We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Koggala Beach Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 78*
US$ 40*
Great Deal
US$ 46*
US$ 45*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Koggala Beach Hotel
Koggala Beach Hotel
Panoramas (29)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

400 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 224: English reviews
Start your review of Koggala Beach Hotel
 Click to rate
Maidstone
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Wonderfully situated hotel on an unspoilt beach. Very friendly staff. Good selection of dishes with lots of terracotta pots of local spicier foods to add as wished. Ground floor room clean with lovely sea view. Humidity was 80%,very heavy going. Seas all red flag in April, evil undertow. Excellent main roads. Great visit to local tea plantation in Ahangama. Saw...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LacunaMaidstone
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Quite a basic hotel but very clean and in a great location.all the staff were very helpful and friendly especially Kuma in the restaurant. The view from our room was to die for. The entertainment was not on every night but lucky for us we met some really wonderful people so did not matter much but, if on own would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 849barry
Kushan N, Resident Manager at Koggala Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Ayubowan... We expressed our gratitude to you & your feedback was reflecting the commitment of our team. Our team is deserved to provide a memorable experience to all the guests in Koggala Beach Hotel. All your feedback was much important to us & we glad on your appreciation of foods, room & location. We have noted your special comment on...

East Malling, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Having just returned from the Koggala Beach Hotel I can only be positive about our 10 day stay.The hotel has a 3star rating and obviously some things reflect that,our room was very adequate being on the ground floor we had easy access to the gardens and beach,the bathroom needed a freshen up but it didn't affect our use of it.As...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank F3605GZdianef
Kushan N, Resident Manager at Koggala Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Ayubowan.... We appreciated of sharing such a pleasant review of Koggala Beach Hotel. We truly valued all your feedback & it was delighted to read your special concern on our team. Our endeavor is making a memorable holiday for all guests & such a positive comments advance our enthusiasm. All your feedback was reflected in standards of services & product...

Lightwater UK
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Whilst there was a choice of dishes but most of them were neither hot nor appetising. There were a number of people, like myself and my wife, who were taken ill. The salad bar was good when replenished. The deserts were Ok but full of sugar! The all inclusive beverages were very good. Chicken dishes were mainly on the bone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnVG007
Kushan N, Resident Manager at Koggala Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Ayubowan... We are much appreciated of sharing your experience with us & it makes an opportunity to respond. We committed to provide excellent quality products & service to all of you but, you have left the hotel with an opposite idea in your mind. All your comments were important to us to improve our service & we truly sad of...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just returned after 2 weeks at koggala BeAch hotel and wasn't disappointed. To say it is 3 star it is a quality hotel. The food was lovely, although at times repetitive they did put on different themed nights, but was always tasty and plenty to choose from. The drinks were ok but disappointed no diet drinks however the Lion beer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DebbieHocker
Kushan N, Resident Manager at Koggala Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Ayubowan... We were glad about your generous recommendation to the hotel with your recent experience & it was a pleasure to hear you had a great holiday at Koggala Beach Hotel. Our team is enthusiastic for all guests to leave with a memorable story to share with others hence, we always strive to deliver the best beyond the value for...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A lovely friendly hotel right on the beach with nice rooms, good service and much better food than we expected after reading previous reviews. The salad is excellent and there's always plenty of choice of hot international food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Toni R
Kushan N, Resident Manager at Koggala Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Ayubowan, We were much impressed with your generous comments made to Koggala Beach Hotel base on your recent holiday. All your positive comments made encourage of our team to provide best of the services for all guests. We happy to read your enjoyment with our culinary experience & our chef with his team always bring the best menus beyond the...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is idyllically sited on the Indian Ocean. Rooms are arranged over two floors which means you have a fifty-fifty chance of a balcony or a door directly out into the gardens. We travelled as a couple, wanting rest and relaxation following a week of touring Sri Lanka. We got exactly what we wanted. The hotel was exactly as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barbaraharper
Kushan N, Resident Manager at Koggala Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Ayubowan, Thank you for review on Trip advisor & we are happy to hear you had an excellent & enjoyable holiday at Koggala Beach Hotel & Appreciated for the encouragement of service staff, facilities and the atmosphere in the hotel. Our aim is providing a memorable experience to all the guests & our team is always working hard to make...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived at hotel after 28hrs of travel around 9pm and asked if we could have something to eat and was told service was closed..we actually walked past the dining area to our room and saw guests still dining...not a good start. Room was basic but was ample for a 2 week stay and cleaning staff did a really good job...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous T
Kushan N, Resident Manager at Koggala Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Ayubowan... Thank you for spending a time to write your experience had at Koggala Beach Hotel & your feedback is extremely important to us as it gives an insight of the operations from a guest's angle. We believed all your comments are able to improve our services and facilities in future Your positive thought on housekeeping staff has been communicated...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My first plan was to visit Galle, this place is a litttle far from Galle city, its a nice location but theres not much to do. The wifi was terrible and I really needed it. Besides that, great staff and good food buffet.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ecantuh
Kushan N, Resident Manager at Koggala Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Ayubowan.... Thanks for the review with your experience at Koggala Beach Hotel & Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience with WIFI facility. We happy to hear your enjoyment with foods & Appreciated the positive comments made to staff.All your comments have communicated to our team & they are always keen to provide expeptational service to all the guests....

Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Koggala Beach Hotel is relaxed, friendly, efficiently run and well designed. Rooms front onto turf, palm trees, sand and sea and are kept clean and beautiful with fresh flowers strewn on your daily new made bed. The dining room view is to die for and the food both European and local is good, especially the soups. Wine is expensive but...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Jennlli
Kushan N, Resident Manager at Koggala Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Ayubowan... We were impressed to receive the most generous recommendation to the hotel with your recent experience & it was a pleasure to see that you had a great holiday at Koggala Beach Hotel. Our team is passionate for all guests to leaving with a memorable story to share with others hence, we always strive to deliver the best beyond...

724 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (570)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (138)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (110)
Viewed
View from Room (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (66)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
0:37
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (185)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (117)
Viewed
Beach (14)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (44)
Viewed
Pool (17)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (7)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koggala
0.6 km away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
1,391 reviews
0.4 km away
Club Koggala Village
Club Koggala Village
#4 of 5 in Koggala
204 reviews
8.6 km away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 31 in Unawatuna
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 31 in Unawatuna
876 reviews
3.1 km away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 31 in Unawatuna
241 reviews
9.6 km away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 31 in Unawatuna
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Koggala Beach Hotel

Address: Matara Road, Koggala 82104, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Koggala
Price Range: ₹ 2,325 - ₹ 10,076 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Koggala Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koggala Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Koggala Beach Hotel staff and other travellers.
36 questions
Ask a question
Gravesend, United Kingdom
East Malling, United Kingdom
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
East Malling, United Kingdom
lincolnsgire

See all questions (36)

Questions? Get answers from Koggala Beach Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“615 a good room”
849barry, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“We were sited in room S612A with our own patio and access to the beach 50 metres away.”
JohnVG007, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“All rooms face the sea”
  • Ella
DebbieHocker, 13 May 2017 | Read review
“Zimmer im Erdgeschoss (z.B. Nr 604 )”
Ulla263, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ocean view”
sandyw42, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$ 40* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 46
Hotwire.comUS$ 45
HotelQuicklyUS$ 78
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates