We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Rose in Vale Country House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

464 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 453: English reviews
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My boyfriend took me here as a surprise for my birthday. We stayed here for 3 nights and it was absolutely beautiful. I loved everything about the stay, the food was incredible the staff were wonderful and it was really lovely. Would recommend to anyone and will be going back at some stage in the future :) xx

Helpful?
Thank Amber G
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On arrival we were given a very warm welcome whilst checking in. We were shown to our room - The Rose suite and the receptionist was very informative. The rose suite was decorated with a warm and homely feel with some great statement furniture. Seating in the windows offering delightful views over the gardens a wonderful addition. Tea making facilities... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank missperfectsarah2016
Penzance, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was meant to be a relaxing few days paying out for a much more luxurious hotel than I usually go to, much needed after a very busy time. I would say this hotel although set in lovely gardens (which we could not enjoy owing to the autumn Cornish weather, not the hotel owners' fault!) did not live up to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank heatherc0llings
RoseinVale, Manager at Rose in Vale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our restaurant and thank you for your kind comments. Our hotel is very warm and cosy. We have an advanced eco-friendly heating system which happened to trip out due to a very minor technical issue. It was a cold day but at the same time we had a wedding... More 

South of England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Rose in Vale is in a lovely tranquil setting. The staff are very helpful and pleasant. We stayed in a superior room that was spacious and clean, with a good sized bathroom. We only eat breakfast, but, it was very good, with a choice of hot breakfasts, and a nice choice of continental breakfast as well. I would definitely... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wanderingbod
RoseinVale, Manager at Rose in Vale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. It was a delight having you stay with us and we very much look forward to seeing you in the future. More 

Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed recently for four nights in twin room. Beds very comfortable. Room very, very clean. Lovely large fluffy towels and bathrobes. No problem linking to free wifi. Whole atmosphere of hotel calm and peaceful. Good choice on breakfast and dinner menu. Loved the homemade bread/rolls served with meal and enjoyed the different flavours each night. Ideal hotel for touring this... More 

Helpful?
Thank Owlsash
RoseinVale, Manager at Rose in Vale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. Each afternoon we make all kinds of exciting breads incorporating white chocolate, chilli, seaweed, fruits and so on which provides a lovely start to dinner and we are pleased you enjoyed it. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We booked this hotel as a last minute dot com as the place that we were staying elsewhere was disappointing and based on its 4 AA stars coupled with 2 AA Rosettes (out of the frying pan into the fire). The room was priced at £185.00 (with a 10% discount for direct booking) and we were put in room 15... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony G
RoseinVale, General Manager at Rose in Vale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anthony, I was surprised at your review so thank you for discussing this with me in more detail during our follow up telephone call. My understanding is that you came to stay with us because you disliked your accommodation in St Ives, you were unhappy about the loaction of the car parks which were too far from your accommodation,... More 

Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights in mid-October. The hotel is expensive and 4 star. We had high hopes. The situation is beautiful and the grounds are lovely. We had a meal in the hotel on our first night. We booked it with the lady on reception (the owner I believe). When we went to the restaurant, they were not... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Dorothy C
RoseinVale, General Manager at Rose in Vale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and observations with us regarding your recent stay. Our staff receive so many wonderful compliments about their highly personal, professional and attentive service. We are sorry to learn that asking for milk interrupted your breakfast and caused you a level of dissatisfaction; we will follow up with additional training and... More 

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

Mmmmm. This hotel is in a really good position for touring the area, rooms are good, really clean., in fact the whole of the hotel is really clean. Well done housekeeping . There was a lack of atmosphere here and did not feel particularly welcoming. The restaurant staff are very pleasant and keen to serve BUT they lack leadership and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jan B
RoseinVale, General Manager at Rose in Vale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and observations with us regarding your recent stay. Thank you for your kind comments regarding housekeeping. Our staff receive many wonderful compliments about their friendly and highly attentive service and it is very disappointing to learn that on this occasion we failed to meet your expectations. We were pleased to... More 

gloucester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2016

The location of this Country house hotel is excellent, lovely village with good access to local beaches at St Sgnmes and Perranporth and, central for travelling further afield. Sitting in its own grounds with woodland walks it's an ideal restful place to visit. It has 4 stars BUT it is falling short of that standard and, at best, in my... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank gloucesterboy58
RoseinVale, General Manager at Rose in Vale Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Writing with such authority one may be lured into thinking you have 'knowledge' and that you at least know your beans? We can tell you that these were indeed Heinz but don't take our word for it. A all foods are lot traceable so by all means call them directly quoting code 09-2017 BV 5 6266 05:55 as per the... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Beautiful house, lovely gardens, and to top it all friendly welcoming staff. Very homely and very relaxing atmosphere. Couldn't ask for more. Would definitely recommend and visit again as often in area visiting daughter at uni

Helpful?
2 Thank Sonia E

101 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (85)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mithian
10.1 km away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
719 reviews
3.1 km away
Beacon Country House Hotel
11.8 km away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
St. Agnes Hotel
St. Agnes Hotel
#2 of 4 in St Agnes
189 reviews
10.1 km away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,100 reviews
2.4 km away
The Rosemundy House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Rose in Vale is an historic and secluded Country House Hotel dating back to the 17th century. Set in a secluded wooded valley with a stream running through floral gardens we are located on the North Cornish coast near St Agnes. Privately owned and family run with emphasis on cleanliness, friendly service and relaxation. Our Chef, Tom Bennetts, provides seasonal fine dining in our 2AA rosette restaurant. We do not take children under 12 years of age. We are dog friendly and within easy reach of everything that Cornwall has to offer yet provide for a peaceful retreat at the end of the day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rose in Vale Country House Hotel

Address: Mithian | St Agnes, Mithian TR5 0QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mithian
Price Range: ₹ 10,652 - ₹ 16,752 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rose in Vale Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Rose in Vale Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rose in Vale Country House Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Rose in Vale Country House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Number 4 was a bit dark and musky smelling. Tired looking ensuite. Not 4 stars.”
 of 5 bubbles gloucesterboy58, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rooms 16 & 17 - small & above kitchen which is noisy early morning!”
 of 5 bubbles Phtouchwood, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Woodlands room has five beautiful Georgian sash windows to gaze out along the drive.”
 of 5 bubbles annecF2150QC, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms face out onto beautiful gardens. Not one is better than another.”
 of 5 bubbles davidhJ5921YH, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms seem to be very good, we had superior rooms which overlooked the garden”
 of 5 bubbles FredSparkes, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay