We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Askari Game Lodge & Spa

Certificate of Excellence
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Askari Game Lodge & Spa
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

416 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Askari Game Lodge & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 411: English reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed a mid week break with a friend . It might not have enough entertainment for some but we needed a peaceful retreat and the quiet was bliss. Lovely peaceful setting with our rooms overlooking the dams so we could sit on the stoep and watch the animals come down to drink while enjoying the bird life. More comfy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
ShipwayG, General Manager at Askari Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are really happy that you enjoyed your conference. We do appreciate the pointers you gave us as it gives us something to work on .Look forward to welcoming you back shortly. Kind regards Graham Shipway

Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

I chose this lodge because of the game drives and the Historical ox wagons and other memorabilia. The game viewing was very disappointing. The only elephants were the tame ones that visited the camp and could be fed. I complained about the poor maintenance of rooms and bad room service. It was noisy at night as there was a wedding...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ELEANOR H
ShipwayG, General Manager at Askari Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We have taken note of the points you raised . kind regards Gr4aham Shipway

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 19 January 2017

It was such a nice n clean place , great deco n the garden is beautiful. I enjoyed the privacy along with the extra care taken into ensuring our stay is satisfactory. I loved the food n restaurant stuff. The elephant experience was the best of all .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emmah L
ShipwayG, General Manager at Askari Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. The Team and I are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Askari Lodge in the very near future . kind regards Graham Shipway

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 9 January 2017

We stayed at Askari for three nights and had a game drive experience. The food was really divine, the rooms neat and serviced daily. The staff was friendly and I loved the spa experience as well. Even the picnic was worth it, although it rained, they laid this out in our room so we would eat and leisure and loved...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denise M
ShipwayG, General Manager at Askari Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

The Team and I would like to thank you for your excellent feedback. We are so glad that we could make your stay so memorable ! It is feedback like this that makes the staff go the extra mile. Look forward to seeing you back in the near future. kind regards Graham Shipway

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

my family and I enjoyed the luxurious self catering unit. the kids had a wonderful exp with the big 5. fun fun fun. On the 30th it was my daughter's 3rd birthday so I spoke to the manager to organise a cake for her. oh wow I expected to pay but they did not charge for the cake. thank u...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kenanao R
ShipwayG, General Manager at Askari Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

thank you for your super review! the Team and I hope that the memories that were made on her birthday will last a life time. We hope that we will be able to share some more Askari Magic with your family very shortly. Kind regards Graham Shipway

Sandton, South Africa
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

On 27 December 2016 my family and I stayed at Askari for 3 nights. This was a second visit, having visited in 2011. The facility Five years later the lodge does need an upgrade. The rooms do look tired, from the furniture to the old and dirty carpets. The showers also need renewal. The roof was leaking and there were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KgaboMokgatla
ShipwayG, General Manager at Askari Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

thank you for your honest feedback. We welcome all forms of constructive criticism both the positive and the negative ! We are set to do up grades this year in the rooms . I have asked the team to revisit the breakfast buffet with a view to changing it. We do hope that it wont be 6 years before you...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We stayed here for two nights that included a game drive. We were happy enough with the quality of the rooms, services and general ambiance of the place. Pros: Good food, nice location, informative and interesting game drive, good number of animals, interesting museum. Cons: Booking via their website proved to be problematic when we turned up - always call...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nick A
ShipwayG, General Manager at Askari Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your very valuable feedback. The Team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us (once you we checked in). I am very sorry that your booking had not pulled through from our web site I am not sure why this happened . We hope that you will come and visit us again shortly. Kind...

Athens, Greece
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Quirky rooms, bit oldfashioned but okay. Our room did not have airco (and it was really hot 25 degrees throughout the night) unfortunately. Lovely view of the waterhole. Food okay (buffet), service a bit slow. It is rated at 4* but that is defenitely not the case, value for money for 3* though!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Expatcouple2005
ShipwayG, General Manager at Askari Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest assessment. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to improve our standards. Kind regards Graham Shipway

Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

The positives: The staff from the receptionist, operations manager on duty, waiters, dinner hostess etc. were all super professional, friendly, & went out of their way to accommodate everyone. Dinner was lovely - compliments to the chef and his/her team. Lovely to sit outside and watch the animals come for a drink. Interesting museum on-site and several lounges to sit...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chrmnvntndr
AskariLodge, Manager at Askari Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely comments on the staff and service - it's truly encouraging for our team at Askari Lodge. We regret that we don't, in fact have any aircon in any chalets (those boxes you saw are actually heat pumps for geysers) and yes, it has been terribly hot. Please indicate your preference for an early...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 8 December 2016

My husband made a reservation at this establishment after consulting its promising website. Indeed, the facilities and amenities displayed thereon appears luxurious and deserving of its promised stature... if only we had been accommodated in one of the photographed suites. Ours, on the contrary, appeared to have been an odd and ill paired attempt at modern-antique. The worn carpet, rickety...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ChanteD-R
AskariLodge, Manager at Askari Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Dear ChanteD-R, We thank you for your review - we use all feedback from our guests to guide us in improving wherever possible. We do appreciate that Askari Lodge is not to everyone's personal taste and wish you all the best for the festive season ahead. Kind regards, Pamela Codevilla

279 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (230)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (83)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (95)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Dining (9)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hekpoort
8.1 km away
Magalies Manor
Magalies Manor
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
52 reviews
11.5 km away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
13.0 km away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 km away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
248 reviews
8.2 km away
De Hoek Country Hotel
De Hoek Country Hotel
#1 of 7 in Magaliesburg
438 reviews
18.2 km away
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Askari Game Lodge & Spa is situated on the Plumari Africa Game Reserve in the Magaliesberg, just over an hour from Johannesburg or Pretoria and offers guests a memorable Big 5 wildlife experience within a malaria free environment. Plumari Africa Game Reserve is set within a pristine wilderness area of over 5000 hectares with natural African bushveld and an abundance of flora, fauna, birdlife and wildlife. Two game drives, each approximately 2 - 2,5 hours in duration, are scheduled daily. Elephant Experiences entails interaction with our elephants, which include a 'touch and feed' experience. The main lodge, which is in fact the old Bodenstein family farmhouse, overlooks the Elephant Dam and invites guests to take a step back in time while admiring South African decor pieces dating back to the 1800's. Slipper baths, a coal stove, wash stands, luggage chests, antique Oregon cupboards and tables are subtly placed within the luxury four-star surrounding, to emphasize the captivating history of the Magaliesberg area. Askari Lodge has one of the largest private collections of ox wagons, carts and other animal drawn vehicles from the period 1800 to 1900. A variety of stone and iron-age arte facts, items from the Boer War and San Bushmen rock carvings tell the history of the area, which is also known for the nearby Battle of Nooitgedacht. Examples are available in the museum and guided bush walks take guests through areas where many stone carvings can be found. In contrast with the rich Boere and Afrikaner history depicted by the main farmhouse decor, the Day Visitors Center is abundant with African symbology, rich earthy colours and unique African decor focal points. The two contrasting decor themes pay homage to the history while highlighting the significant influence of the indigenous African tribes of the area. Askari Game Lodge caters for romantic getaways, conferences, teambuilding initiatives, training courses and weddings in both the main lodge and Day Visitors Centre. Nature lovers and birding enthusiasts will find the experience most rewarding, while stressed city dwellers will leave feeling rejuvenated and well-rested. Askari Lodge - the legend lingers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Askari Game Lodge & Spa

Address: 1 Doornspruit Road | Magaliesberg, Hekpoort 1791, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Hekpoort
Price Range: ₹ 12,713 - ₹ 13,677 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Askari Game Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Askari Game Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Askari Game Lodge & Spa staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
9 months ago
Wexford, Ireland
Wexford, Ireland

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Askari Game Lodge & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would suggest a free standing room else you will hear your neighbours every move.”
Sanman1541, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Stay away from Warthog Bush Lodge”
Marisha2015, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Any room would be great :)”
lancea53, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms next to restaurant n spa have more beautiful view”
alvinah1letsoalo, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Best to choose rooms located near the spa”
denisem98, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates