We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

620 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 617: English reviews
Newcastle
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

First impressions do count and was a little disappointed with the rubbish accumulated at door to the hotel from the car park -but it was a windy day. The bucket at the door part filled with fag ends did not add to the ambiance! Check in was fast, efficient and cheerfully done. We were allocated a superior room - instead...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Northumberlandscout
Tracey C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Northumberlandscout Thank you for your review, I can say to be rated below average would seem more unfair than unkind. I do apologise that we did not come up to your expectations, this is something which is very rare. We take the experience our guests have here very seriously. It would have been good to have been given the...

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

I regularly visited The Crown in the 80's when on business in the Ripon area, so when I recognised it on a Group-on deal for a 2 night break, it was a must and my wife and I were not disappointed. Warmly welcomed by Tracey at reception and given details of the hotel before we unpacked in our comfortable room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stewart B
Tracey C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stewart B Thank you for placing your review after staying, it was lovely to meet you both. All the staff read our reviews and I assure you your comments will be very well received. We are certainly very proud of the Hotel and the service which we offer. We aim to ensure you have a great stay and reading...

Thirsk
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Went with my best friend last week for afternoon tea and swim, sauna, etc. I had forgotten to call beforehand to let them know that I was vegan, but when I told the receptionist she said it was no problem and that the chef would sort something out for me. We were given lovely fresh thick towels and robes, the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Crazyhairclaire
Tracey C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Crazyhairclaire Thank you for your review after enjoying your spa day with us, your comments are great and a five score - we could not ask for better I am pleased that you were well looked after and had a great afternoon. It is good that you would definitely come back, because we would definitely welcome you back. Feel...

Darlington
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

Went with my sister for afternoon tea and use of facilities (voucher from Groupon). First impressions were good, the receptionist was exceptionally friendly and helpful, the leisure facilities were lovely and clean & the robes were very comfy! The pool was a good temperature and size, the only negative was that there were only 4 chairs around the pool and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mazzy93
Tracey C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mazzy93 Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience here at the Hotel whilst enjoying a spa day with us. The seating is an area we will look into further, the pool is good to have a swim or relax round. Our cakes and scones are made here in the Hotel, Diane has made cherry and...

Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

Booked the Crown for a week whilst on business nearby. Staff were friendly and welcoming and couldn't do enough for you. Booked a double room. Although dated it was comfortable although a tad noisy with the old sash windows and single pane glass. Shower over the bath was adequate and fresh towels provided each day. Restaurant was ok, breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
Tracey C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Steve H Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel after your stay. It is good to read that you found the staff friendly and welcoming, we do our best to ensure you enjoy your stay. Our menu is seasonal I am not sure if you saw our specials board, the good news is we are in...

Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

Recently visited for a drink nice friendly environment staff very welcoming and is worth a visit if passing. There is a nice welcoming feeling and the hotel their also looks very nice but have not been.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank H_B10_10
Tracey C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear H_B10_10 It is good to read that you visited our bar recently and found it welcoming and worth the visit. When you visit the area next why not stay with us. Your stay in the Hotel would also include use of the leisure club. Give us a call when you have the opportunity to stay 01423 322328 Regards Tracey

Rochdale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel courtesy of a secret escapes deal for my boyfriends birthday and it was amazing! The staff bend over backwards and the evening meal/ breakfasts we received were cooked to a very high standard. We had full access to the leisure facilities, however did not have time to use them. Only 30 mins from Harrogate centre...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kelsey201295
Tracey C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kelsey201295 Thank you for writing your review, to read amazing and excellent stay that is great. What a pity you did not get the chance to sample our leisure club - Maybe next time. Sorry your room was too hot, there was a fan in your room which may have helped. Thank you for recommending us, we really appreciate...

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2017

An enjoyable break at the Crown Hotel. Comfortable and clean room perhaps in need of a little updating but very reasonable rates for our three night stay. Excellent Yorkshire breakfast and friendly staff. Evening meals were really enjoyable, just a shame there's no real fires to improve the ambience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bazyb47
Tracey C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear bazyb47 Thank you for taking the time to write your review after staying with us. It is good that you found your break with us enjoyable and at a reasonable rate. The Chefs will be pleased to read your comments on breakfast and dinner. The Hotel is constantly being invested in and we do try to be sympathetic to...

Reviewed 6 February 2017

Stayed here for one night. Receptionist - lovely, we arrived a little too early, but our room was ready so booked us in. Room - Very clean and spacious, bed very comfy !! Meal in hotel - Delicious, staff in the resturant were very pleasant and attentive Breakfast - Again, no complaints here ! Full cooked breakfast with a buffet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Isabel G
Tracey C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Isabel G Thank you for taking the time to write your review after your stay, it is very much appreciated. To read such great feedback, what more could we ask for. We try to ensure that you have a memorable stay with us, for the right reasons. Everyone takes a pride in the Hotel and we do our best...

Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

Lovely hotel, very friendly staff and great facilities. Will definitely come again and would highly recommend it if you are staying in the area. Beautiful scenic area to explore and some lovely local spots to eat at.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
Tracey C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stephen H Thank you for writing your review, it is great to read that you had a lovely stay here and will definitely return. We will definitely welcome you back! Thank you for recommending us that is a great compliment. There is a wealth of areas to visit around us and also the town is worth a visit. We...

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (68)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boroughbridge
9.8 km away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
732 reviews
9.2 km away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
443 reviews
10.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
9.2 km away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
8.3 km away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
If you are seeking a hotel in North Yorkshire, this 37 bedroom hotel has excellent accommodation, conference facilities and a large private car park. Leisure centre with indoor swimming pool, steam room, sauna, gym and sun-shower. York only 17 miles, Harrogate 10 miles, Leeds 28 miles. Easy access from junction 48 A1(M) makes the Crown Hotel Boroughbridge an ideal stay over for journeys between Scotland and the South, a great location for weekend breaks, holidays in Yorkshire with York, Harrogate, the Yorkshire Dales and other Yorkshire tourism attractions nearby plus a meetings and conference venue for training courses, business meetings, functions and events for up to 150 delegates. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel

Address: Horsefair, Boroughbridge YO51 9LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Boroughbridge
Price Range: ₹ 6,380 - ₹ 12,502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Boroughbridge
Best Western North Yorkshire
North Yorkshire Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Crown Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for quieter rooms at the back of the hotel”
650donald, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask when booking.”
richardjgreen33, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are quiet”
MickyH, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our room was at the back so was quiet. As this hotel in on the main road it MAY be noisy but I could not say.”
150maureenh, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Not sure about the other rooms but ours was clean and quiet - just as we like it. But there is no lift.”
SpudRotherham, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5