We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wilderness Safaris King's Pool Camp

Save
Share
Linyanti Wildlife Reserve, Linyanti Reserve Botswana
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (248)
Room & Suite (43)
Dining (16)

About

#3 of 8 Speciality lodging in Linyanti Reserve
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Named for Scandinavian royalty, Kings Pool looks out over a sparkling oxbow-shaped lagoon framed with reeds and punctuated by the occasional elephant moving through the water. Expansive decks in the main area echo the natural spaces, and an open-air 'kgotla' (boma) is the perfect setting for fine dining under the stars. Two hides - one with the water (and wildlife!) literally at eye-level - are perfect places to spend your siesta: elephant feet and trunks are almost within touching distance. End the day with sundowners on the elegant, colonial-style Queen Sylvia barge as she cruises down the Linyanti River. • 9 tents • 100% solar • game drives • guided walks • sunken hide • barge cruises • catch-and-release fishing
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free internet
Pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Laundry service
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Show more
Room features
Minibar
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Great View

Location

Full view
Contact
Linyanti Wildlife Reserve, Linyanti Reserve Botswana
See all nearby hotels
150Reviews4Q+A37Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 132
  • 14
  • 3
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Adri Joubert wrote a review Jan 2021
19 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
After an unusual year (2020), to say the least, we wanted a relaxed Christmas breakaway, and WOW!!! we got all we wished for - what a wonderful experience. Our experience at King's Pool Camp can be summarised as follows: STAFF/SERVICE: Welcoming, friendly, warm, pleasant, knowledgeable, experienced and the list goes on! We even had homemade eggnog in the bush for Christmas! FOOD/MENU: Outstanding, exceptional , tasty, well presented! ROOM (Family Room): Spacious, clean, PERFECT VIEW! ACTIVITIES: TK, our guide was excellent, the effort he put into making our game drives, fishing trips, etc. memorable was highly appreciated. Overall, it was a terrific holiday. The Managers, Anton and Laura, was there to greet us on arrival, after activities and during our stay. When we left, my kids were emotional - the staff became like friends, they even named the resident hippo "Gustav". I can recommend King's Pool Camp! Thanks, Adri, Riaan, Janike and Jana
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: All the rooms have a beautiful view.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Sabine wrote a review Oct 2020
16 contributions
The place is amazing!! view to the river full of hippopotamus. Luxury tent with very good bed all confort very clean. Delicious food 4 times a day. Amazing safari with great Jeep or by foot with very experienced guides. All the team dedicated for your satisfaction. More than I could dream or imagine 😍
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Marc S wrote a review Mar 2020
Brussels, Belgium523 contributions244 helpful votes
Staying 3 nights at this camp were truly enjoyable and one of my best experiences with the Wilderness Safaris camps. The 'rooms' are very large and offer everything one could possible need (incl. WiFi). The main guest area does not have WiFi and that is a smart decision. Food (Chef Shane) is great - never too much - tasty and well plated. Your intention to cut down on food will miserably fail. The team - bar - resto - housekeeping - is wonderful and acts as a team creating a solid and comfortable experience for guests. The guides (Cabo as well as Fani) are knowledgeable and share the info professionally. Sightings in this area are good. Water was too far down to allow for water safaris - seasonal variations are normal. The airstrip is rather far out so the drive to/from the camp becomes a de facto safari drive. Laura and Anton are solid managers for this operation.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Tenneil Zondagh, Owner at Wilderness Safaris King's Pool Camp
Responded 19 Mar 2020
Dear Marcinbrussels, Thank you for the amazing review, we are delighted to see how much you enjoyed your time in camp and will be sure to share your high praises with Laura, Anton and all the great staff in camp. Bush regards Wilderness Safaris
Read more
NEWLYRETIRED100 wrote a review Sep 2019
US91 contributions48 helpful votes
We stayed at Kings Pool as the last camp of a two week trip to South Africa and Botswana from September 6-September 22. We had previously stayed at two Singita camps and at the Jao camp in the Okovango Delta. All of these are premier camps and they are the bar for which I measure the experience of a premier camp. Of all the camps we stayed at, Kings Pool has the most gorgeous setting --right on the river, with Hippos, elephants, kingfisher birds and a few crocodiles for viewing right outside your window. You hear the hippos in the middle of the night - and the morning we left we heard a lion roaring in the distance. REally spectacular. All the rooms face the river, so presumably, all the rooms have the same wonderful views. Second, the staff is really great at this camp - everyone goes out of their way to attend to you and meet your needs. Laundry is delivered to your room on the day you send it out. The service is wonderful. Our guide was equally wonderful -- extremely knowledgeable about the area, the ecosystem -- and we found an abundance of animals. However, it was very dry and dusty on the drives-- it would have been a very nice touch if the camp management had offered us bandanas to cover our mouth and nose on the drives. Last - the lodge itself -- it was supposedly remodeled last June, but if feels older and dated. The rooms are nice -- with the tent-like feel -- but they don't compare in size or amenities to the other camps we stayed at. There is no gym or spa at this camp, and while that really didn't make much difference to us -- these amenities are generally available in other camps that are true premier camps. Also, there are no phones in the rooms, so there is no way to contact staff in the lodge once you are in your room. There are no private plunge pools for an evening dip. Finally, the water in the shower (there is no tub) and at the sinks are very difficult to regulate -- either scalding hot or cold and at the sinks, it is very low pressure. My husband couldn't get the cold water to turn on at one point. But most problematic for a premier camp ---- it is an art to get the water comfortable enough to take a shower. As to the food, the Chef is a lovely person -- he makes a point of introducing himself to all the guests and chatting with them. He will also prepare anything you want on a custom basis. However, I found the food to be very good, but not outstanding. The most important disappointment, for a camp that markets itself as premier was the lack of air conditioning (even low impact air conditioning). The temperatures were in the high 90s (farenheit) -- approximately 35-36 centigrade --and while it was very dry, it was unbearable in the afternoons. It was so hot, that I didn't want to go out in the afternoon -- though unfortunately, there was no relief from the heat at the lodge. The staff explained that they want to keep a very low carbon footprint -- but when the temperatures reach the mid-high 90s to 100, air conditioning is essential in a premier lodge. Bottom line is that the river is unquestionably the best feature of this lodge though compared to the other lodges we stayed at, this was definitely more of an upscale classic camp. This would have been ok, if we had been prepared, and if the pricing were more in line with a classic camp. Our expectation was for a premier camp more in line with the Singitas or with Jao. Because the rooms were not comfortable for us, we probably wouldn't stay at this camp again. However, that said, if you haven't visited, it is worth a night during mild weather in May or June, just to see the gorgeous setting and the animals at the river.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Wilderness_Safaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris King's Pool Camp
Responded 27 Sep 2019
Dear NEWLYRETIRED100, Thank you for the great review, we are thrilled to see how much you enjoyed your time with us in the Linyanti Reserve and will be sure to pass along your kind words to all the hardworking staff in camp. We are sorry to see that we were unable to meet your expectations, we have shared your comments with our operations team who will investigate this all further to see where they would ba able to improve and we can tell you that the water pressure issues had previously been brought to our attention and has since been rectified. Thank you again Wilderness Safaris
Read more
Ira41 wrote a review Sep 2019
Nottingham, United Kingdom106 contributions49 helpful votes
Kinng's Pool Camp has an amazing location next to a lagoon and the Linyati river. You can hear Hippos at night which was strange at first but you'll soon get used to it. Also lots of elephants came so close to our tent, it was wonderful! The staff were absolutely wonderful, very attentive without being intrusive. It is lead by an excellent manager and her team seems very happy and motivated. The food provided by Shane was very good (I particularly liked his lovely big smile and sunny personality) and the entertainment provided including a boma was very enjoyable. I would also recommend a short cruise with sundowners on a comfortable barge as she slides down the Linyanti river which divides Botswana and Namibia. The game drives were also very good and enjoyable. The facilities at the Camp and luxurious tents were well kept, clean and comfortable. The shop at Kings pool offered a good choice of safari clothing and gifts at good price. Overall it was a lovely experience and well recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Wilderness_Safaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris King's Pool Camp
Responded 25 Sep 2019
Dear Ira41, Thank you for your wonderful review, we are delighted to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you got some beautiful souveniers from the curio shop. We will be sure to share your kind wirds with Shane and all the great staff in camp. Bush regards Wilderness Safaris
Read more
Previous
ALSO KNOWN AS
kings pool camp hotel linyanti reserve
LOCATION
BotswanaNorth-West DistrictLinyanti Reserve
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Wilderness Safaris King's Pool Camp
What are some of the property amenities at Wilderness Safaris King's Pool Camp?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Wilderness Safaris King's Pool Camp?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Wilderness Safaris King's Pool Camp?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.