We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lord's Guest Lodge-McGregor

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Lord\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

152 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 144: English reviews
Start your review of Lord's Guest Lodge-McGregor
 Click to rate
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Room good, staff friendly but 5 mistakes on the bill when leaving left a bitter taste. 2 pizzas charged for lunch instead of 1, 2 mistakes with wine, salad over charged and R200 for a cheese platter was a rip off, they reduced it to R150

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank harryr545
Lord's Guest Lo... M, Owner at Lord's Guest Lodge-McGregor, responded to this review

Gooday Sir, Thank you so much for your review. Thank you so much for staying at Lord's Guest Lodge and complimenting our rooms and staff. Just to give some clarity on your bill. Only 1 pizza was charged at R85 which was shared amongst 3 adults with an additional fee of R25 for sharing of plate. During dinner you requested...

Cape Town
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We found this charming guest lodge by chance and were pleasantly surprised when we drove up and were greeted by the very friendly staff. We were shown to our executive cottage - there are 4 in total - all given Scottish names and decorated with touches of the relevant tartan. The history of each clan is displayed in a frame...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne G
Leipzig
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The lodge is highly recommended. The staff, the location and the food are absolute top. You can only recommend this accommodation and we will return It is here as in paradise . Really recommendable 👍👍👍

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank michaeldL3918JK
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A very relaxing stop in the Klein Karoo. Beautiful situation with great views. Lovely to sit and watch the resident birds and wildlife. Good food. Comfortable rooms. Although we had no air con and it was hot, the stone built guest rooms stayed cool with fans.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank suzanq2017
Hoi An, Vietnam
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A surprise in the mountains. It has wonderful views, lovely quaint rooms, good food and the gardens were interesting with all the ducks coming for breakfast. We wished that we could have stayed longer.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gill s
Houghton-le-Spring, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had two nights here, lovely setting, great staff, good food. Would definately stay here again. It was a joy to have breakfast in such a lovely setting, little stingy with the tea though. Very good evening meal, you probably have to eat here as the road is a bit rough, I would not want to travel on it in...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank X6597RYlindaw
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a wonderful place! We spent four nights here, nestled amongst the hills in our own Scottish-themed stone cottage, complete with far-reaching views. This is a wedding venue (we were next to the chapel) as well and has a historic feel to the whole place. Beautifully isolated, you could be miles from everywhere and everyone, even though McGregor and Robertson...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dancingthroughchaos1
Basel, Switzerland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely rooms in scotish highland style, each dedicated to a clan. Old Victorian bath was stylish, though I sometimes rather prefer a shower. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Restaurant is a absolute treasure. Excellent food (had Karroo lamb shank) and stunning wines (Shiraz from the estate ). Would have stayed longer...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephanm165
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 19 February 2017

We loved the lodge and the location and the gardens. The rooms are beautiful but unfortunately it was a very hot weekend in Robertson/McGregor. It was 43 C earlier in the day and the rooms don't have airconditioning. Secondly we use to a king size bed and having to then sleep on a standard double was very uncomfortable. The room...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Awndray
Lord's Guest Lo... M, Owner at Lord's Guest Lodge-McGregor, responded to this review

Gooday Sir. Thank you so much for your review. We have different types of accommodation available at Lord's Guest Lodge, which determines room and bed set up etc. Thank you kindly for your good compliments and recommendations. Looking forward to welcoming you to Lord's Guest Lodge again. Apologies for wastepaper basked. This will be attended too. Apologies for the HOT...

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

A very comfortable place, good, quality cottages, outside seating with views and excellent inside, Scottish themed. Good wi fi at main building. Staff are very good. Restaurant is good, relaxing, good quality. Breakfasts are ok in quality but offer a strange choice, not really visitor friendly, hopefully management wii review and offer a sensible choice! Own wines are very good....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irthlingborough43

89 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (86)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McGregor
3.9 km away
Fountain Place Guesthouse
4.8 km away
Cape Cottages McGregor
Cape Cottages McGregor
#3 of 9 in McGregor
100 reviews
4.6 km away
Old Village Lodge
Old Village Lodge
#1 of 7 in McGregor
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Le Bonheur Guest Accommodation
17.7 km away
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
20.5 km away
Orange Grove Farm
Orange Grove Farm
#2 of 24 in Robertson
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Banquet Room
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
It is hard to imagine a more splendid setting for a supremely elegant venue that takes one back to a time of extravagant luxury and exemplary refinement. With 4 star management and exquisite style you can not help to feel like royalty during your stay. Inspired by the surroundings and its rich heritage, Lord's Guest Lodge overlooks the expanse of the Valley and the blue mountains beyond. Situated atop the Koningsrivier hills between Robertson and McGregor, just off the R62, Lord's Guest Lodge welcomes you to a place where time stood still. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lord's Guest Lodge-McGregor

Address: Koningsrivier Road, McGregor, 6708, McGregor 6708, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > McGregor
Price Range: ₹ 5,890 - ₹ 7,199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lord's Guest Lodge-McGregor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Lord's Guest Lodge-McGregor staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We liked MacKenzie which was the furthest away. We also had a look at the luxury rooms which are also lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles AnneG432, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All cottages are positioned for a view”
  • Stunning views
  • beautiful room
  • Double shower
  • On the stoep
 of 5 bubbles Dancingthroughchaos1, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The individual room as spacious with bath/handshower. The cottages are however aparently much larger.”
 of 5 bubbles JonathanGBishop, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Take one of the Croft style cottages. Individual, lots of room and private.”
 of 5 bubbles 187tripa, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in the lodge rooms and they are great. There are also cottages which we will try next time we go.”
 of 5 bubbles corvette45, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5