The Anchorage Hotel & Spa

The Anchorage Hotel & Spa

26 Corlette Point Rd, Corlette, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315 Australia
Traveller (1084)
Panorama of the Anchorage Garden View Room at the Anchorage Port Stephens
360
Panoramas (6)
Two bedroom loft
Room & Suite (590)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#1 of 1 resort in Corlette
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Escape to your private haven with a magical mid-week getaway at The Anchorage Hotel & Spa in Port Stephens. Perched right on the cusp of the boutique Marina with its effortless luxury and unrivalled natural surroundings, a stay at The Anchorage Hotel & Spa will linger in your mind long after your voyage ends. Overlooking one of the most beautiful ports in Australia, The Anchorage Hotel & Spa is an idyllic Hamptons-style resort offering five-star luxury and only a leisurely two and a half hours drive from Sydney or a short 30-minute drive from Newcastle Airport. Wake up in waterfront accommodation and stroll the white sands of Corlette beach. Dine in The Galley Kitchen, then lose an afternoon over luxurious treatments in Spa Lucca. From hidden beaches to explore to awe-inspiring mountain peaks to conquer with sights of local dolphins and whales, embark on a journey to uncover salt-tinged air adventures. Then wind down in the cosy lounge by a warming open fire and enjoy a drink at Moby’s Bar, which reflects the local seaside charm.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Fishing
Children's playground
Car park
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Board games / puzzles
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Massage
Open-air bath
Salon
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Complimentary toiletries
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Languages Spoken
English

Location

26 Corlette Point Rd, Corlette, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315 Australia
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles1,455 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Nestled in a scenic marina setting, The Anchorage Hotel & Spa garners admiration for its stylish atmosphere and pristine cleanliness, with many guests lauding the well-appointed rooms for their comfort and striking views. While the hotel's location and amenities, such as quality breakfast and attentive service, are often praised, some visitors have encountered issues with air conditioning and pool temperature. Despite its charm, the establishment faces some criticism over perceived value, with a few travelers feeling the service does not justify the expense.
Location
Picturesque
Atmosphere
Serene
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Top-notch

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
1,455Review22Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 746
  • 411
  • 163
  • 71
  • 64
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Massagesue wrote a review Jan 2020
Sydney, Australia
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A beautiful Hamptons inspired resort. We stayed in a suite which incorporated a lounge room with balcony off and a huge upstairs bedroom with bathroom. The bed was super comfy and the bath big enough for two with a rain shower seperate. The beach next door to the resort has the whitest sand and we walked it at 6.30am and saw much wildlife including wild black swans. The buffet breakfast included everything. Fabulous variety. And the adult only pool heated to 24 degrees was perfect at 8am!! My only gripe would be that you can’t check in till 3pm. We would have been happy to pay for early checkin and got there at 11.30am. We were told they would ring us when our room was ready. Obviously the receptionist had no intention of telling or asking anyone. We called back in twice and finally got to check in at, yes you guessed it, 3pm. We were tired and wanted to sleep and it would have taken very little effort for her to inform the cleaners to clean our room first. Not impressed with young girls on front desk. All other staff were wonderful
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ali H, General Manager at The Anchorage Hotel & Spa
Responded 11 Jan 2020
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences and providing us with a 5 star review. I was particularly disappointed to hear of the service you experienced at the front desk and would like to assure you that this is by no means representative of our usual high standards. Rest assured I have raised each point with our team. I am glad that you found your accommodations and dining options to be excellent. We are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed yourselves and our wonderful views of the harbour. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Ali H General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
xalx wrote a review Aug 2020
Brisbane, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed two nights in the Anchorage room for a mid week getaway. I wanted a luxurious getaway to indulge a bit and given we can't go overseas we settled on finding something closer to home - the Anchorage was a hidden gem, I'd never heard of it before but it ticked all the boxes for a nice five star hotel.

The location and room were just perfect, I enjoyed sitting with a cup of tea on the balcony and watching the marina below - it was very peaceful indeed.
The room itself was large, the bathroom amenities super modern with a rain shower too. Bed was comfy and the robes were so soft. The quality easily better than some five star resorts I've stayed in abroad.

As to the grounds, they're lovely for a walk around the marina (a local pointed out some dolphins to us swimming just by the beach which was very special to see for us). The included breakfast was solid for an al a carte selection in covid, we enjoyed it very much - although I do not recommend the corn fritters as you seem to get more batter than corn. The poached eggs were excellent and hollandaise was very good.
I do recommend having a car to visit this location as if you want to get out and explore the Anchorage is a little away from town, which makes it so peaceful and private. There was plenty of parking.

