We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ambre Resort & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ambre Resort & Spa
Ambre Resort & Spa
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,609 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ambre Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,064: English reviews
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2017

Our holiday covered the tropical storm period during which time the staff deserve full credit for their hard work before, during & afterwards.The uprooted beach parasols were a tragedy but repaired within days. From old resort photos it can be seen the erosion of the beach is a long term problem. Sunbed Hysteria: Mainly caused by the selfish attitude of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank happysept09
Clency R, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Ambre Resort & Spa. Thank you for your review for us. You have detailed your experience with us and at the onset our apologies for not having been able to stand up to your expectations. It is really unfortunate that the resort experience was completely different than what you expected right from its settings and unfortunately...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2017

lovely food, lovely room, lovely staff, lovely setting, makes for a lovely holiday. only one niggle is the hotel shop, too expensive. one nice touch though, the deputy manager came to see us off [at 6am] and too thank us for going to his hotel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
5Thank katieplops
Clency R, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you for writing your review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to read that you had a perfect customer experience and can only thank you for having given us the opportunity to look after you and provide customer satisfaction. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our shores in a not too...

Camberley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2017

Great hotel but could be better. Staff very friendly but could be more efficient. Location great but Dogs are a pain and should be a factor when you book. If you're a dog lover (they get in the pool on occasion) then this is for you. If not then you will be disappointed. Shade areas could be better but not...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Paul F
Clency R, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Greetings from Ambre Resort & Spa! Thank you for your kind comments and the time spent to share them on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to learn that you have had a joyful time with us and are pleased to see our efforts extended in making your stay a wonderful experience. I will not miss to share...

Ahmedabad, India
Reviewed 22 February 2017

One of the best scenic and magnificent view hotel with amazing and humble staff. Who will always cater all your needs with smiling face. We had the best Honeymoon time over there and the guest relations Vanessa took atmost care for making our memories at best.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
4Thank sandeepsL2740WB
Clency R, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Ambre Resort & Spa. We thank you for your review on Trip Advisor and to rate us an amazing place to stay. It was indeed pleasure for us to serve you during your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best Regards, Clency Roméo General Manager

Enville DY7 5HA
Reviewed 21 February 2017

Superb hotel and spa,delightful position pure paradise,the food in all resturants was excellent, the only problem was being vable to book into the Coral restaurant it seemed to be full booked all the time,I have travelled a lot but for service and friendliness the hotel takes a lot of beating I will most certainly return in future

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
4Thank seljan
Clency R, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for giving us the perfect rating on Trip Advisor! It was a pleasure to learn how much you enjoyed your holiday experience at Ambre resort & Spa. We are glad to see you found the accommodation comfortable, service exceptional and food to your liking. We thank you for your stay and hope it will not be...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

When we arrived at Ambre the sun was blazing & spirits where a little low after a 12 hour flight , we where quickly shown to our room ( booked a sea view ) on arrival we found it to be spotless & very spacious, patio that overlooked a garden & the beach a stones throw away (235) it was...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Clency R, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Ambre Resort & Spa. We are truly pleased you have recognized our staff as one of the best you have seen. We glad to note that you have had an excellent moment at our resort and your appreciation on the quality of our service, staff attitude and the overall facilities. We reiterate our thanks for visiting...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 21 February 2017

It was our first time in Mauritius, couldnt fault it .the resort was fantastic ,great value for money. There was entertainment each night .during the day there was activities you can participate. Example aqua aerobics,bike rides to local markets,water activities non stop great if you !! have ants in your pants!! Alcohol was ok .....the quality of juices and spirits...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 511goodtimes
Clency R, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Ambre Resort & Spa. We thank you for your review on Trip Advisor and to rate us a fantastic place to stay. It was indeed pleasure for us to serve you during your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best Regards, Clency Roméo General Manager

Sunningdale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2017

This was our second vist in 2 years and this year was even better. We chose the Ambre again because it is Adults Only, All Inclusive, Free Golf and Free Wi-Fi. The well trained staff are attentive but discrete, the beach is sheltered and is the palm kissed, blue sea worthy of any brochure. There is always a choice of...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Michael L
Clency R, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Ambre Resort & Spa! The entire team at the resort joins me in thanking you for this wonderful review for us. I am thankful to you for choosing us to celebrate an important landmark in your lives and happy that we stood up to your expectations. It is reviews like yours which keep the team at...

Reviewed 20 February 2017

It is hard to imagine that I experienced the same hotel that other reviews describe. It is situated in a beautiful location although much of the beach shown in photos has been eroded away. This hotel is badly in need of renovation especially in the public areas. Whilst the rooms are dated, many of the seats in the bar area...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Gardnertom
Clency R, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your views on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Ambre Resort & Spa. We certainly pay attention to our guest feedback which will assist us in our continuous improvement towards quality service. I regret to take note that some details kept you from enjoying your stay at Ambre Resort. Please accept our apologies...

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 20 February 2017

We enjoyed very much to stay in Ambre Hotel. Hotel is located in front of the ocean. You can hear the sound of the ocean 24 hours. Service is very good and what was importent for us that staff is very friendly and that the main thing is not intrusive. We will be definitely back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
3Thank NA N
Clency R, General Manager at Ambre Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are sincerely thank you for your comments which you kindly posted on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to note that you have had a nice time at our resort and truly appreciated all aspects of our resort. We reiterate our thanks for choosing our hotel for your holidays and look forward to hosting you in a not...

4,864 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4383)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (625)
Viewed
Room/Suite (255)
Viewed
View from Room (135)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1082)
Viewed
Dining (311)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (54)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (22)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (1883)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (424)
Viewed
Amenities (107)
Viewed
Beach (42)
Viewed
Pool (46)
Viewed
Dining (84)
Viewed
Standard Room (35)
Viewed
Superior Room (47)
Viewed
The Hotel (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmar
26.0 km away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,310 reviews
25.4 km away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
4,331 reviews
0.2 km away
The Residence Mauritius
The Residence Mauritius
#2 of 12 in Belle Mare
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
56.8 km away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,392 reviews
0.2 km away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 12 in Belle Mare
4,541 reviews
51.5 km away
Tamassa
Tamassa
#1 of 6 in Bel Ombre
4,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ambre Resort is an all-inclusive adult only resort located in Belle Mare, on the east coast of Mauritius. The resort is one hour away from the airport and from the capital city of Port-Louis. The resort boasts a 700-metre white natural sandy beach running along a sheltered bay. The adjacent tropical lagoon is a haven for fish and marine life, with many bathing and diving areas. Guests of Ambre benefit from free green fees and complimentary transfer at the Ile aux Cerfs Golf Club, an 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ambre Resort & Spa

Address: Coast Road, Palmar, Mauritius 41601 (Formerly Ambre Hotel)
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Palmar
Price Range: ₹ 14,564 - ₹ 21,137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambre Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ambre Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambre Hotel Belle Mare
Hotel Ambre Mauritius
Ambre Hotel Mauritius
Ambre Resort & Spa Mauritius/Palmar
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ambre Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
863 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (863)

Questions? Get answers from Ambre Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Garden room recommended.”
K4438WCjanes, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Up grade to sea view room, you will not be disappointed.”
cliffgravener, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Sea facing”
81juliew, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Pay for a sea view otherwise you could end up with the smell of sewage”
  • Room 808 - the one with the smell outside
  • View from Room 501 - no balcony
MysticalChildUK, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“ocean view”
suep368, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5