We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Vishranti - A Doon Valley Jungle Retreat

Save
Share
Village Lower Kandoli Pachwadoon, 248007 India
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (150)
Room & Suite (84)
Dining (45)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 23/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Vishranti - A Doon Valley Jungle Retreat
Updated 23/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#97 of 1,033 hotels in Dehradun District
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Sprawling and beautifully landscaped grounds quietly nestled in the Sal forests of the Doon valley in northern India, Vishranti awaits your arrival. Far from the hallmarks of progress and yet close enough for us to serenade you with all the convenience and luxury of modern comforts, Vishranti Resort and Spa greets its guests with the perfect ambience of habitats that are intrinsic to nature itself. A luxury resort in India that charms its guests in more than one way, Vishranti is your ultimate holiday destination.Vishranti has often been described as one of the most exclusive luxury resorts in India not simply for its red carpet welcome but also for its untarnished natural setting. Go for short hikes, long walks and perhaps a jog during sunset and rejuvenate yourself in style. Vishranti is as close to nature as you can get. The resort is fully gated and secure in every respect and so your stay is sure to include all the trimmings of an excursion to remember for a lifetime.Reserve an idyllic cottage that is designed in the style of a colonial countryside bungalow with sloping roofs and wide verandas. Indulge in the inherent serenity of the immediate environment while relaxing in a state of blissful comfort. The farmlands where we grow all our organic produce, the plush plantation, the Flori-culture project and the exotic birds that inhabit the area permanently will keep you preoccupied for hours at length. Many luxury resorts in India deliver what they promise. Vishranti is one of them. So why not plan a short weekend getaway at Vishranti for a start by visiting our reservations page and making a reservation? The experience will surely inspire you to return.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Spa
Concierge
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
Hindi
165Reviews7Q+A37Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 96
  • 43
  • 16
  • 5
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Prashant D wrote a review Jun 2022
Singapore, Singapore4 contributions1 helpful vote
The drive to Vishranti takes you thru a good road in a Sal forest, just off Nanda ki Chowki.Remined me of our Jungle warfare IMA days training camps. The resort pops up like a welcome oasis and we were greeted by the charming , courteous Ratna. She immediately introduced us to Mike Dalvi who gave us a personalised tour of the wall decor / photo memorablia. The Dosco corner and many rare photos of wars, campaigns including the Military personalities who played a major role in them. Thoroughly enjoyed his narration style, wit and affable historical engagement. The resort has several rooms that can be booked online. We settled in one of the several cozy corners to share our personal stories, interspersed with several pints of cold beer. The bars are well stocked. Later we moved to the dining area for lunch. The preparation are tasty and portions are adequate. Took some other Ex NDA friends for dinner a few days later. The sit outs have fans which provide a comfortable outdoor environment in the evenings. The last bit of the approach takes you thru a fruit orchard where you may be able to buy fresh produce. A great place to host personal events, parties due to its unique museum like setting. Colonel Prashant
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Harish Chotani wrote a review Apr 2022
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India6 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Wow, an excellent place to spend the day to connect to nature by walk through the jungle trails, see green house organic farming, listen to various birds to immerse in viberations, swim and many more. Excellent bar cum repository of cricket and many other activities... Food, wow delicious and served with passion. Just connect at will. A place to connect self with loved ones and nature. Michael is super soul and he has nurtured the staff well.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Sahil wani 2590 wrote a review Jan 2022
3 contributions
I visited the place with my wife, we chose the room Sukoon which is on first floor. All rooms are very unique and beautiful. We loved our stay here. We asked the staff to operate the fireplace but they refused which was a bad experience. Services can be improved. The property is very luxurious and different.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you are afraid of darkness and jungle, choose the rooms on first floor as the entrance goes...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
grover_shweta wrote a review Nov 2021
Kolkata (Calcutta), India10 contributions1 helpful vote
Our stay was initially booked in March 2021, but due to covid surge had to cancel then. Must say without any fuss they gave us credit to use the booking whenever in near future (no date limit)!! We ultimately visited the place between 15th - 16th Oct 2021. 1. The resort is way out of Dehradun - beyond Forest Research Institute, so please go there if you want to enjoy property - senseless to do up/ down to Mall Road. 2. They are currently renovating and upgrading the property, keep in mind the rooms are large like old time, they have maintained the property best possible keeping in mind the Old Army look. So please don't expect extravagance. 3. The main building (reception and dining area) is dedicated to hard core War memorial to Indian Army. It was heartwarming to see it, one could spend hours going through the memorabilia. 4. The Activity room and Gym is getting renovated - will be great once functional. 5. They have numerous nooks and corners where one can spend time reading or playing board games with family (beware of monkeys in the open though). 6. Staff was very courteous and at your service for all requests. 7. Don't expect strong wifi, it would spoil the beauty of the place. 8. We could not trek inside the jungle area, as it was not safe when we went. 9. Food was good - they take time to prepare, but the staff informs that to you at the time of check in, so one needs to keep that in mind while placing order. But it would be great if in Veg they have more options. 10. Lastly would request the management to maintain the beautiful lawns and greenery around the rooms and main resort area. Currently it gives an unkept look!! Overall had a great stay and would like to thank Krishnaji for everything and Mr. Banerjee (in house Naturalist) for sharing his humungous knowledge with us about the surroundings and rich history of the resort and showing us around. THANK YOU.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Madhav Dalvi, Owner at Vishranti - A Doon Valley Jungle Retreat
Responded 12 Nov 2021
We thank you for sharing your thoughts. We will strive to improve further the facilities as well as finish the ongoing tasks. It’s been a challenge but we are overcoming it. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Yours sincerely The Vishranti Family
Read more
Manujkhurana wrote a review Sep 2021
New Delhi, India55 contributions11 helpful votes
+1
Visited this property after watching you tube videos and was very eager to experience the natural surroundings, Below mentioned is my personal review. Pros: Location - deep inside the jungle. You will love the drive and greenery around. Nature - anyone in love with nature and birds should visit this place. Amenities - they have everything you can ask for, good rooms, great play area, nice gym, good walking trail Cons: We booked 3 rooms, Vishram, Moksha and Rudraksha (suite) I was really unhappy with the suite room, Rudraksha because, 1) it had no ventilation 2) it had just one AC unit for such a big room 3) they had big size jacuzzi fitted but not maintained - their head rest fell down while bathing and I could see all naked wires with me in jacuzzi full of water - it was scary as hell. Food, 4) they take 1 hour to prepare food, which is ok as you get freshly prepared meal but options in veg are limited to Dal and Paneer only. I was disappointed with breakfast the most as spread was not there, it took me 40 mins to get my plate any one dish, clearly they were short staffed and could not manage it. Corn rolls were not properly cooked and overall management during breakfast was very bad. It was a spoilsport for my stay. Thankfully we were to check out immediately after that. Upkeep and maintenance, It is a beautiful property but upkeep was missing in many places. Swimming pool was not operational as some construction was going on - when you give rooms like vishram and Moksha to your guest - don’t let the worker do the construction work atleast as the only view we get is the pool view which is getting constructed with labour’s hitting hammers all around. We visit such properties to seek peace and it serves no such purpose. I requested Banerjee ji (host and property tour guide) not to allow workers till the time we are staying atleast but still they came in at 8am and started hammering all around. Games area: They have a great games area but lacks maintenance. They allowed some guests to have drinks and dinner in the games area and when we visited next morning, there was foul smell of drinks and food and plates lying everywhere on pool table, air ice hockey table everywhere. Infact Banerjee sahab was shocked and asked the staff to clear this mess. Toiletries: Asked for shampoo and the staff said they don’t have it, use shower gel instead and gave me two bottles of the same 😂 Overall, it’s a luxury property and costs you heavily but it should give the same experience to the guests. Can understand staff shortage etc but still expected a better experience!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Madhav Dalvi, Owner at Vishranti - A Doon Valley Jungle Retreat
Responded 5 Oct 2021
We are deeply saddened by your experience! Please do give us a chance to redeem ourselves. Yes, we have been short-staffed but that govt.restriction has now been lifted, so we will be restaffing to 100% again. We apologize about the pool it has been delayed by a prolonged monsoon this year. We look forward to you giving us a second chance. Yours Faithfully The Vishranti Family.
Read more
Sumeetb wrote a review Aug 2021
Miami, Florida2 contributions
The property is just too deep into the forrest, and is not well maintained. It’s about 1 hour from the city and about 20 minutes deep into the forest with the last 10 minute drive in bad roads. The property while large had many issues. The pool was closed, jacuzzi in the room didn’t have hot water, grass was not mowed, and rooms smelled of old moist wood. Only good thing was the size of the room which is huge and the fresh food which is made to order with vegetables taken from their own farm.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Madhav Dalvi, Owner at Vishranti - A Doon Valley Jungle Retreat
Responded 7 Oct 2021
Dear Guest, Greetings, we are extremely sorry you had a negative experience at Vishranti. We have immediately taken measures to rectify the same. We notice you visited in August, the government had restrictions until August on the amount of staff allowed on campus (23 acres), hence some areas could not be properly maintained. This restriction has since been lifted and these issues resolved. Yours sincerely The Vishranti Family.
