We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

148 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 140: English reviews
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
148 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had a night stay at Inn and were satisfied. Rooms are rather simple and bit outdated but staff is more than friendly and gives you very fast feeling of being wellcome. Dinner at inn is advisable : it is more or less only restaurant but worthwhile. Just stay to local dishes and wine and you will be satisfied. No... More 

Helpful?
Thank erjavec
manapouri, Owner at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased you had a comfortable stay with us. Kind regards Inger More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed in room 101. Great view of lake Manapouri. The room was adequate for two but catered for 4, this would have made for a very cramped stay. Although a heater provided my wife found the rooms chilly. Also due to the rooms location people going to and fro from the pub and reception made it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael A
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The motel is situated next to a thoroughfare to Te Anau, with the windows of the rooms giving to the lake - the only positive factor of the place. The room was quite drafty, curtains fluttering in the wind. The shower was in a bathtub and the water hot if you waited long enough. The wifi did not work at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mirja T
manapouri, Owner at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. It is unfortuante that you were unsatisfied. We had exceptionally wild windy weather during your stay. The Throughfare that you mention is the scenic drive between Manapouri and Te Anau. The Hotel overlooks the lake and is set back from the road side by 40 meters. Yes Wifi is... More 

Travellers are raving about these Manapouri hotels

uk
Level Contributor
214 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We chose this place because of the location, it is in a beautiful spot with views, even though we were at the back of the hotel we had a view of the lake. Sadly the rooms are very tired although clean and the bed could do with an upgrade. The hotel staff were very pleasant. The communial kitchen was not... More 

Helpful?
Thank screennamechalky
manapouri, Owner at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. It is always helpful if you told us at the time of your stay areas that you felt needed attention. The room the bed was in would be helpful. Interestingly enough you found our communal kitchen lacking- I am finding this hard to comprehend as it has be newly opened again... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My sister and I stayed for a couple of nights because of its situation. Beautiful view from appartment. It was very clean , comfortable and well serviced. It would have had a toasted if there had been plates cereal bowls and a bit of cutlery. A microwave is supplied but I'm not sure how we are supposed to eat what... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jane T
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2016

nice spot to base yourself for Doubtful Sound trip. room has magnificent views of Southern Alps.cheaper than Te Anau. pub next door has good meals.walking distance to harbour.almost gave an "average" review for room but site has ongoing renovations and is very clean so "very good" it is.

Helpful?
1 Thank merv_muller
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2016

The serviced motel room is comfortable,clean and well equipped with all you need for an overnight stay including tea and coffee making and a microwave. However eating in the bar and cafe is not recommended right now. The "fresh " pan fried blue cod was far from fresh and really should not have been served. In addition it was lukewarm... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 505LynG
manapouri, Owner at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased that enjoyed your accommodation. Thank you for brining to our attention the matter with the Blue Cod I will bring this to the attention of our Chefs. We apologise that the food was not up to standard and we will work hard to correct this. We will... More 

seattle
Level Contributor
246 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2016

First of all, yes, this place is outdated. It really depends on what you're looking for. If you are going to be spending all your time in a hotel room and want to spend top dollar for perfect new furnishings, by all means you should. If you're like me and spend a lot of time outside, appreciate cleanliness but don't... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank DeneMiles
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2016

If you're planning on visiting both the Doubtful and Milford Sounds I recommend using this location as the go between. It's extremely close to the jump off location to the Doubtful so if you like to capitalize on sleep and you have a morning cruise there is no need to wake up at dawn to drive. Aside from this proximity,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Undaunted_Courage
auckland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2016

We stayed one night after a long tramp and didn't have time to check reviews. What a find! We stayed in the front units, which had a queen and a single, brilliant lake view, heater, comfy bed, great shower and on site laundry so flew home today with clean clothes. The price was reduced for some reason to just $117,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank debnz

75 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manapouri
16.9 km away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
17.3 km away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 24 in Te Anau
329 reviews
17.5 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#3 of 24 in Te Anau
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 km away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
1.1 km away
Murrell's Grand View House
Murrell's Grand View House
#2 of 5 in Manapouri
65 reviews
0.2 km away
Cathedral Peaks B&B
Cathedral Peaks B&B
#4 of 5 in Manapouri
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Manapouri is New Zealand's best kept secret, situated 15 mins scenic drive from Te Anau, which is the departure point for Doubtful Sound trips. The Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn is the ideal base for all Fiordland activities and a preferred staying accommodation for all those wishing to enjoy an accomplishing and satisfying holiday experience. Guests staying at Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn get the best opportunity to visit some of the mostrenowned tourist places in New Zealand. Some of the famous tourist attractions near the hotel are Doubtful Sound, Lake Te Anau, Te Anau Caves, Milford Track, Lake Manapouri Southern Scenic Route, Kepler Track, Routeburn Track, Queenstown and Fiordland National Park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn

Address: 68 Cathedral Drive | PO Box 106, Manapouri 9643, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Manapouri
Price Range: ₹ 4,582 - ₹ 8,344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manapouri Lakeview Motor Hotel Manapouri
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Manapouri Lakeview Motor Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“more or less all the same”
 of 5 bubbles erjavec, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 101 can be noisy”
 of 5 bubbles V6135LTmichaela, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The front rooms near the road maybe newer”
 of 5 bubbles screennamechalky, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Request a room with a porch across from the lake.”
 of 5 bubbles Undaunted_Courage, 30 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Front units are apparently recently refurbished, really nice”
 of 5 bubbles debnz, 24 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay