We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Phumula Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mtubatuba
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Phumula Lodge
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

12 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 12: English reviews
Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 28 October 2016

This lodge was nice in previous years but its not the same anymore. There is a lot of noise from the freeway and I seems theres a new complex being built across the road, not the kind you would go clothes shopping at, so very noisy and not really a getaway. The management where a bit cold and we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brianmbosu1
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

We would like thank thank the staff and manager Sharon for their outstanding service and friendliness. I can highly recommend Phumula Lodge, the rooms are clean, neat and cosy. They serve a great breakfast and we enjoyed a few drinks at the bar to end a busy day. The lodge grounds are clean with a lovely view of the dam...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shaz P
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Oh my dear Pepe and lee..how things have changed. We used to use Phumula alot but sadly things are not as they used to be. There are no catering facilities so we were advised to eat from the restaurant. The food was average and cold. We ate takeway later in the rooms because we had no choice. The bar was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank simpiwebmhlangu
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 7 September 2016

I am a regular client of Phumula Lodge. If you had asked me about this lodge 3 months ago i would have referred it without hesitation,Pepi & Lee were the managers at this time and were accommodating in all aspects at any hour, they were friendly, helpful & efficient with any needs that I had. However, during my last stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bobby2468
Kokstad, South Africa
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Avoid this place at all costs. Our encounter with management was more than memorable as they were rude and unfriendly. The site is near a busy road and building site. There are simply way better and tranquil places to stay. The rooms are dusty and dirty Its a 1 star at a push and a shove, highly un- recommended !...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brendandd68
Cherise V, Owner at Phumula Lodge, responded to this review

We do not recall having any unhappy guests and our lodge is closed off from the busy road by trees and vegetation. We have also recently past a 4 star grading and we take pride in cleanliness. please feel free to contact me personally if you had any displeasure as I would help in any way possible. Sorry for any...

Empangeni, South Africa
Reviewed 16 August 2016

Our rooms were given to someone else after confirming all details several times. No compensation was offered. The owner was very unfriendly and never apologised once. The rooms we were moved to had no towels or toilet paper. We will never ever recommend or return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SamBiko
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 12 August 2016

After spending 3 days confirming the details of our booking directly with the owner, we arrived at the lodge to only be told abruptly and rudely that the chalets that were to overlook the dam which we had booked and confirmed were given to a guest who extended their stay and that we were now in the main reception house...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ElzSwrt
Cherise V, Owner at Phumula Lodge, responded to this review

All our rooms have a deck that overlooks the dam. The main reception is not attached to any room and is a reception area on it's own. We had tried to appolagise for any inconvenience but you as well as your partner were very rude to the point where the security had to be called in for assistance. As for...

Richards Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 5 August 2016

The bar is never open and you arent allowed to bring your own alcohol. if you want a drink you have to call the receptionist and she will walk to the bar to get it for you. By the time you get your drinks, you better order the next one. The venue is very close to a busy road and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank blaine78
Cherise V, Owner at Phumula Lodge, responded to this review

We have a fully functional bar with a bar lady and is available on request. There was a mall being built close by and has since been completed. As for the fishing we have many anglers catch many bass as well as talapia, barble, eel and grass kob. Unfortunately we can not control how fish bite. However if you were...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 13 April 2016

It was a good place. Its perfectly situated between Hluhluwe and St Lucia. The rooms were very clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. It is also very safe. We felt like they should allow some alcohol on the premises as much as they have a bar, because they are situated halfway between major tourist attractions and therefore most travellers...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank njabs_jama
Port Shepstone, South Africa
Reviewed 1 March 2016

Dear Pepe & Lee, We recently took a vacation and stayed at Phumula lodge. My family would like to thank you for providing a very hospitable environment. Recommended by a friend and being central to my visits to St Lucia, Cape Vidal and Richards bay it was the most appropriate stay. The ambience was most relaxing and I have already...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pravz123

9 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mtubatuba
0.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Umfolozi River
0.0 km away
Seasands Lodge and Conference Centre
0.0 km away
Wendy's Country Lodge
Wendy's Country Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mtubatuba
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
No photo provided
Marula Place
#3 of 6 in Mtubatuba
2 reviews
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Phumula Lodge is set around a 2 hectare Bass dam and offers stylish and comfortable catered accommodation in eight en-suite rooms. All the rooms have a wooden balcony facing the dam where one can enjoy complimentary tea or coffee, and all are fitted with split heating and cooling air conditioners, colour television, easy chairs, bar fridge and wall safe while the spacious bathrooms each boast a corner bath, basin, toilet and a large shower. The serenity and beauty of Phumula Lodge awaits your visit. :-) ... more   less 

Additional Information about Phumula Lodge

Address: East of Eden 488, Mtubatuba 3935, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Mtubatuba
Hotel Class:4 star — Phumula Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Phumula Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“its a bit noisy during day”
 of 5 bubbles simpiwebmhlangu, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have an excellent view overlooking the dam.Duiker and birds could be seen.”
 of 5 bubbles pravz123, 1 Mar 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in an inside room. The outside rooms look better.”
  • View from the parking area
  • Dirty bath water
  • The curtain in our room
 of 5 bubbles LynnE612, 25 Nov 2014 | Read review
3 of 3