We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

979 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 911: English reviews
Start your review of Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

I entered the Mercure Maidstone through a cloud of smoke caused by 15-20 male smokers congregated outside the entrance. I got my breath back and was greeted by a polite young women on reception. My room was pretty nice with a modern Samsung LCD. My major problem with the hotel is the poor wifi, 2 minutes to open google up,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JTVernon
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for one night (2 rooms) last weekend and from the manager downwards we received superb customer service from all the staff at the hotel. Nothing was too much trouble with everyone so kind and helpful that it made our stay memorable. Thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cathy K
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great hotel fantastic staff warm and friendly atmosphere and fantastic facilities. The room was great and so was the food look forward to returning in a few months time for the only fools and horses comedy night

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann-Marie M
liverpool
Reviewed 1 week ago

Surprised this hotel hasn't blown away by now as the walls are obviously made of paper....looks nice downstairs but it is a hike to the bedrooms. Didn't sleep at all for the 2 nights we were there as the walls are so thin,you can hear all footsteps and conversations in the corridors,the doors have automatic closers which cause them to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank liverlover-49
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel in June last year and after a small hiccup with our room we were moved to a better one overlooking the gardens. Pleasant enough and fulfilled our needs but the place is a little tired and when there is a conference on (which is most days) the parking is hard to find. Also - signage...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FreenMarg
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The room was lovely and comfortable,massive big bed which was nice especially for one.breakfast was very nice with a good selection of continental and full English.evening meal was great if a bit pricey for burger and chips but the chips we're the best I have had in a while,all in all very good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank arkright1972
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Whilst you "live" with hotels like this whilst working - now we are in retirement, we shouldn't have stayed at the Mercure, Maidstone.......a large, characterless hotel,poor bedrooms, paper thin walls, rowdy groups (it was a weekend) and slow service in the restaurant. Not for us

 Report
Helpful?
Thank An_Old_Burian
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

From the chaotic arrival of everyone trying to check in at 2pm to find out their rooms weren't ready and having to wait ages to the dirty breakfast this hotel is horrible. Blood stains on the curtains, brown stains on the un-bleached bedsheets and towels, weeks worth of toothpaste and spit stains all over the un-cleaned sink, dirty plates and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Joe B
England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From the moment we checked in to celebrate our wedding anniversary to when we left we could not have been treated any better. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and the manager Dominic Di Cara was exceptionally hospitable. The evening meal was excellent as was the service. We stayed in a suite which was very comfortable, spotlessly clean,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daytrip38
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear daytrip38 Thank you very much for your positive review. I am delighted you had such an enjoyable break and yes - the Beatles stayed here for a few nights whilst filming Magical Mystery Tour in the 60's. Hope to see you back again soon. Best wishes, Dominic

Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well from start to finish it was poor. Check in was a problem which took a while to resolve.The room, well it stank of cigarettes, or a very stale smell which i could not find. The room was extremely hot, and i mean really hot but the radiators were cold, so you would never want to stop here in warm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ispy71
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ispy71 Thank you for your review and comments which have all been carefully noted and shared with the management team. I appreciated your positive comments about the bed & the LED TVs. I am however very sorry if we did not meet your expectations on this occasion and if a rogue sized plate found its way to the breakfast...

174 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (124)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hollingbourne
24.6 km away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
2.2 km away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
5.8 km away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Days Inn Maidstone
Days Inn Maidstone
#14 of 15 in Maidstone
160 reviews
13.8 km away
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
12.1 km away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel

Address: Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel Ashford Road, Hollingbourne ME17 1RE, England (Formerly Mercure Maidstone Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Hollingbourne
Price Range: ₹ 4,664 - ₹ 9,164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Maidstone
Maidstone Ramada
Ramada Maidstone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Gillingham, United Kingdom
4 months ago
London, United Kingdom
2 months ago
London
1 month ago
Bexley, United Kingdom
3 months ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms overlooking the garden are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles FreenMarg, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose a suite lots of space, lovely bed, 2 TVs, Nespresso machine and wifi.”
 of 5 bubbles daytrip38, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Only problem was that the thermostatic radiator valves wouldn't shut down completely so opening windows to get air meant the room became hotter and hotter. Otherwise an excellent venue & facilities. ”
 of 5 bubbles xc90caravanpuller, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade to a privilege room if you can.”
 of 5 bubbles beccyhawkyard, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Check before you arrive just in case someone changes your reservation.”
 of 5 bubbles 131colleenc, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5