We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort

Show Prices
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,351 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,313: English reviews
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 April 2016

This hotel is located on the Atlantic side which means swimming can be rather hazardous due to the Atlantic rollers. For this reason i would suggest that the hotel should consider installing a breakwater barrier so as to encourage safer and more comfortable swimming. In addition during my stay in mid March i found the beach to be untidy and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tony g
Christopher F, General Manager at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear tony g, Thank you for taking the time to write a review here on Trip Advisor. I agree with you that the property at this present time is very dry. So is the island of Tobago (it has not rained in 4 months). The grass is very dry and brown. The flowers are in need of water. As there...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 6 April 2016

This was our second stay at the Magdalena; however, with family this time. Overall, the stay was excellent especially with the property's wonderful amenities (great pool) and picturesque beach and ocean backdrop. The rooms were spacious, clean, comfortable and offered amazing ocean views. The all inclusive breakfast was perfect....lots of variety in dishes including local cuisine to choose from with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelgalyvryyzpos
Christopher F, General Manager at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear travelgalyvryyzpos, Warm greetings from the Magdalena Grand, your vacation home away from home! Thank you for writing a review of your return vacation trip to the resort and to Tobago. With reviews such as your and others, they become measureable indicators of how we are doing and in your case as a Returning Guest we have lived up to...

Reviewed 5 April 2016

Positioning of all rooms is very clever all seem to have a balcony and a sea view, our was perfect on the third floor north wing. Room 334. looks like the hotel is subtly going through a refurbishment (but not really causing any disruption to guests) If its 'chilling out' you want this is the place to stay. Hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 441derekw
Christopher F, General Manager at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear 441derekw, It was our pleasure to have hosted you here at the Magdalena Grand and we thank you for taking the time to write a review of said. Love your review title "Totally Chilled" as it is our objective to have every guest leave here in the same way. It is our mission and our promise to all our...

San Fernando, Trinidad
Reviewed 5 April 2016

Overall the ambiance of the resort is everything you could imagine with the man made lakes and golf courses. However the room was cleaned very well with the exception of the toilet. It was like the maid totally forgot to clean the toilet and for us that was a bit disheartening since the resort isn't cheap. Overlooking that mishap, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikhaila1989
Christopher F, General Manager at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear mikhailamcnicolls, Thank you for taking the time to write a review here on Trip Advisor. I am so saddened that it seems that if it was not for the perceived dirty bathroom facility, the Magdalena Grand could have gotten a higher rating from you. You enjoyed everything else such as food, clean room, golf course, resort surroundings and views,...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 April 2016

From the minute we checked in to the minute we checked out the staff were fantastic always pleasant, friendly and helpful, We found the island and the hotel including the staff and locals very chilled and relaxed, which made use feel the same. The Magdalena is not a luxury hotel, its very traditional and colonial style but by the same...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ClareO196
Christopher F, General Manager at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear ClareO196, Warm greetings from the Magdalena Grand! Thank you for taking the time to write a review here on Trip Advisor of your recent vacation. Glad to see you have a great time and that you were able to truly relax. Let's not forget the wonderful mentions of clean and good quality rooms, great service with a smile, and...

Chislehurst, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 April 2016 via mobile

We actually stayed in May 2013 to celebrate our engagement. The hotel upgraded us to a suite, which was HUGE and had a jacuzzi on the veranda. It was absolutely beautiful and we loved it. The whole hotel surrounds were impressive and the staff were friendly and helpful, we'd definitely recommend this hotel!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LjFox1
Christopher F, General Manager at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dearest LjFox1, WOW!!! What an impression we made on you both that after so many years you hold fond memories of the Magdalena Grand. We strongly believe that upon your future visit with us you will continue to NOT be disappointed. Staff are happy and friendly, service is great, rooms are wonderful. We welcome you on your next visit. Regards,...

Reviewed 3 April 2016 via mobile

Best customer service I've had ANYWHERE. The staff was always available & pleasant. The service was just as good as the scenery. The buffet breakfast had a wide variety to choose from so I was able to same something different everyday. The scenery speaks for itself but if you're looking for great service, this is the place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephon T
Christopher F, General Manager at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear Stephon T, Warm greetings from the Magdalena Grand and Tobago! Thank you for taking the time to write a review here on Trip Advisor on your recent stay. Yes! I must agree on the food selection, room quality and service. It indicates what we are doing in staff training, and staff selection, has taken a giant positive leap. And...

delaware
Reviewed 2 April 2016

Good room and very nice facility. Ants in the ground floor in my room. The facilities could use more activities. The restaurants were a little pricey maybe overpriced. Staff was general nice and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TaiDelaware
Christopher F, General Manager at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear TaiDelaware, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay here at the Magdalena Grand. I am saddened that we could not have made your stay "Spectacular", but did make it good-to-great in the room quality, food and staff. I assure you we are working on providing more activities for all to participate. Many...

Georgetown, Canada
Reviewed 30 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for a few days during March Break. The resort was nice, rooms were clean & the food was a bit pricy but delicious. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The beach is rough but you can still swim and the kids played on the beach. There are a lot of seaweed on the beach, if they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ziandra
Christopher F, General Manager at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear Ziandra, Warm Greetings from the Magdalena Grand and Tobago. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review here on Trip Advisor of your recent vacation experience. Thank you for mentioning the staff and the room quality and standard as well as the facilities in general. The beach is nice and the sargassum seaweed comes and goes with...

Reviewed 30 March 2016 via mobile

Friendly staff Clean facilities Awesome room views Beautiful grounds Restaurants Tours Activities Spa Gym Internet Bath Tub Great pool Best buffet breakfast in Trinidad and Tobago Expensive but 100% worth it This was my second visit to this resort and for me it is #1 on the island The only thing that would make it better is if the beach...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johannah E
Christopher F, General Manager at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear Johannah E, Thank you for taking the time to write a review here on Trip Advisor on your second stay here at the Magdalena Grand. Glad to hear that you totally agree that our breakfast buffet is the best at least in Tobago and maybe in all of Trinidad & Tobago. The kitchen team takes great pride in delivering...

1,299 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1066)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (227)
Viewed
Dining (80)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (258)
Viewed
Room/Suite (61)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
View from Room (58)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (356)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (206)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
Beach (15)
Viewed
Deluxe Oceanfront Room (71)
Viewed
Pool (32)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowlands
7.6 km away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
6.0 km away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
243 reviews
7.2 km away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
6.1 km away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
5.1 km away
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
Mount Irvine Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Mount Irvine
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The new, 4 Star, Magdalena Grand Beach Resort is located on Tobago Plantations Estate, a 750 acre gated community, and offers 178 Deluxe OceanFront Rooms and 22 One and Two Bedroom Suites. All accommodations are Ocean Front with private balconies. This beachfront resort offers an 18-hole PGA Golf Course, its own Dive Center, Spa, and the largest amount of banquet & meeting space on Tobago. Complimentary wireless internet is available throughout the resort. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort

Address: Tobago Plantations Estate, Lowlands, Tobago
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Lowlands
Price Range: ₹ 13,741 - ₹ 23,822 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vhl Tobago Golf Hotel Lowlands
Vhl Tobago Golf And Spa Resort
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort Tobago/Lowlands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort staff and other travellers.
45 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (45)

Questions? Get answers from Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms away from the children playing areas or pools if you want to sleep in.”
, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Everywhere is beautiful, all rooms are ocean view, if it is far from lobby, call front desk, they pick you up at your room.”
370shaniceb, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Best view is the view over the pool looking all the way to the sea”
fordecurtis, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms nearest the reception on any level are best. (Reception is level 3. Pools and beach level 1”
shiverin2016, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“most rooms of similar standard and size, you can ask for a sea view room”
marbrirus, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5