Thanks Anchorage for a splendid holiday, I am hoping for a chance to visit again soon!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kirstie F, Guest Services / Front Office at The Anchorage Hotel & Spa
Responded 30 Aug 2020
Dear Xalx, Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences and providing us with such a wonderful review. I am delighted to hear that you where able to have a beautiful mid week getaway with us. I will pass your lovely comments onto our teams. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Kirstie
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
LeonaBoztepe wrote a review Feb 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This wasn’t our first visit and stay at the Anchorage, but I think it was the best. The team at reservations made a last minute Christmas booking possible which as we all know is a Christmas miracle. The Captains suite was sublime and perfect for a few days stay. We ordered room service on the first night and loved the pizza so much it was our go to evening meal for the rest of our stay! The breakfast selection was amazing but I think it’s the location a little away from the tourists a quiet beach just outside your door a heated pool and the friendly local relaxed service that made this a wonderful family break!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ali H, General Manager at The Anchorage Hotel & Spa
Responded 5 Feb 2020
Dear Leona, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Anchorage Port Stephens and thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. I'm delighted to hear you had a wonderful experience at the hotel and our colleagues were able to delight you. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon. Kind Regards, Ali H General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mitchell wrote a review Sept 2020
2.0 of 5 bubbles
we got there at 1.30 check in is 3pm was told by Catherine at reception the room wasn't ready i said where is the room oh i can't tell you that but I will ring you when it's ready OK. By 3.15 we got frustrated and rang the hotel oh yes the room is ready i said why didn't Catherine call us oh she was to busy what a great start.The staff that checked us in need to go to happy school a trio of sad sacks. The room was good and the housekeeping staff excellent breakfast was good and so was the service from Angela and her fellow workers i wish I could say the same for the galley restaurant staff need some training and for the outrageous prices i expect a fine dining experience eg tablecloths we ordered confit of duck i nearly had a fit a small leg entrees size with a bit of redcabbage fenneland a slice of orange $42.00 pathetic wasn't a proper confit according to the French definition next dessert $18 for a brullee it came out on a huge plate and lucky I had my distance glasses on because you wouldn't have seen it.The waitress who we nicknamed olive oil with the personality of a piece of wood asked my wife what she thought of dessert she responded with very ordinary oh can I get you anything else I responded yes McDonald's. For the money I could not recommend this place find somewhere else
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kirstie Foster, Guest Services / Front Office at The Anchorage Hotel & Spa
Responded 15 Sept 2020
I thank you for taking the time to provide your review. I am disappointed to hear that your welcome to the hotel was not satisfactory. Please accept our apologies that our Front Office Team was not welcoming upon your arrival. I have passed your lovely comments onto our housekeeping and breakfast teams and your feedback onto our Food and Beverage Management Team. I thank you once again for providing us with your feedback as we always look to continually improve.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
luvtuscany wrote a review Dec 2020
Sydney, Australia
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary which was a very special occasion so we decided to spend two nights in an Anchorage Room at $550 per night. We requested a “very quiet room” and they noted this in our booking. When they rang a couple of days before our visit I mentioned again about our request for a quiet room as my husband is a very light sleeper. On arrival we were given a room beside the main restaurant overlooking the pool. We immediately went back to the concierge and mentioned that this did not appear to be a very quiet location. They could see our request for a quiet room but said that most people asked for a quiet room so it is often not taken seriously. We were not expecting the quietest room in the hotel however another member of staff said that our room was “one of the noisiest rooms”!
We could tell that they were not going to move us as they were almost full so we decided to make the best of it.
That evening was a disaster for my husband. As people left the restaurant many tended to congregate and say their goodbyes beside the pool (which was below our room). The pool filter turned on and off throughout the evening so we kept the door door shut which made the room hot. When we turned on the air conditioner it was very noisy so eventually we opened the door. The walls are paper thin however no room would have solved this problem.
Having had little sleep my husband went down to concierge early the next morning. Although the gentleman on the concierge was appreciative of our dilemma nothing was resolved so again we decided to let it go and continue to enjoy our very special day even though we knew we had another long night ahead of us.
