We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Damara Mopane Lodge

Orbitz.comUS$ 164*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 169*
US$ 164*
US$ 169*
US$ 164*
US$ 169*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Damara Mopane Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

383 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 245: English reviews
Start your review of Damara Mopane Lodge
 Click to rate
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Comfortable rooms all with their own vegetable/flower garden. Great food, barbecues or buffets. Amazing bread and lovely breakfasts. Lovely sundowner area a bit of a walk but worth it. Great clean swimming pool.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CareFree5
Durban
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Accommodation is in little houses surrounded by a little wall and vegetable gardens. Rooms are comfortable. Pity there is no fridge. This place is an oasis. Wonderful pool. Puzzled that the evening meal cost is not included in rate as there is nowhere else to go for dinner? At 300 n$ somewhat expensive for what you get. We had one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dacabs
Windhoek
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For the dinner asking price the food is not on standard. Only meat was CURRY chicken and meatballs for dinner is not acceptable. The wine list not on standard as most is not in stock. The service and waiters were very good - food display good but the quaility is not up to standard! to pay that price for dinner...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cobus V
Parys, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

sometimes in life one gets surprises which you don't expect. at one stage during the planning of our trip, I wanted to cancel this booking. I am so glad I didn't! maybe being one of the Gondwana resorts made the difference, but is was one of the better accommodations we enjoy on our entire tour. everything was different and beautifully...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrispK866BO
GondwanaCollection, Social Media Assistant at Damara Mopane Lodge, responded to this review

Wonderful! Thank you so much for taking your time to share your pleasant experience with us. We are so happy to hear from you and we hope to share more great moments with you in the days to come. The housekeeping staff and lodge management have reviewed your story and are surely looking forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The lodge is lovely -- clean, spacious and sprawling, with a swimming pool for cooling down at the end of a long day. The charming cottage style rooms have their own veggie gardens that lend it a rustic air. The staff is friendly and helpful (the chef even allowed me to cook a one-pot vegetarian meal for my kids in...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 467sachink
GondwanaCollection, Social Media Assistant at Damara Mopane Lodge, responded to this review

Such a lovely story! Thank you very much for taking your time to share your experience on this platform. Nothing makes us happier then catering to our guests needs! It was indeed a pleasure to have you and we trust that potential clients will make use of your great story to make Namibia a destination of choice, many thanks to...

Windhoek, Namibia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As our country is in a time-space of abundant rain, and therefore so lush & green, it was such a pleasure to drive from Windhoek to the Lodge. We as Namibians truly live in a paradise. Unfortunately with the rains comes the mosquitoes. Resilient Mosquitoes that found a way to get to an unprotected piece of skin, no matter all...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Theodore V
GondwanaCollection, Social Media Assistant at Damara Mopane Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking your time to share your feedback on this platform. We sincerely apologise for the standard of food service, Nevertheless, Your wonderful words have been shared with the housekeeping staff and lodge management and have ensured best efforts to make your next visit a great success. I am wishing you plenty of fun in your...

Otjiwarongo
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The lodge is beautiful decorated and the staff and Manager is very helpful and friendly. The diner and breakfast was not good the dinner was tasteless and I do not know where they get their cold meat it is horrible

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank X1457WHannae
GondwanaCollection, Social Media Assistant at Damara Mopane Lodge, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted by your kind words and however apologise for the difficulty that you have encountered. We will ensure to avoid such trouble from enjoying your experience with us in the near future. Lovely regards, Koney

Namibian
Reviewed 12 April 2017

Was there for business not pleasure, so I dint see much or anything, but went to training the people there how to introduce Namibian wine to the customers. And it was amazing to get such a good review from them.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank francinao2017
GondwanaCollection, Social Media Assistant at Damara Mopane Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your amazing response; it was indeed an honour to have you. Nothing excites us more than the fantastic stories we hear about our properties, we hope to share more of great moments with you in the days to come. The housekeeping staff and lodge management have reviewed your feedback and are hoping to offer you...

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

If you want peace and quiet and not much else, then this is the place for you. By the time we arrived at the Lodge, we were nearing the end of our tour of Namibia. Once again, we arrived not knowing what to expect, though we had done some research. There were 60 lodges on the estate and each had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gail W
GondwanaCollection, Social Media Assistant at Damara Mopane Lodge, responded to this review

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are happy to hear from you and we hope this was not the last of times with you. Your thoughts and suggestions have been shared with the housekeeping staff and lodge management and all have ensured to use your feedback to the best...

Kokkedal, Denmark
Reviewed 5 April 2017

It was a very nice place with a great platform on the mountain, fro where you could see the sundown. The place grows its own vegetables, which we had for dinner. We had interconnecting rooms, which was great for a family. Beautiful surroundings, nice people and a great pool.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mette T
GondwanaCollection, Social Media Assistant at Damara Mopane Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us, we highly appreciate it. We hope your lovely words will inspire fellow travelers to make Namibia a destination of choice. The housekeeping staff and lodge management have reviewed your story ensuring to keep up the great work. We wish you plenty of exciting moments in your future adventures. Best regards,...

184 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (168)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (84)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Khorixas
28.6 km away
Vingerklip Lodge
Vingerklip Lodge
#5 of 14 in Damaraland
406 reviews
421.1 km away
Namib Naukluft Lodge
Namib Naukluft Lodge
#9 of 12 in Sossusvlei
160 reviews
137.0 km away
Hobatere Lodge
Hobatere Lodge
#8 of 35 in Etosha National Park
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
204.4 km away
Waterberg Guest Farm
Waterberg Guest Farm
#1 of 2 in Okakarara
253 reviews
0.0 km away
Madisa Camp
Madisa Camp
#4 of 35 in Swakopmund
100 reviews
273.6 km away
Gecko Ridge Guesthouse
Gecko Ridge Guesthouse
#5 of 35 in Swakopmund
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Damara Mopane Lodge

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Built in the wattle and daub style under Mopane trees and connected by a labyrinth of paths, the main building and chalets of the lodge look like an African village. The walls are adorned by copies of the rock engravings at Twyfelfontein. Each of the 60 double room chalets (with air conditioning) sits in a vegetable and herb garden surrounded by a low wall. The gardens supply fresh ingredients for supper, which consists of a starter followed by a delicious buffet. There is a swimming pool for chilling out and a viewing point for relishing sunsets. The lodge at the gates of Damaraland is ideally suited for excursions to Twyfelfontein (130 km), the Petrified Forest (70 km) and the Vingerklip rock pillar (50 km). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Damara Mopane Lodge

Address: C39 | 20 km east of Khorixas, Khorixas, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Kunene Region > Khorixas
Price Range: ₹ 10,149 - ₹ 11,312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Damara Mopane Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Damara Mopane Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Damara Mopane Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Damara Mopane Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We prefer the first row chalets!”
S6831TUkarena, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All fabulous.”
48helenw, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are lovely!”
pogleswood186338, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms backing onto the outside fence have a view of springbuck and gemsbok”
orkeyinga, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I believe the ones in the first row to the park are nicest”
  • Our little house with own mini garden
lukasoritzel, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$ 164* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$ 164
PricelineUS$ 169
Booking.comUS$ 169
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates