We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Traveller (35)
Room & Suite (4)
Dining (1)
Overview
Hafnargata 16 Rif, Snaefellsbaer 360 Iceland See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Outdoor pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Bar/Lounge
Kitchenette
2 Star accommodation
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
47
10
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
47
10
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner the kitchen would highly recommend this place down to earth cultural events very special place a real treat snaefellsnes peninsula national park fish theatre vibe artists culture laundry creativity booze
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2018

I was on a camping holiday, but after 3 days of rain looked for some refuge from the weather. The Freezer is unlike any hostel I've been in. It has a very homely feel with the large recreational area that is segregated into several lounge...More

Thank Mike O
Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

What a fantabulous place almost in ‘the middle of nowhere’. This hostel is full of personality, it has a great and large cosy living room with all sorts of antiques, marine items and displays of all of their theatrical performances to date. Plenty of sofas...More

Thank _jlh_urban
Reviewed 8 July 2018

Really disappointed by the people here--terrible customer service and overall just a lack of respect for my money and time. Would strongly advise against giving them your credit card information, and don't expect to hear anything back if you contact them via email. Just all...More

Thank gcc159
Response from KariVidars, Owner at The Freezer HostelResponded 10 July 2018

Good day. I think I know what this is refering to and it is the fact that your email regarding concerns about public transport was not answered and in fact we did, charge you for your stay, even though you never turned up. The reason...More

Reviewed 22 June 2018

We didn’t stay at the hostel but visited the musical show “journey to the center of the earth”. It was absolute high quality theatre and a stunning performance of the 3 professional actors together with some twenty young people/children of the region. Wonderful. We highly...More

Thank thomas_tenkamp
Reviewed 21 June 2018

This is not your regular hostel, lost in this stunning penninsula you will find artistic geniuses who have amazing shows on every night -and if it wasn't enough, also run the place. I happened to be there to watch the musical "Journey to the Centre...More

Thank totoposadatoni
View more reviews
About
Description
Have you ever slept in a theatre or shared breakfast with the local and visiting artists discussing stage lightning and brush strokes? In The Freezer it just might happen, because the social hostel is a part of a More vibrant cultural centre, artist residency and theatre, situated amidst the stunning natural sights (alien infested glacier!*) Of the Snaefellsnes peninsula. Visit us and take part in creating the unique experience of The Freezer together with international travellers, artists, clowns, cooks, auto mechanics, meteorologists, pancake-makers and sociologists. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Air Conditioning
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Golf Course
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Self-Serve Laundry
Pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Restaurant
Spa
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
4
Price range
US$ 32 - US$ 92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
Iceland > West Region > Snaefellsbaer
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
4
Price range
US$ 32 - US$ 92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
Iceland > West Region > Snaefellsbaer
Photos
Traveller (35)
Room & Suite (4)
Dining (1)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (6)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
North Star Hotel Olafsvik
169 reviews
6.07 km away
Arnarstapi Hotel
27 reviews
19.51 km away
Fosshotel Hellnar
599 reviews
20.59 km away
Hotel Budir
803 reviews
23.42 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 8 nearby restaurants
Vidvik Restaurant
74 reviews
3.59 km away
Hraun Restaurant
404 reviews
6.00 km away
Gilbakki Kaffihus
16 reviews
3.08 km away
Sker Restaurant
60 reviews
6.08 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 19 nearby attractions
Ingjaldscholskirkja
10 reviews
2.24 km away
Londrangar Basalt Cliffs
57 reviews
3.02 km away
Dritvik and Djupalonssandur
139 reviews
3.02 km away
Snaefellsjokull National Park & Glacier
298 reviews
3.03 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
sdubs46
24 August 2016|
Answer
Response from TheGlobalShuffle | Reviewed this property |
Not from memory, so bring a lock for your bag. It's pretty remote though, so if anything goes missing, there's only a few people who it could have been.
0
Votes
Natwen
1 February 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from KariVidars | Property representative |
it´s included in the price
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Check for their cultural programs"
ParichayMehta
21 May 2018
Read review
"Boiler room"
anton_krinchev
31 Oct 2017
Read review
"It's a hostel haha."
andrijak2013
3 Sep 2017
Read review
"E-mail Kari to ask about sleeping arrangements"
380jasond
24 Aug 2016
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing