We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Cross Hands Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Cross Hands Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

297 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Cross Hands Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 294: English reviews
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 March 2017

We love the Crosshands , its our local away from home. The food is excellent and staff very friendly. We go often and the fish and chips is a must for my daughter and husband I love their lasagne! The atmosphere is warm and friendly. My daughter often has auditions in London and it is a great stop off as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robert J
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely comments, we've very pleased to hear you enjoyed your many visits to us, and we will look forward to welcoming you again soon! George, Colette and the team.

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 March 2017

We are regular diners at The Royal George Birdlip, visiting there around 35 evenings per year in a group of four, and sometimes six. We thought we would have a change and pre-booked a table for four in a prime position at The Cross Hands at 19.45. When we returned on Sunday 19th March at 19.45, we found four other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 45lubee
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your comments, we are very sorry to hear about your disappointing visit to us. If you would like to discuss these issues further, please contact us directly and we can investigate further for you. George, Colette and the team.

Dursley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

I chose this hotel/pub as a central place to meet some friends for dinner. The menu had some interesting choices and we all found something we liked. My friend is gluten intolerant and they gave her a separate menu which was impressive. The food was well presented and plentiful and the waitress was friendly. I would return again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mistyb1302
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you have enjoyed your most recent visit and do hope that you will be returning again soon! George, Colette and the team.

Stockport
Reviewed 9 March 2017

This pub has a huge car park which is brilliant as no struggle to park at all. There was a bit of a funny smell in the reception area, a bit like a hospital, which was weird but once you were beyond that the place was really nice. Rooms were comfortable and pleasant and the food in the bar area,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank h0telm0telh0lidayinn
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're glad you had a pleasant stay and hope you'll come back and visit us again soon! George, Colette and the team.

Yate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Having eaten here on many occasions recently we have usually been very happy with the food in general and love the ambiance of the restaurant especially in the evening. Unfortunately the last two visits have not been so good, the food has not been to the standard we had come to expect. Ok, so when I complained I was offered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bil1321
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate you taking the time to write your review and apologise for any disappointment. If you would like to speak to us directly about this, please contact us by phone (01454 313000) or email (6435@greeneking.co.uk) George, Colette and the team.

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

Stopped off for a late lunch early tea . Very impressed we were in the bar but it seemed busy and food was really nice fish was a bit over cooked but over all we were all impressed , quick service and I'm sure we will return in the future -

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aliBristolUK
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your visit, and hope to see you soon. George, Colette and the team.

Stroud, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Popped in for lunch. Great food. We tried to order a couple of starters but only had one left so had to share. We the both had a great steak. Couldn't fit in a pudding but they did look nice.Lovely staff. Comfy traditional Restaurant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 715joanne
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we're glad to hear you enjoyed your meals, and hope you'll come and sample some other items soon! George, Colette and the team.

Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for a long weekend and really enjoyed it. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Excellent breakfast each morning and ate in the restaurant on our first night; good variety of meals, well priced snd lovely atmosphere. Very comfortable room with enormous bed, only issue was road noise but excellent location for Bath, Bristol and Cotswolds.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Faye L
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. We're very pleased your enjoyed your stay with us. There is plenty to visit in the surrounding areas, so we hope you will come back and see us again soon! George, Colette and the team.

wales
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Visited as part of a package day trip on a Sunday at 5.30.p.m A large section of the restaurant had been reserved for our party of almost 50 people. Three of our party arrived after everyone was seated and could not be accomodated together.I suggested that myself and partner, who were on a table for four, moved to " non-...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tara49
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We're so pleased to hear you had a lovely visit to us and enjoyed your food. We hope you'll come and see us again soon George, Colette and the team.

Loughton
Reviewed 11 February 2017

Stayed here with a friend. Really nice B and B . Very friendly and helpful staff from the bar to the breakfast room. We had dinner here which was good for pub food, and although it was very busy we didn't have to wait too long . The room was small, but very comfortable, with a modern bathroom. Good breakfast....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gillianweatherburn
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, there should of been a hairdryer in your room. We perform room checks to ensure equipment is all available, so please accept our apologies that we must of missed this on this occasion. We hope you'll be coming back for another visit soon. George, Colette and the...

63 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Sodbury
2.5 km away
BEST WESTERN The Compass Inn
13.3 km away
De Vere Tortworth Estate
10.1 km away
Premier Inn Bristol East (Emersons Green) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 km away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
2.6 km away
The Bell at Old Sodbury
The Bell at Old Sodbury
#1 of 4 in Old Sodbury
192 reviews
4.3 km away
Crown Inn at Tolldown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about The Cross Hands Hotel

Address: Tetbury Road, Old Sodbury BS37 6RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Old Sodbury
Price Range: ₹ 5,532 - ₹ 9,842 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cross Hands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Cross Hands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cross Hands Hotel
Cross Hands Old Sodbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Cross Hands Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
3 months ago
Bristol, United Kingdom
8 months ago
Richmond, United Kingdom

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Cross Hands Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 18 was above the bar.17 was where the Queen stayed I think!”
judithh977, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Try the wagyu burger!”
charliedflores, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room as far away from the bar area as possible.”
Maverick598, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Not room 8 or 9.”
360nicholass, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“10 mins from J18 M4 not sure of room features- didn't stay there”
christineZ5398MN, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5