractive gardens. We have 12 acres here for exploring and full of local wildlife. With regards to your comments about not being accessible for disabled guests, we can advise that although we do...

Tadley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

Had a weekend away recently here.Nice quiet location.Room comfortable but not 4 star.Bed & bathroom ok.Definitely some areas of this hotel that need a spruce up. However the restaurant and dining does not - i understand that these have recently been done.Super food and immaculate service from all members of staff. Ate in the restaurant both evenings..faultless. As was the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mike S Thank you for your comments from your stay with us in September. We were glad to read that you were comfortable and that you enjoyed the peacefulness of where we are situated. We had our public areas renovated in the Summer and our bedrooms are due for refurbishment some time in the near future. I will pass...

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2016

We have had an excellent two night stay. The staff are wonderful, attentive but not in your face! The hotel has recently been decorated. The colours and interior design is very calming. The lounge is a lovely place to sit and read the paper or chill with champagne and friends! There is a good menu choice. The food is well...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank djsouth
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear djsouth We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of...

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel early Sept 2016 for 1 night. It was rather hard to find going up a very narrow road for a few miles. Once found, there is a large car park and grounds leading to a wooded area and pond. Inside doesn't match the English facade as it has been done to a modern boudoir reception....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cheerieone
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear cheerieone Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us in September. We were pleased to read that you were comfortable during your stay and that you were met by our friendly and helpful team Our refurbishment has generally been met with very positive reviews since it's completion in early July and we...

Reviewed 16 September 2016

We had an excellent one-night stay at this hotel and wish it could have been for longer. The biggest asset this hotel has is its staff. Reception staff were friendly, professional and efficient and dealt with a slight room problem efficiently and quickly. Restaurant and bar staff were equally good and made us feel very welcome, this was when the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank WH56
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear WH56 We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of...

Somerset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2016

The staff here are amazing, cheerful, helpful and efficient, they actually want you to be here. The hotel is set in large open well kept grounds well away from any public roads so it is ideal for dogs as well as humans. The interior of the main original hall has just been refurbished creating a series of soft calm spaces...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul D We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality...

175 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (148)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton St Leonards
7.8 km away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
789 reviews
2.2 km away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
1,507 reviews
2.0 km away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
33 reviews
12.3 km away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
640 reviews
27.0 km away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
2,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Classically-styled country house hotel with Regency decor; amenities for business & leisure guests; situated on beautiful grounds. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel

Address: Bondend Lane Bondend Road, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Upton St Leonards
Price Range: ₹ 5,809 - ₹ 9,959 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Upton St Leonards
Ramada Hotel Bowden Hall
Ramada Gloucester
Gloucester Ramada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 months ago
London, United Kingdom
Perth, Australia
Crawley, United Kingdom
4 months ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room facing the front, there is no lift for people with mobility problems.”
mama29772, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“No lift rooms with a view are best Premium rooms are not worth the extra it is a long way to the 4th floor”
retiredDerbyshire, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“No lift so if stairs are an issue request first floor with a view.”
701joec, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“South Westerly facing rooms have a better view.”
T5251WZstevew, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“You would have the best views from the top floor. Our room, 227, was on the first floor and was fine for a person with moderate disability.”
Anastasia901, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5