We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Rethymno Mare Royal Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Rethymno Mare Royal Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

270 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 94: English reviews
Nivelles, Belgium
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed a week in this hotel, which is the smaller part of two hotels intertwined along a busy road. They have also a beach which can be accessed by a tunnel underneath the main road (where you can take public bus to Rethymno, some 30 minutes at least). For this hotel there is a separate swimming pool and restaurant....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BelgianInIstanbul
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2016

I have made a list of observations from our week’s stay at Rethymno Mare in August 2016. They’re not complaints - we had, in the main, a very good stay here. • The hotel is a 100 euro taxi ride from the airport. I tell you this so you are prepared for the cost of your holiday to be increased...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gary W
Manolis T, Διευθυντής at Rethymno Mare Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gary W, We would like to express our gratitude for your visit at our Rethymno Mare Royal hotel and for the time you spend sharing a review on your stay. We appreciate your kind comments regarding the food in the restaurant and we are very happy to read that you had, in the main, a very good stay here....

Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

Superb staff, brilliant food, relaxed atmosphere. We had a brilliant holiday. They staff were superb and really accommodating. Every meal was delicious. We loved chilling in the beach listening to the sea. Recommend to anyone. Excellent holiday

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kp1212
Manolis T, Διευθυντής at Rethymno Mare Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kp1212, Greatly thank you for the amazing review you posted on Tripadvisor. Your comments are indeed appreciated and we are all delighted that your expectations were exceeded. We thank you for choosing our property for your holiday, thank you for your support and we all look forward to welcoming you back in our hotel for one more brilliant holiday....

Surrey
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Just returned from 10 day stay at the Mare Royal. The staff work very hard and they are the reason I have felt compelled to write a review. The hotel itself could do with an upgrade. We had a superior sea view room - whilst we had a sea view I would not describe the room as superior as the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KP12
Manolis T, Διευθυντής at Rethymno Mare Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear KP12, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to read that you overall enjoyed your holidays at Rethymno Mare Royal. Your comments are valuable to us and will be taken into serious consideration during winter when we renovate and refurbish before we reopen in April 2017. We...

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Great hotel very disable friendly, great little touches, like a small jug of local brew to your room. Rooms very clean as is the hotel and all surrounding area. One bug bear though, which this hotel is not alone in. They have a dining rule that is soooo out of date, trousers for gents at dinner. I agree there should...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JBH219
Manolis T, Διευθυντής at Rethymno Mare Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JBH219, We thank you for your review where you mention your experiences lived at our resort during your stay 2 months ago. It is a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed the cleanliness of the hotel, the food and the friendliness and professionalism of our staff. Thank you for all the details brought to our attention in...

Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Just returned home from a one week stay in the Rethmno Mare Royal. We were very happy with our room. No 760 was a sea view twin room. It was cleaned very well, every day. Beds & pillows very comfy. (apart from the sofa bed which was very hard, our daughter slept in with us 😕. But the main bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clair B
Manolis T, Διευθυντής at Rethymno Mare Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Clair B, We are truthfully delighted by the reading of your review and wanted to express to you our deepest gratitude for your beautiful comments. Thank you for your comments on your room 760 with the comfortable bed, the fabulous A/C and the nice sea view, the cleanliness, the pool, the variety and the quality of the food, the...

Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 August 2016

My family really enjoyed our weeks stay. The staff are all so very helpful and friendly so much so that I could probably name all of them but I have to say a very big thank you to (apologies if I have misspelt names) Michail and Christina on Reception, Deniesa, Kristina, Bettina and in the Restaurant, Nikos in the Pool...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rayg246
Manolis T, Διευθυντής at Rethymno Mare Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear rayg246, Thank you so much for posting such a kind review about your amazing holidays in our hotel. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your vacations here, mainly the food, the pools and it is a pleasure to read so nice words for our staff. On behalf of the entire team of our hotel and especially...

Yorkshire
Reviewed 9 August 2016

We holidayed at this great hotel for two weeks at the end of July '16. We had a wonderfully relaxing holiday and do recommend this hotel. The staff are certainly the hotel's biggest asset. Everyone we met was friendly, efficient and very professional. We did have a minor problem with the first room we were offered, however the reception resolved...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Diane A
Manolis T, Διευθυντής at Rethymno Mare Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Diane A, It is with immense delight that we are reading your incredible review. We are very grateful for your talent in writting with details such a unique and comprehensive description of the hotel and our service. Thank you so much for your very kind and sweet words, thank you for recommending us to other future guests, thank you...

Belgrade, null, Serbia
Reviewed 26 July 2016

I was with my family 10 days in this hotel, and I am very surprised how bad hotel. There is a five-star hotel but it is nothing more than three. The room has no shower, just a jacuzzi where can't take a shower. I asked the exchange room, the staff that kept me in suspense for three days, so I...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Zarko P
Manolis T, Διευθυντής at Rethymno Mare Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Zarko P, Thank you for taking time to send us your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. Your reservation was made for one superior sea view room for 2 adults and 1 child on Half board basis, and you were given an upgraded room superior sea view additional with jacuzzi. Two days later you requested an...

Brugge, België
Reviewed 16 July 2016

We spent 8 days in Crete, at this hotel. We enjoyed our stay. The staff is most friendly, it is a nice hotel to stay. The food is great (buffet). If I should quote some minus-points,I should say that the bathroom is a little outdated and it was not cleaned very well, the WiFi did not reach to our room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jandecoster
Manolis T, Διευθυντής at Rethymno Mare Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jandecoster, We are truly thankful for your review, your very kind words and for your support. We work very hard continuously for the highest satisfaction of our guests, that is our primary concern and we are very happy when we achieve a positive result. Dear jandecoster, you have best regards from everybody working here and we do hope that...

377 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (192)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (65)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (40)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (185)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Beach (11)
Viewed
Junior Suite with Sea View (27)
Viewed
Pool (12)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Suite with Sea View (36)
Viewed
The Hotel (36)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skaleta
12.9 km away
Hotel Rethymnon Mare
Hotel Rethymnon Mare
#3 of 8 in Skaleta
375 reviews
6.4 km away
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Adelianos Kampos
1,919 reviews
38.5 km away
CHC Athina Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
70.7 km away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#6 of 179 in Hersonissos
2,526 reviews
66.2 km away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
0.6 km away
Creta Royal Hotel
Creta Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Skaleta
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Rethymno Mare Royal Hotel

Address: Skaleta, Crete 741 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Skaleta
Price Range: ₹ 6,042 - ₹ 14,120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rethymno Mare Royal Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Bookgreece.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Rethymno Mare Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rethymno Mare Royal Rethymnon
Rethymno Mare Royal Hotel Skaleta, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Skaleta
#2 Family Hotel in Skaleta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Skaleta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rethymno Mare Royal Hotel staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Rethymno Mare Royal Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I'm not sure how you arrange for a third person bed in your room. This would be preferable to a convertible settee.”
 of 5 bubbles E4780PUgaryw, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 732 had a great balcony”
 of 5 bubbles KP12, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for what you need staff are very helpful”
 of 5 bubbles JBH219, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with sea views are really good”
 of 5 bubbles rayg246, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Sea view best, the views over the bay are spectacular”
 of 5 bubbles AM1435, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay