We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grassroots Wayanad, Valley-view Tents

Koilery Kunnu via Pinangode Pozhuthana Post, Kalpetta 673575 India
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (301)
Dining (27)
Room & Suite (17)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#6 of 31 guest houses in Kalpetta
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Grassroots is at the foothills of the Vythiri ranges with the majestic Chembra peak to the left and the Banasura/Kuruchermala to the right. The property straddles a tea estate and has a swift flowing river with a Pannia (a tribe found in Kerala & Tamil Nadu) colony at the edge of the river. Set on a three acre slope of coffee, areca nut and pepper, Grassroots overlooks the tea plantations planted during the colonial era. A quaint stream below forms a general area of activity for the scattered population of tribals and other residents. The Banasura range of mountains beyond completes the picture, making it truly magical. Accommodation is in Luxury Swiss tents, spacious and plush with every amenity that the discerning traveler would want.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Quaint
230Reviews6Q+A68Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 147
  • 60
  • 11
  • 4
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Vikram K wrote a review Aug 2023
Bangalore, India9 contributions3 helpful votes
1. Great location. Outskirts of Kalpetta. Close to the hills and tea estates. 2. Luxury tents pretty good. Had all facilities ac, tv, toilets etc. Very spacious and comfortable 3. Food good, but can have more options and quantity. Taste good 4. Ambience and hospitality - good. The staff are very helpful and hospitable Negatives. 1. Lot of monkeys in the property. Wasn't able to sit out and enjoy the property. 2. Overpriced for the kind of facilities and meals provided 3. Could have more activities and engagement options inside/ outside the property.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: 1. Lots of monkeys which could be a bit inconvenient 2. Explore the surrounding places near the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Arun wrote a review Feb 2023
Ooty (Udhagamandalam), India1 contribution
What else can I say but wow. Superlatives fall short of adequately capturing our experience at Grassroots. Vineeth thoroughly briefed us on everything, including the best places to see and how to reach them. Our Luxury Eco Tent exceeded all expectations by a long shot. It had a magnificent king bed, a stunning complete bathroom, a lounge area, and a dressing area. Every morning throughout our stay, a wonderful breakfast was also provided. The entire crew was outstanding. You must stay here if you can afford it.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rachel Ravi, General Manager at Grassroots Wayanad, Valley-view Tents
Responded 15 Feb 2023
Dear Sir, A welcome review indeed. Boutique properties as ours, especially one that does Glamping... Glamorous camping in the hills of Wayanad.. often get clientele whose expectations vary & are unhappy. We are delighted when our guests understand the concept & our ethos & allow themselves to submerge in the beauty of the land, the picturesque Tea, coffee, spice plantations we are in..the authentic Kerala cuisine we dish up & mostly our genuine hospitality. Our high end tents are not cottages or hotel rooms, but beautiful spaces with luxury & convenience for every well tuned traveller. Do visit our other 3 properties under the brand Red Earth in Tadoba, Gokarna and Kabini Warm regards Team Grassroots 8884733188 8884733500
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Abhinav wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
This is basically a cheap tenthouse for which they are charging hefty amount of money. Interestingly I found it so bad that today only I checked in but seeing the condition I want to make other people aware not to loose their hard earned money. The tenthouse has lot of insects including mosquitoes which makes your life hell...they have provided one mosquito repellent in the tent when asked for extra repellent they denied. 2) Light is too dim in the room. 3) Tent is at too much height making aged people very difficult to reach. 4) It is too far if you are coming from Bangalore in between you will find tremendous properties in Sultan Bathery, kalpetta etc. 5) AC is not working though weather does not demand it but when you are paying the money at least you should get all facilities. 6) Restaurant does not look like restaurant itself like how when we were child in school tables and chairs used to be their. 7) From the tent house to the restaurant distance is there it is very difficult to reach in night as proper lighting system is not there as well as proper stairs is also not there as I am accompanied by old age people they are finding this place very weird. 8) We are 3 people who have checked in for the third person they didn't even bother to provide Cot they have given a thin bedding put it on the floor and asked to sleep on that thin matress on the ground itself. Why the hell we should be paying such an amount if we have to sleep on the floor, such bad hospitality is not seen anywhere. 9) Now coming onto food served is ok type only. In breakfast they provided poori bhaji, bread jam and butter only so be ready to get shocked on this part also because they lack both quality and number of cuisines.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rachel Ravi, General Manager at Grassroots Wayanad, Valley-view Tents
Responded 15 Feb 2023
Dear Sir, Grassroots is a glamping property. A boutique unit with no frills & yet has had excellent feedback from our International as well as well travelled Indian clientele. However this is not a property suited for those who are looking at a typical hotel/resort. It is a choice one needs to make after reading thoroughly on a property & also keeping in mind what one is looking for in a holiday. For those who have enjoyed, this property has had 5 star reviews. For those who are not into nature & do not comprehend glamping, this is a wrong choice. And ofcourse when a refund is denied, negative reviews are to be expected. Which is sad on the team that works hard to make guests comfortable & happy.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Abhishek wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
A Smelly tent with NO Light inside the room, NO Amenity, NO food . You have to order food and wait for at least 1-2 hour.. Be careful when you visit with your family. There is no manager so don't expect much from helper. We left the property as we didn't find safe for kids. Please see recent review before booking. we have done mistake as Goibibo have give false review in website. Before COVID this Place might be good but this is my review. ONE more important thing i missed out.. 1. You don't expect anything from owner of the property .. He don't bother for all this this. He is not going to refund single rupee. 2. Goibibo website is for booking the site and surely not for solving the problem. They clearly said we can't help on this, Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: smelly room, No light,
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rachel Ravi, General Manager at Grassroots Wayanad, Valley-view Tents
Responded 15 Feb 2023
Dear Sir, Grassroots is a glamping property. A boutique unit with no frills & yet has had excellent feedback from our International as well as well travelled Indian clientele. However this is not a property suited for those who are looking at a typical hotel/resort. It is a choice one needs to make after reading thoroughly on a property & also keeping in mind what one is looking for in a holiday. For those who have enjoyed, this property has had 5 star reviews. For those who are not into nature & do not comprehend glamping, this is a wrong choice. And ofcourse when a refund is denied, negative reviews are to be expected. Which is sad on the team that works hard to make guests comfortable & happy.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
MytravelTales20 wrote a review Dec 2020
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Grassroots offers a good camping like experience for one night with tent cottages almost in middle of a forest. Rooms were clean, but amenities and service were a huge put off. Water bottles looked very shabby and unclean. Caretaker came across as an arrogant person who wanted to avoid any extra effort than minimum. For even something as simple as tea for the breakfast, he would reluctantly say I'll see if I can provide. We were a group of 3 families and he wouldn't be willing to serve in separate groups, rather insist everyone comes at once. Given the location of property the experience could have been much better with few improvements like better service, and additions like campfire , nearby treks.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ravi redearth kabini, Owner at Grassroots Wayanad, Valley-view Tents
Responded 20 Feb 2021
The issues raised have been attended to We deeply regret the inconvenience caused Staff have been pulled up
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
WolfgangWuster wrote a review Nov 2019
Llanfairfechan, United Kingdom10 contributions3 helpful votes
This resort is a bit off the beaten track, which helps maintain an atmosphere of peace and serenity. Everything is built into a coffee estate, with a river at the bottom of the hill, and tea estates covering much of the neighbourhood. Accommodation is in luxury tents with quality bathrooms, plenty of power sockets and air con when needed. Things tend to smell a bit damp in the late rainy season - pretty much inevitable, I suspect. Food is served in a dining room, as a fixed menu during our stay. Choice was not there, but everything was both delicious and plentiful, served by helpful and friendly staff. Caveat: paths can be very slippery during the monsoon - watch your step! All in all, a great value for money stay in beautiful surroundings - highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ravi redearth kabini, Owner at Grassroots Wayanad, Valley-view Tents
Responded 28 Oct 2020
Dear Sir, We thank you for your choice of a holiday in Grassroots as well as your feedback. Please do visit our other 3 properties if the off-beat excites you Warm regards, Team Grassroots
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jerin S wrote a review Aug 2019
Jayankondam, India20 contributions
One of the weirdest stay you might ever have in Wayanad is in a luxury Swiss tent in a remote forest like area...Really sends chills down your spine on your first night here...It was a unique budgetary thrilling experience at Grassroots...They have no activities around and provide a limited food menu...It is also located quite off the road and it is tough to reach the place in night...But for the one of a kind experience the stay gives itz really worth a try...
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ravi redearth kabini, Owner at Grassroots Wayanad, Valley-view Tents
Responded 28 Oct 2020
Dear Madam, Grassroots is an experience of its kind. Set in the midst of a coffee & spice plantation, overlooking a beautiful river & acres of rolling Tea, with hills all around. We specialise in Glamping... glamorous camping. And have authentic tents but of a luxury that would stupefy most concrete structures The food.. we are proud to say, is curated for you to enjoy a variety from our Kerala Malabar cuisine to select few Indo-Chinese, mughalai & Continental. Our property is extremely well connected with tarred good roads. The hillock where we are situated houses the oldest Paniya tribes, and a kilometre away you have excellent schools, hospitals, places for sightseeing & shops. All our properties are known to be away from the noise & humdrum of daily life. We hope you will visit our other properties too, if you enjoy the quiet Warm regards, Team Grassroots
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Rupankar_G wrote a review Dec 2018
Bengaluru, India27 contributions12 helpful votes
+1
It was an amazing experience, absolutely floored with the property thats cosy within the fauna and foliage around. The place has awesome hospitality that includes a ever helpful staff named Harish. Need to visit this place to believe how good a place it is.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hema_Gopal1995, Manager at Grassroots Wayanad, Valley-view Tents
Responded 3 Jan 2019
Greetings from Grass Roots, Wayanad !!! thank you for your positive comments. Along with my team, we certainly looking forward to welcoming your return in the very near future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Rupesh G wrote a review Jun 2018
Vadodara, India1 contribution1 helpful vote
We we're lucky to stay over grassroots.amazing tents , kind people and lived within nature.. food is also awasome. Manager was so kind that we never fill that we were living in jungle. Affordable price,service is good.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Lavish Tent rooms
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hema_Gopal1995, Manager at Grassroots Wayanad, Valley-view Tents
Responded 4 Jul 2018
Greetings from Grass Roots, Wayanad !!! thank you for your positive comments. Along with my team, we certainly looking forward to welcoming your return in the very near future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sumon wrote a review May 2018
Bengaluru, India43 contributions25 helpful votes
Had an absolutely amazing stay in the midst of nature. Nestled in a quaint village, this place is ideal to connect you back with nature. The best part is that it houses only 5 tents which gives you enough privacy, and the staff is always available (and prompt) to cater to you. Prajwal and his staff add on to the whole experience. I would go back for more. Things to do in and around the property.. - Do nothing 🙂/ read a book - Stroll around the village (and tea estate nearby) - Try out fishing (just for the hang of it) - Bamboo rafting
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hema_Gopal1995, Manager at Grassroots Wayanad, Valley-view Tents
Responded 9 May 2018
Greetings from Grass Roots, Wayanad !!! thank you for your positive comments. Along with my team, we certainly looking forward to welcoming your return in the very near future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kalpetta area.
PRICE RANGE
₹3,923 - ₹5,259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaKeralaWayanad DistrictKalpetta
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GRASSROOTS WAYANAD, VALLEY-VIEW TENTS (Kalpetta, Kerala) - Guesthouse Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Grassroots Wayanad, Valley-view Tents
Which popular attractions are close to Grassroots Wayanad, Valley-view Tents?
Nearby attractions include Lakkidi View Point (11.5 km), Wayanad Tea Museum (1.7 km), and Karalad Lake (5.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Grassroots Wayanad, Valley-view Tents?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Grassroots Wayanad, Valley-view Tents?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Grassroots Wayanad, Valley-view Tents?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grassroots Wayanad, Valley-view Tents?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Coffee Grove Restaurant & Resorts - CG - Ala, Udupi Restaurant, and India Gate Resturant.