In summary, I suppose we have learnt that although it was a very, very special holiday for my husband and I, it would seem apparent that it was just another two nights accommodation for the owners of the Anchorage.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Anchorage, Guest Services / Front Office at The Anchorage Hotel & Spa
Responded 27 Dec 2020
Dear Luvtuscany, Thank you for taking the time to review The Anchorage, Port Stephens. We would like to take the time to apologise that we weren't able to honor your request of room allocation on this occasion. Please be assured that we do take the time to try and ensure all guest requests are actioned. We do hope to welcome you back to our amazing property sometime in the New Year and thank you for your feedback. Best regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Deb H wrote a review Feb 2021
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I stayed here for 2 days at the and of January, we had booked 3, but left early. The cost of the room was $640 per night and the full amount had been deducted from our account before we had even checked in. The room we were allocated was room 203 or 208 (I have forgotten the number), ground floor, directly opposite the building entry, was nothing better than a $100 motel room.
When we arrived the carpet was soaking wet in places and the room smelt like a dirty toilet, we initially thought that it was because the windows were closed, so we opened them and left for a while. When we returned the smell was still there, so I went up to reception and asked if they could get someone to come and put some domestos in the drains and toilet to get rid of the unpleasant odour. The lovely girl at the front desk was very helpful and said that house keeping were not on duty to help, but that she would come to our room to do it. This lovely young lady came to our room half an hour later, bleach in hand, we poured it down the drains etc and finally got rid of the smell.
The room had a number of flaws, the wardrobe had a safe high on the wall, which meant you were unable to hang up your clothes. We removed the ironing board from the only space within the wardrobe and had to leave it against the wall in our room. The bathroom was so small that when you opened the door, it would hit the toilet. There were no draws to place clothing items in and the furniture in the room looked like 70’s furniture purchased from Vinnies.
The other issue we had was that we were placed directly opposite the family pool, where, from early in the day, was filled with screaming children. We didn’t have children with us at the time, which makes me wonder why they would have placed us there? There was very little privacy, as we were on the main route to this pool and what was meant to be a relaxing 3 days away was not.
At 6:30 am on the third day, we decided that we did not want to stay another day/night. I went to reception to see if we could check out early. I spoke with a very helpful gentleman, who said that it was not possible to receive the $640 back for the night we were cancelling, it was against hotel policy. I requested to speak to the manager, who was not in until about 9:30 am. When I returned to reception to speak with the manager, I was met by a very unhelpful woman, who would not listen. She refused to cancel our 3rd night of accommodation, despite us being very unhappy with the room. When I mentioned the issues, she said that she had never had these complaints before and made out I was lying about the unpleasant odour in the room, even stating that people make a specific request for that room!!! Her solution was to offer us a voucher to use the $640 on a room at another time! I responded by saying that I don’t want to stay here now, why would I want to return. She was adamant that that’s how it was going to be, however on checkout, they took all of the other cost’s (restaurant, drinks etc), off the remaining $640, leaving us with a voucher for $128 to spend there again.....not!
I would like to say that all of the staff that we encountered were very helpful and lovely, except for the manager on duty that day. The communal areas were beautiful and well maintained, so it is such a shame that they have let themselves down by such a poor quality room and poor managerial skills.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Don’t stay here, there are other hotels that are less expensive and better quality.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Anchorage, Guest Services / Front Office at The Anchorage Hotel & Spa
Responded 17 Feb 2021
Dear T1263LAdebrah, Thank you for taking the time to review The Anchorage, Port Stephens. We have gone back over your reservation with us as we wanted to clarify that the room you booked was indeed an Anchorage room. To which you were allocated. We do have suite categories also available for upgrade at the hotel that are larger. We are sorry that you felt the room was not suitable for you given the location and size. The Anchorage, Port Stephens is a 'family friendly' property, we have always been and always will be. With regards to your room cleanliness, our rooms are consistently maintained by our housekeeping and maintenance teams. Something we have absolute priority on. We are of course delighted to read that overall our staff provided you with exceptional service and we can't agree enough about your comments regarding our communal areas! We do hope to welcome you back - please feel free to touch base with us directly and let us assist you in booking a more suitable room category. Best regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karyn S wrote a review Feb 2020
Melbourne, Australia
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We just returned from a 3 day package through luxury escapes at the Anchorage. We upgraded to the loft room. Resort is lovely, loved the Hamptons style and the bed was very comfortable and rooms quiet. The breakfast was really great with everything you could want including smoked salmon and smashed avocado. Lovely local made bakery breads. Eggs cooked to order. Fresh juices of your choice and expresso coffee included.
I did however have a couple of issues. The inclusions clearly stated a welcome drink in Moby’s bar, choice of beer, wine or soft drink. Which they would not honour instead offering a champagne in the foyer whilst checking in. I tried to point out that it wasn’t the same thing but 2 different staff members dismissed me showed no interest. The beers and wine in Mobys were $12 each. Hardly the same as a sip of champagne!
Whilst we were staying there was a rugby team also staying. One of the players was kind enough to invite us and another 2 couples to help them eat the lovely sandwiches and salads that they had over ordered for their team lunch they had just finished by the pool. It was a really nice gesture and so much better than all that food going to waste. As I was enjoying a few sandwiches one of the hotel managers came over to me and scolded me saying it’s not byo around the pool, you can’t eat your own food. I explained it was the footballers left over lunch that they had offered us and he went off saying that they were not allowed to order food in and he started shouting no no. Grabbed all the boxes of food and stormed off with them, called the football team manager to come and collect it all and throw it all in the bin. What a waste. Nowhere did it say that you couldn’t eat your own food by the pool. I was just having a quiet sit by the pool and ended up getting yelled at.
Anyway spoilt my day, whoever you were you are very rude and I don’t expect to be treated like that at a supposed 5 star resort! And given that the entire football team booked many rooms and spent a lot of money at the resort your attitude toward them was appalling, shame on you!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ali Hnaien, General Manager at The Anchorage Hotel & Spa
Responded 9 Mar 2020
Dear Valued Guest, I would like to thank you for kindly taking the time to post your feedback, following your stay with us at the Anchorage Port Stephens. Firstly, thank you for your constructive and detailed feedback. I'm pleased that you did enjoy your room and that you found our breakfast to be of a high quality. I am however, sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations in some areas of the Hotel and would like to take this opportunity to apologise for any inconvenience caused. I was particularly disappointed to hear of the service you experienced and would like to assure you that this is by no means representative of our usual high standards. I have spoken to the staff members who were not aware of the correct welcome drink policy associated with your package which will avoid further occurrences. I'm also terribly sorry for the way you were spoken to regarding the leftover food and can assure you that this is not how we like to treat our guests. I do hope that you will allow us the opportunity to redeem ourselves, when your travels next bring you to Port Stephens. Warm regards, Ali H General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tim B wrote a review Jan 2020
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a lovely room here albeit my with would have liked a little more clothes storage space, I don't think the rooms are this hotels issue, its position overlooking the small harbour is lovely also. The issue is two fold, essentially it's been over developed so there are too many rooms for the size of the plot, so this means that the outside space is limited, with two pools you would think it shouldn't be a problem but at full capacity in holiday periods the children's pool (by far the largest) is packed with screaming kids, parents and grandparents, so go to the adults pool I here you say, well we tried each day we were there but with just 12 sun beds (yes 12, there is no room for more) it was impossible. There was literally no where else apart from your own balcony, which was ok for an hour or so but not comfortable.So we just went out or to the restaurant, which brings me to the second problem. The restaurant is just not to the standard of the hotel, it just never felt exclusive enough, why? Because there are just to many people, especially at breakfast all fighting for the same space and because it was holiday time there were more children than adults, no I like kids, i was one myself once I have two, i have two grand kids. I just dont like them in such a confined space where i cant get away from them. The waiting staff were mostly friendly, but some were somewhat disheveled maybe because the had to deal with all the kids? One piece of advice i know you need to maximize on your potential and The Anchorage certainly has great potential and is a lovely property, but as it is you cannot claim to be 5 stars. Probably 4 at the most, either make it adults only and up your game in the restaurant and it would be perfect and 5 star all the way, or keep it a family friendly establishment and make it clear that there are limited facilities for adult couples.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ali H, General Manager at The Anchorage Hotel & Spa
Responded 11 Jan 2020
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback and for choosing to stay at The Anchorage Port Stephens. I am happy that overall you were able to enjoy your stay with us. Thank you for your constructive and detailed feedback. I was sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations in some areas of the Hotel and would like to take this opportunity to apologise for any inconvenience caused. I do hope that you will allow us the opportunity to redeem ourselves, when your travels next bring you to Port Stephens. Kind Regards, Ali H General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dovman wrote a review Feb 2020
Sydney, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I spent 7 nights at the Anchorage to celebrate our anniversary. The location is perfect as the resort is behind a working marina and most every room has a view of the ocean. There is a sandy beach just next to the resort and a couple of short walks as well. The rooms were lovely and clean. We had a room on the second floor with a balcony overlooking the boats which was great for having wine and cheese at sunset. The staff were all very professional and clearly well trained. The breakfast buffet was the best I have ever experienced anywhere in the world. The best aspect for me was a juicing machine with oranges, beets, celery, ginger, carrots etc to make your own juice. The quality of the other offerings was superb. Overall this is a 5 star resort and most likely the nicest place to stay in the greater Nelson Bay area.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Upper level rooms with a balcony were better than the ground floor for views and privacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ali H, General Manager at The Anchorage Hotel & Spa