Read more
Ajay Nikhade wrote a review Aug 2021
2 contributions
Nice place to visit....excellent food,great taste, well maintained garden,spacious rooms with A.C. swimming pool very clean and hygienic...best place for relaxation ,owner was kind hearted,co-operative, staff was too good provided service in time
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Madhav Dalvi, Owner at Vishranti - A Doon Valley Jungle Retreat
Responded 7 Oct 2021
Dear Sir, Greetings from the Doon Valley. We thank you from the bottom of our hearts for your encouraging words, we are striving to improve all the time given the pandemic issues and Govt. restrictions on our industry. We look forward to hosting you again soon. Yours faithfully The Vishranti family
Read more
MP Singh wrote a review Jul 2021
5 contributions8 helpful votes
Very unprofessional services. Only positive thing is that the ambiance and place is nature rich and have unique concept. But the things goes worst on part of very poor breakfast arrangements, poor room service, poor food order system, poor hygiene and overall management and maintenance are pathetic. The way of entertaining guest is very unprofessional on reception. It look like they claim it as 4/5 star but it is not worth of 2 star in this aspect of professionalism. Alas! like their beautiful campus if thier services and maintenance are good then this place is nice otherwise no use of such place. Highly not recommended to avoid setback.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Madhav Dalvi, Owner at Vishranti - A Doon Valley Jungle Retreat
Responded 4 Aug 2021
Dear Guest, We are sorry you had a bad experience. We apologize for the inconvenience you faced due to us being allowed only 50% staff by the government of the state. Our food quality and service have been appreciated in the past so please help us maintain our standards and make specific complaints via WhatsApp on +917351335000 so we can improve in those areas. Regards, The Vishranti Family.
Read more
Sangeeta S wrote a review Jun 2021
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India35 contributions9 helpful votes
Visharnti has a beautiful location and the staff provides excellent service. The food was amazing ... compliments to the chef. However , they have opened it after lockdown without any preparation , the rooms , linen were not clean, AC was not functioning , the Bar was not fully operational and none of the amenties like cycling, billiards, carrom were operational . The gardens were overgrown . They should have informed on the website so that people knew what they are getting into.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: The suites are good
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Madhav Dalvi, Owner at Vishranti - A Doon Valley Jungle Retreat
Responded 4 Aug 2021
Dear Mrs.Sharma, Greetings from the Doon Valley. We aren sorry you were not 100% satisfied with your trip to us during the 2nd Covid wave restrictions. The bar menu is updated. The government had only opened the bonded warehouse recently. ( we are only allowed to buy from them) So we are able to restock. At the moment whiskey, wines and some beers are stocked .Also on the 27th July we have been allowed 100% staff. So the process to fill vacancies has begun too.I have also attached a picture of the new linen purchased after you complained about the age of the older linen. We as an institution were working within the parameters set by the Government of Uttarakhand adhering to rules stipulated by them. These rules are also stated on the smart city website where you had to register as a mandatory requirement, one such rule was only 50% staff was allowed at hotels and bars to remain shut .I hope I have addressed all your concerns mentioned in the trailing mail ? We look forward to hosting you again soon once all restrictions are lifted by the government of Uttarakhand.. Regards, The Vishranti Team
Read more
Sudeep wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution
A small compact resort set on the outskirts of a reserve forest just outside Dehradun close to the IMA. Cottage style large rooms and bathrooms with lots of open space around. Fabulous open air seating makes you feel very relaxed. Single restaurant which serves different varieties of food of excellent quality. Though the dessert selection could be improved in terms of choices. Perfect place for anyone seeking a quiet getaway with nothing to do and spend a couple of days to revitalize
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$72 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaUttarakhandDehradun District
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Vishranti - A Doon Valley Jungle Retreat
Which popular attractions are close to Vishranti - A Doon Valley Jungle Retreat?
Nearby attractions include Forest Research Institute (5.9 km), Tapkeshwar Temple (6.0 km), and Forest Research Institute Museum (4.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Vishranti - A Doon Valley Jungle Retreat?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Vishranti - A Doon Valley Jungle Retreat?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Vishranti - A Doon Valley Jungle Retreat?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Vishranti - A Doon Valley Jungle Retreat?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Vishranti - A Doon Valley Jungle Retreat?
Conveniently located restaurants include Coco Osteria, Zaffran - Curries & Biryani, and Brigadier’s Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Vishranti - A Doon Valley Jungle Retreat?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Vishranti - A Doon Valley Jungle Retreat have airport transportation?
Yes, Vishranti - A Doon Valley Jungle Retreat offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Vishranti - A Doon Valley Jungle Retreat?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Vishranti - A Doon Valley Jungle Retreat?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Vishranti - A Doon Valley Jungle Retreat offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, a banquet room, and conference facilities.