We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hackness Grange Country House Hotel

Traveller (156)
Room & Suite (101)
Dining (13)
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Hackness Grange is a 19th Century Grade II Georgian Manor that pairs period features with elegant style. Set in 17 acres of beautifully manicured grounds situated on the edge of the North York Moors. All our rooms have en-suite facilities and picturesque views of the gardens, lake and Yorkshire countryside. You can choose to stay in one of our traditionally decorated rooms in the main house, or in one of our contemporary decorated court yard rooms next to the old stables. You can enjoy an A-la-carte menu in the Derwent Restaurant or real gastro pub food in the 2325 Lounge where all our dishes are prepared using locally sourced ingredients. Our afternoon teas are served in the orangery overlooking the lake and the Johnstone Suite is used for weddings, events, conference meetings, painting, yoga and dance retreats/holidays Scarborough, Robin Hoods Bay, Whitby Abbey, Dalby Forest, Castle Howard, York the North York Moors and Railways are just some of the great places to visit.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Room Service
Wheelchair Access
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Meeting Rooms
Tennis Court
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Show more
Room features
Suites
Non-Smoking Rooms
Family Rooms
Accessible rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
Getting there
Durham Tees Valley Airport63 km
Humberside Airport80 km
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Reviews & more
722Reviews
285Photos
7Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 393
  • 183
  • 82
  • 40
  • 25
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
Such a lovely venue, building and grounds. A real treat and 5 star treatment. We had 2 rooms outside that were well appointed and the grandchildren loved the size of the place. Sadly we went after the heavy rain so could not enjoy the grounds to their full. Lovely breakfast room.
Read more
Response from Roger B, Owner at Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Responded yesterday
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. ~A shame about the weather, perhaps a good excuse to revisit us during the summer so that you can take advantage of our beautiful grounds as well as nearby facilities such as Go Ape at Dalby Forest. Regards Roger Brooks
Read more
After being informed that this was the venue for our end of year Christmas function (and decided we would have to stay overnight as a good 2 hours from home) i did some quick research online. 'Awesome' I thought. Lovely manor house set in beautiful grounds, this will be ace!

Now
Read more
Response from Roger B, Owner at Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Responded yesterday
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and I am very happy to read that you enjoyed the function, food and service. Certainly the staff went out of their way to make sure you and the baby were comfortable throughout the stay with us. I have checked the room you stayed in and whilst it is one of the rooms that has not yet gone through a refurbishment, we have a regular long staying contractor in the room during the weekday and they have not raised any complaint about the shower. Yes, there is no 'power shower' however for an old Manor House the shower is sufficient. I am sorry that you felt that the staff at breakfast where rude when they politely asked you to move table, however the area you sat in was not for breakfast. As an old listed building that is slowly going through renovations, I can only apologise that you were not happy and perhaps if you had said something at the time as opposed to going on trip advisor after you had left it would have given us the opportunity to change rooms.
Read more
Stayed here last night with a friend so we could attend an event in Hackness. The checking in was excellent as was the service we received from the young man who checked us in. I believe his name we Peter. My room was a double and was fine. My friends was a single room no 1. W
Read more
Response from Roger B, Owner at Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
HI, many thanks for taking the time to write your review. I am glad that you enjoyed the service offered by the team and that you found the food very good. I note your comment on Room 1 and I have passed your comments on to housekeeping. Thank you once again for writing your review. Roger Brooks
Read more
My wife and I stayed at this hotel to investigate as a possible venue for a club event next year. We were given a warm welcome and all the staff who looked after us were extremely polite and helpful.
Our room was comfortable and had views of the lake and surrounding woodlands and
Read more
Response from Roger B, Owner at Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Responded 5 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on your recent stay with us. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and I have passed on your kind words to the team. Regards Roger
Read more
+7
We attended a family wedding here on the 26th October and stayed over for one night in a family room.

Let me start with the good points.

We really enjoyed the wedding!

We arrived early and were absolutley starving and because of the wedding they weren't serving food. However a
Read more
Response from Roger B, Owner at Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Responded 3 Nov 2018
Thank you for your review and I am happy to read that you enjoyed the wedding and the food. For the benefit of other readers on trip advisor I do need to reply to the 'bad points': 1. Mobile phone network is outside the purview of the hotel. Most modern phones however are able to connect onto our free super-speed wifi and so be able to receive / make wifi calls. 2. The hotel was very busy with guests arriving, that said we do normally offer to assist to elderly guests or gests with needs with their luggage to their rooms. Your room was in the courtyard and this was explained to you how to get there. As a small country house hotel we are unable to show every guests to their room but offer to assist those with needs. 3. All the hotel rooms were checked prior to guest arrivals however spiders are able to find their way in and make their webs. If you had asked the hotel staff to assist in removing the spider then they would have done so. 4. You say there were slug trails all over the carpets in the waiting rooms. Lets clarify this, there was a small slug trail between the sofa and the wall in the lounge bar, hardly all over. You mention that there were cracked panes of glass with the danger of children running into them. Again lets put this into perspective. Out of the over 300 windows in the hotel the ONE cracked glass pane you refer to is behind a sofa in the lounge bar. 5. You asked the hotel to provide you with bedding for your baby travel cot. Unfortunately this is not the responsibility of the hotel to provide bedding for a baby. We would only provide a travel cot with a base bedsheet. Any other requirements are the responsibility of the parents, something which all parents would normally plan for. 5. Staff are unable to charge what they like for drinks as the prices are all programmed in the tills. The difference however can come between the two bars that do charge different prices between the lounge bar and function room bar. 6. At around midday you asked the staff to sterilise your baby bottle, which according the hotel manager looked as if it had seen better days, and then provide you with milk for it. Despite the manager saying no, its against hotel policy, you insisted and after much complaining by yourself the manager relented. You then came back to collect the bottle around 10pm that night. It is not the hotels responsibility to clean/sterilize baby bottles nor provide free milk. Most new parents make their own arrangements with the hotel by brining their own milk which we can keep in the fridge and certainly bring their own sterilising equipment and would not expect the hotel to do it. As to agreeing to compensate you for the bottle. Actually you had ordered a latte in restaurant and then insisted that that cost for that be used to offset the cost of your bottle. It was only to avoid another unpleasant scene with you that this was agreed to. 7. The heating had tripped out and guests were apologised to. Later checkout was offered to allow guests to shower etc. As you mentioned in your review there were electric radiators in your room, there as back up and to add additional warmth if required. 8. The hotel offers guests on a bed and breakfast rate a selection from the buffet as well as different teas and filter coffee. You asked however for a latte and were advised that there would be an additional charge, something most hotels would do. Knowing this and after ordering it you then used this to create the scene to avoid paying for it by insisting that the cost is offset against the baby bottle that you had accused the hotel of damaging. As I said, to avoid further disruption and scene in front of other guests the staff waivered the charge. 9. You then complain about the size of the full English and the fact that you have to toast your own bread letting the breakfast go cold. We find letting guests help themselves from the buffet and judge themselves how much toast they would like to eat themselves more popular though we do offer to assist guests if asked. Most guests also after placing their order go do their toast before the hot comes out not after. The hotel has responded to your complaints/numerous calls and have made the position clear. Veiled threats of negative reviews if compensation is not paid are not tolerated and are reported to tripadvisor when they do come in which I have done.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Business Centre & Event RoomsFamily and Play Areas
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorHackness Grange Country House Hotel
The Superior Double Room at the Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Oak tree in the beautiful grounds of the venue.
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorHackness Grange Country House Hotel
The Superior Double Room at the Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Previous
How often does the boiler trip and there is no hot water?
I am not quite sure what the question is. We stayed at the Hackness Grange hotel for several nights. We had one of the outside rooms, which was very comfortable and quiet and did not experience any problems at all.
0 votes
Show all answers
Do you have to eat in the Restaurant or do they do snacks in the lounge bar?
Hi, there is a snack menu. Also as the hotel approaches Spring/Summer there is also a bar menu. Pls check with the hotel when they are starting the bar menu. Tel 01723 882037. Thank you. Roger Brooks
0 votes
Show all answers
Are dogs allowed in courtyard bedrooms ?
Hi, yes dogs are allowed in the Courtyard Rooms. Also dogs are permitted in the lounge bar subject to it being well behaved and other guests do not complain. Pls call the hotel direct to discuss your needs on 01723 882037
0 votes
Show all answers
Do you still have a swimming pool?
No swimming pool but a great place to stay.
1 vote
Show all answers
I'm looking for one of your courtyard rooms as I gather these are the quiet rooms
We always stay in the main house as the rooms are lovely .
0 votes
Show all answers
Previous
12
"Ask for a room which has been renovated."
"The views from the rooms are amazing and the beds are comfortable ,the hotel is clean and well kept so i think any room would be good."
"Our room in the Courtyard was very quiet"
"Do not accept room 26 when booking. Not pleasant."
"Tell the receptionist, the manager, the staff what you want. I was constantly reminded by all the staff all I had to do was ask!"
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$ 82 - US$ 228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hackness grange hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireScarborough DistrictScarboroughHackness
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing