We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

979 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 911: English reviews
Kent
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked a "Premier Double Room with Lake View" after looking at the photos of rooms available online. My husband & I were both really looking forward to our stay in the nicely decorated, quality room advertised online but this was not at all the case. We opened the door to find a very tatty & dark, cold room, dirty...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fabfourty
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fabfourty Thank you for your review and comments which have been carefully noted. I am very sorry that the room allocated was not in an appropriate condition. We have an ongoing maintenance plan and this should cover any such matters, but clearly the room offered should not have been let on this occasion. I was disapointed that a superior...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have recently had a two night break, front of hotel looks tired,but inside was quite pleasant. Room was very hot could not turn radiator down, and hot water for shower could not be adjusted. Restaurant food was very nice and one member of staff called Robert was very nice but the rest of the staff were not very friendly,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maria W
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Maria Thank you for your review and your kind comments about Robert which he will be delighted to read. I am sorry that you did not feel the same care from other team members. The reception team are at different levels of experience, but are all equally keen to offer a good welcome & I am sorry if they...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Was given a spa one night stay with breakfast as a gift. Myself and husband stayed on Saturday 25th February 2017. On first impression building from the outside looked a bit shabby however I wasn't judgmental. Check in was fast, shame about service with a smile. Room was small but fine on first appearance, bed a good size and comfortable....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MrsBangsx
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MrsBangsx Thank you for your review. We appreciate any feedback which will allow us to continually monitor & improve our service & standards & I am sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. I have carefully noted each of your comments and these have been shared with the team. Please be assured we have taken your...

Rainham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The worst customer service I've ever experienced. Very rude and discriminative. It wasn't worth the money I paid and I didn't get all that I paid for. I paid to have a spa treatment which I didn't receive and absolutely appalled at the whole experience.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank SimKanda
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SimKanda Thank you for your review We appreciate any feedback which will allow us to continually monitor & improve our service & standards & I am sorry there was cause for complaint. The beauty treatments are run independently & bookings must be made in advance to avoid disappointment, especially during peak times. I hope this matter has since been...

Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

. service not good in the bar area not enough staff. had to wait 20 minutes for a sandwich at lunch time, also a cocktail that was prepared did not have the right ingredients. in the evening only one person serving at the bar. Staff getting orders wrong because they are under to much pressure. Staff and reception very friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Pat W
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pat Thank you for your review & comments. I am pleased you found the team friendly & I do apologise if there was any delay in your being served. We aim to staff according to the expected demands in every department, but during peak times this can vary. The Treatment rooms are operated independently & are typically very good...

Brighton UK
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Didn't realise it was half term so pool & dining areas were populated with a lot of kids. Fine if you like kids' noise & antics. Meals were expensive for what they were, burgers, steaks & pies. ( we were on a package and the allowance didn't cover any combo of 2 courses.) We have been doing short breaks packages...

Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank xc90caravanpuller
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear xc90caravanpuller Thank you for your review & comments which have been noted. Half term does bring some changes to the norm & I hope you found time to relax & enjoy your stay otherwise. Thank you for your regular custom since the Jarvis brand & I will take on board your comments about the allowance. Hope to meet you...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Having read some of the reviews we were slightly worried but it was a really nice break. We stayed in a privilege room which was really spacious and you got all the extras like robe, slippers etc. The pool, jacuzzi and sauna were all really nice and nice chairs around the pool to relax. We had steak for dinner and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beccyhawkyard
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear beccyhawkyard Thank you for your positive review & comments. Delighted you enjoyed your break & had a chance to use the Feel Good health club too. Thank you for your comments about the team which are appreciated. With regards to the breakfast, we do try to keep the buffet topped up regularly, so the food is presented as fresh...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Awful reception staff that act as if they are paying the bill. Room service a joke, cheese and ham sandwich with no cheese and a cheese and walnut salad with no walnuts gives you the idea !! Bar staff great. Management non existent. Restaurant serves 99pence microwave meals from local freezer centre, Its only suitable for sales reps stopping overnight...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank lordjones2017
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lordjones2017 Thank you for your review & comments which are of concern. I am very sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion & hope these points were brought to our attention during your stay, as we have no desire to serve the wrong meal or anything less than expected. Portion sizes are generally good, but there...

Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

It's ok. Nothing to write home about. The room is pretty basic and it does what it says on the tin. I didn't like the lay out of the buildings at all. It's a maze. I think they need to pull it down and start again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lydia s
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lydia Thank you for your review & comments which have all been noted. The hotel does have a certain character with a tremendous amount on offer including the leisure club, pool, saunas & steam room, gym with new Matrix equipment, outdoor tennis courts, games, an independent hair salon, three treatment rooms, fishing lake, helicopter landing as well as the...

Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed for a two night spa break. Upon arrival did wonder what we had let ourselves in for as the hotel does look a bit dated from the outside however looked on the bright side and glad that we did. Although slightly cramped the twin room was fine and had everything we needed including tea and coffee facilities. I agree...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank coopered
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear coopered Thank you for your review & your positive comments which are very much appreciated. I am pleased you warmed to the character of the hotel & the warmth of our staff. Pleased you enjoyed your break & the facilities & hope to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely, Dominic

174 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (124)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hollingbourne
24.6 km away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
2.2 km away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
5.8 km away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Days Inn Maidstone
Days Inn Maidstone
#14 of 15 in Maidstone
160 reviews
13.8 km away
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
12.1 km away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel

Address: Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel Ashford Road, Hollingbourne ME17 1RE, England (Formerly Mercure Maidstone Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Hollingbourne
Price Range: ₹ 4,664 - ₹ 9,164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Maidstone
Maidstone Ramada
Ramada Maidstone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Gillingham, United Kingdom
4 months ago
London, United Kingdom
2 months ago
London
1 month ago
Bexley, United Kingdom
3 months ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms overlooking the garden are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles FreenMarg, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose a suite lots of space, lovely bed, 2 TVs, Nespresso machine and wifi.”
 of 5 bubbles daytrip38, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Only problem was that the thermostatic radiator valves wouldn't shut down completely so opening windows to get air meant the room became hotter and hotter. Otherwise an excellent venue & facilities. ”
 of 5 bubbles xc90caravanpuller, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade to a privilege room if you can.”
 of 5 bubbles beccyhawkyard, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Check before you arrive just in case someone changes your reservation.”
 of 5 bubbles 131colleenc, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5