Responded 15 Feb 2020
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your kind comments and for taking the time to share your memorable experiences with us. I am glad that you found your accommodations and dining options to be excellent. We are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed yourselves and our wonderful views of the harbour. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Ali H General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
davenstacey wrote a review Apr 2021
Warners Bay, Australia
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our first visit here was some 21 years ago, so I was expecting it to be a bit tired. Thankfully I could not have been more wrong. The hotel is in mint condition, the facilities were great and I thought the two pools were like new. One pool is adults only, and very luxurious. Our room (104) was in the block adjacent to the Adults pool and was an “Anchorage Room”, very quiet deluxe accommodation which included a full hot and cold Sparkling breakfast, which was delicious (we stopped at two glasses of Champagne). The bed was supremely comfortable, lovely pillows, and ducted A/C. Happy hour at their well stocked bar was between 4 and 6PM, see if you can be there when Ellis is on. As he is a top notch cocktail Batman, and can make pretty much anything. To work off all the Champagne perhaps do the 5klm walk along the foreshore into Nelson Bay, highly recommended. Well won’t be waiting another 21 years that’s for sure, see you there.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Anchorage, Guest Services / Front Office at The Anchorage Hotel & Spa
Responded 25 Apr 2021
Dear davenstacey, Thank you for taking the time to review The Anchorage, Port Stephens. Please be assured we have passed your feedback onto our team and hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon - hopefully not in another 21 years!! Best regards, The Anchorage Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
natmoy82 asked a question Nov 2023
Sydney, Australia
Hello is either the family or adult pool heated?
Answer from John H
Melbourne, Australia10 contributions11 helpful votes
I do not know as i didn't use either pool
NgSarah asked a question Feb 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Hi! Are there any rooms with in room washing machine and dryer?
Answer from Barry G
Carlingford, Australia7 contributions9 helpful votes
No
Port Stephens, Australia
Good Afternoon, Thank you for your inquiry, please note Interconnecting room are available for two Anchorage Rooms which can occupy for 4 persons. Kindly note that Interconnecting rooms are subject on Availability upon reservations. Should you require further assistance, please feel free to contact us. Best regards, Anchorage Front Office Team
Port Stephens, Australia
Good Morning, Thank you for your query, please note that we allow guest from 18 yrs old and above to the adult pool. Hence our family pool accepts all ages Thank you Anchorage Front Office Team
Debbie R asked a question Jun 2021
Kellyville, Australia6 contributions2 helpful votes
How far away is the beach to walk to
Answer from judy m
Toronto, Australia170 contributions62 helpful votes
HI DEBBIE My answer is on the Tripadvisor website long with other reviewers, thank you
TrevorDoornbos wrote a tip Jun 2024
Sydney, Australia254 contributions72 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"The photo on the booking page is not the room you are getting. The Anchorage Room photo used is actually of a Master Suite room."
Read full review
Imme4 wrote a tip Jun 2024
Sydney, Australia546 contributions91 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"parking limited. Restaurant reservations a must. Bar food is outstanding so an option and no booking required in bar area."
Read full review
Pippa48 wrote a tip May 2024
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It's quite a long way from the shops so you definitely need a car."
Read full review
Lisa R wrote a tip May 2024
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get a deal that includes extras such as breakfast, late checkout, sparkling wine…"
Read full review
Servicer123 wrote a tip Apr 2024
17 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay here if you want beautiful surroundings, cleanliness and a friendly atmosphere. The Staff were extremely helpful and nice."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Corlette area.
PRICE RANGE
₹17,550 - ₹23,901 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
peppers anchorage port stephens hotel corlette, peppers anchorage hotel port stephens, peppers anchorage resort port stephens
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Peppers Anchorage Port Stephens
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesGreater NewcastlePort StephensCorlette
NUMBER OF ROOMS
82
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE ANCHORAGE HOTEL & SPA (Corlette) - Resort Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Anchorage Hotel & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to The Anchorage Hotel & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Tomaree Head (6.6 km), Gan Gan Lookout (3.0 km), and Irukandji Shark & Ray Encounters (6.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Anchorage Hotel & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Anchorage Hotel & Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Anchorage Hotel & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at The Anchorage Hotel & Spa?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Anchorage Hotel & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Poyer's, Little Beach Boathouse, and The Little Nel Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Anchorage Hotel & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Is The Anchorage Hotel & Spa located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Corlette.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Anchorage Hotel & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Anchorage Hotel & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Anchorage Hotel & Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Johnny's Well (3.1 km).
All Corlette HotelsCorlette Hotel DealsHotels near The Anchorage Hotel & Spa
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire