We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street

Orbitz.comUS$ 75*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 109*
US$ 75*
US$ 76*
US$ 109*
US$ 75*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

87 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street
See the most recent reviews
Showing 76: English reviews
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 8 October 2015 via mobile

Close to everything you need. The entrance is right next to the S2 Gallo manor route for the gautrain bus. Room was cozy and modern. Counter staff seemed flustered and unprofessional. Breakfast was good and serving ladies were friendly. No wifi access.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tiaan2015
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us Tiann. We are so happy that you enjoyed the convenience of the hotel’s location as well as our breakfast offerings; and found our staff so helpful and friendly - key components that we pride ourselves in! We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Reviewed 14 September 2015 via mobile

Checked in early with a friend after late night ! Front desk staff were rude and disrespectful . They didn't even greet us , all they said is "what do you want " the room was dark and dingy , air-condition smelt terrible and to be honest the whole hotel had a bad vibe ! Every staff member was rude...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jarred M
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We would like to apologise for the rude and unfriendly reception you received. This is not the treatment we want our staff members to portray to guests. We will certainly be taking this up with the hotel management. Our aim is to offer a great vibe.

Sandton, South Africa
Reviewed 24 August 2015

After painting the town red all you need is a peaceful sleep. Checked in at 3am on 23 August 2015 and requested a late check out at 14:00 which was guaranteed. At 11:30am the receptionist calls me to ask am I still checking out. Annoyed as I was I responded respectively and said I have requested a late check out....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DaveBunyard
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are sorry to hear about the continuous interruptions you experienced even after you requested a late check-out. We will enquire further as to how there may have been a miscommunication between the front desk staff. We apologise and hope to see you back at our hotel again.

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 13 August 2015

1. The toilet is outdated and the shower box is unacceptable. 2. Limited choice from the Breakfast buffet. Or rather it should not be called as breakfast buffet 3. Room is very dark and is not good for business trips when guests are required to attend to office work 4. Not meant to be a hotel for business trip

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AChan123
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the constructive review.

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 6 August 2015

Wi-Fi services available, Front-office staff were friendly, and the bed was comfortable. Rooms next to the road are noisy. For laundry service, one has to take their clothes to the reception, they don't collect it from the room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us Catherine. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you soon again.

Reviewed 30 May 2015 via mobile

On the whole, the hotel was okay. Good ambience, great breakfast options, choice of smoking / non-smoking rooms and MOST of the staff were pleasant and friendly. However, there were two staff members at the reception the night we checked on who were not so warm and rather unhelpful as we asked for assistance with the wifi connection (which incidentally...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LucidDreamer01
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we are glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us as well as the breakfast offerings. We are, however, sorry to hear about your experience with those two staff members - we will be looking into this. Please note that our wifi is being upgraded to a much better service which will...

Hillcrest, South Africa
Reviewed 20 May 2015 via mobile

Been at this hotel numerous times and it has yet to disappoint. Close to Sandton City and the M1 into Johannesburg, for those who wish to rush in where angels fear to tread. Usually fully booked for this exact reason. Recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thedumahs
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review and your continuous support! We are so glad that you had a great stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Durban
Reviewed 3 May 2015

A colleague and I stayed there on a business trip. The service was slow, bathroom was not clean, in the evening (11pm) the staff from the restaurant next door were extremely noisy. There was no water and all they could offer us was a small bottle of water which we had to collect from reception in the morning - this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SGovender108
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and we are so sorry to hear about your experience while staying with us. This level of standard is definitely not acceptable and we will be enquiring further into the matter on your behalf.

Pta
Reviewed 26 April 2015

With about 25 hotels in the direct vicinity, this was the best priced option for our needs. It had all the qualities that a 3* rating requires. We received a friendly reception and was given an option to choose a room. We expected to carry our own luggage but was assisted by a friendly porter. We had a late lunch...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HolidayCrazyPta
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are happy to hear that you found the hotel staff friendly, efficient, and helpful; found the hotel room clean and food delicious. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 21 February 2015 via mobile

Stayed at the Katherine street city lodge and was a bit disappointed. We stayed on the first floor and there were no lifts; and no bellboys to carry suitcases upstairs. Ordered food from restaurant and the calamari was undercooked. Cheesecake was not great at all. It tasted like a pick n pay cheese cake so took one or two bites...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Faedah
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street, responded to this review

Dear Faedah, Thank you for staying with us and we are sincerely sorry that you had an 'average' stay - which is something we never want our guests to experience. Please note however, that as we are not a full service hotel, we do not offer services such as room service and portering. We will certainly consider the other matters...

13 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greater Johannesburg hotels
0.2 km away
Town Lodge Sandton-Grayston Drive
0.7 km away
City Lodge Hotel Sandton Morningside
0.4 km away
Courtyard Hotel Sandton
Courtyard Hotel Sandton
#21 of 48 in Sandton
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Faircity Falstaff Hotel
Faircity Falstaff Hotel
#22 of 48 in Sandton
155 reviews
0.5 km away
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
#23 of 48 in Sandton
92 reviews
1.1 km away
Park Inn Sandton
Park Inn Sandton
#27 of 48 in Sandton
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Park-like gardens in the courtyard of the hotel contribute to a lovely ambience, accentuated by the swimming pool built as if joined to the lounge. For guests' convenience there is a fitness room in the hotel and a restaurant is located on the property. It is situated in close proximity to the M1 motorway with easy access to all major routes. It is 3 minutes from the shopping centres of Sandton City, Nelson Mandela Square and Village Walk and a 30 minutes drive from the Johannesburg airport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street

Address: Cnr Katherine & Grayston Drive | Sandown, 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg
Price Range: ₹ 4,524 - ₹ 7,496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from City Lodge Hotel Katherine Street staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose rooms that do not overlook the road.”
Cmuraga, 6 Aug 2015 | Read review
“The hotel is build next to the highway, rather choose a garden view room during weekdays, although they are a bit smaller.”
HolidayCrazyPta, 26 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Try to get an inward facing room as the adjacent roadways are busy with traffic noise”
FAMLEE, 13 Dec 2014 | Read review
“Choose an inside room so there is less road noise. Also, choose a room with a shutter-blind between the bathroom and bedroom.”
PaulCamphausen, 17 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Ask for rooms on the North side if you want very quiet rooms”
DeonL_13, 7 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$ 75* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$ 76
TravelocityUS$ 75
Agoda.comUS$ 109
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates