We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cross Hands Hotel

361 reviews
Save
Traveller (43)
Room & Suite (23)
Dining (12)
Overview
  • Excellent28%
  • Very good36%
  • Average18%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“fish and chips”(16 reviews)
“main menu”(6 reviews)
“old english inns”(13 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
Wheelchair Access
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (361)Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveller rating
103
117
68
33
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
103
117
68
33
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfish and chipsmain menuold english innsthe ground floorlovely atmospherelarge car parksingle roomold coaching innthe pubbook a tablewest countrylittle thingsplenty of parkingburgernight staychipping sodburyexcellent value for money
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 356 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

Spent two night celebrating our daughters 40rh birthday. Had good food throughout and the staff were excellent. Really lovely friendly atmosphere with warm welcome. Will definitely return again and recommend to others

Thank chrisbW5843HA
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I arranged a birthday party for 12 on Sunday 14th January 2018. I was surprised that we were given private dining facilities. The food; starters and mains (which was pre-ordered 5 days before) was excellent. The staff were amazing - nothing was too much trouble...More

Thank catrose2302
Response from Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands HotelResponded yesterday

Thank you for your lovely comments. We're so pleased to hear you enjoyed your most recent visit to us, and do hope that you will be coming back to see us again soon! George, Colette and the team.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were a group of 13 that had pre booked for a family occasion. We had to pre order our food from the menu a couple of weeks in advance. The place was lovely but the food was unbelievably disappointing. Nobody had starters so just...More

Thank Deb W
Response from Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands HotelResponded yesterday

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We're sorry to read about your disappointing stay. I can assure you that your experience does not reflect the normal high standards of quality and hospitality that we set ourselves. To discuss this further we...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is ok, nothing special, needs a bit of tlc, looking tired. The food is poor. 1. My starter should have been garlic mushrooms on a toasted bun - instead it came on warm bread which went soggy immediately 2. I ordered creamy fish...More

Thank Fairalways
Response from Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands HotelResponded yesterday

Thank you for posting your review. We're sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your most recent visit to us. We ask that you contact us directly on 6435@greeneking.co.uk, so we can investigate your complaint further. George, Colette and the team.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We regularly drink in the bar but tonight we booked a table for husband 40th. There was so much to choose from. The service was amazing (credit to the two waitresses who looked after us well). The food was lovely and the children enjoyed eating...More

Thank rachiew100
Response from Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands HotelResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for posting your review. We're happy to read you enjoyed your most recent visit in the restaurant, and do hope that you will come along and sample some of our other dishes again soon! George, Colette and the team.

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345672
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room Service
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Room Service
Meeting Rooms
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$ 89 - US$ 148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 89 - US$ 148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (43)
Room & Suite (23)
Dining (12)
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Bathroom (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Lauren W
7 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from christineZ5398MN | Reviewed this property |
Food is served from 11am until 10pm
0
Votes
Christopher E
26 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from John B | Reviewed this property |
Sorry I have no idea - but I'm sure there are better places around for Sunday lunch. The Compass Inn at Tormarton is better and has a nice conservatory to eat in.
0
Votes
Leshill14
14 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Michael G | Reviewed this property |
No, I am not the owner, I reviewed as a visitor
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Round the back away from the traffic lights"
Read review
"Didn't stay but this hotel is on a busy road, I imagine a room as far from the road would be best."
Read review
"Don't have a room that is road facing"
Read review
"We had a quiet room and it was lovely - my parents had one on the front and said traffic started about 5am..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite