We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Daintree Wilderness Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Daintree Wilderness Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

249 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 220: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Lovely,peaceful location but close to all you need to see.Sirli made us feel at home from the moment we got there and our rainforest cabin was cosy and comfortable along with Cassowary visits morning and afternoon!!Dinner in their restaurant was awesome and the service intimate.Will be telling all our friends about this special place!!!

Helpful?
Thank Ann B
hereford
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2016

We are aware this review is likely to evoke a defensive response but it is intended to provide feedback which can be used to make staying at the Lodge a more enjoyable experience. No doubting that the location is wonderful for those wanting to experience the rain forest up close and the Lodge is easy to find. The place is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank tessall4
DaintreeWilderness, General Manager at Daintree Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Dear tessall4, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We appreciate every comment that is made and always respond to explain why things at the lodge are done the way they are. This is not meant to be defensive but just to inform our future guests. :) It is nice to hear that you appreciated... More 

Chesterland, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2016

We enjoyed a 2 night stay in September, 2016. Property is wonderful....isolated cabins...great food (no dinner on Tuesdays)....and wonderful managers. We did not want to drive in Australia so we arranged for a drop off & pick up.......though the Daintree area has a lot to offer with many river trips and canopy activities...only one vendor will actually pick you up... More 

Helpful?
Thank Frank G
DaintreeWilderness, General Manager at Daintree Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Frank G, thank you kindly for taking the time to provide your feedback! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the lodge and were lucky to see our resident cassowary as well! It is true that a vehicle is highly recommended as you saw yourself, there is nothing really in walking distance from us. Just... More 

Roermond, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2016

We stayed 3 nights in one of the jungle cabins in the middle of the jungle. The cabin was comfortable although basic somewhat outdated. We would have liked to see it cleaner. Wifi was available in the restaurant. It was very slow but for free, The food was really tasty although it would be nice to have more to choose... More 

Helpful?
Thank Spekpony
DaintreeWilderness, General Manager at Daintree Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Spekpony, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback! It is nice to hear that you appreciated the unique location of the lodge. We are constantly working on updating the cabins and keeping them up to standard. At the moment we are in the progress of replacing the decor (cushions, bathroom accessories etc) in all... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

We spent one night here while we explored Daintree and Cape Tribulation. The cabin was comfortable, the owner was helpful and friendly and the food in the restaurant was delicious. There are no words that can explain the feeling of sitting under a canopy, in the rain forest at night while it's gently raining looking for wildlife. We were lucky... More 

Helpful?
Thank Biker_Rae
DaintreeWilderness, General Manager at Daintree Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Biker_Rae, thank you for a lovely feedback! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed everything we have to offer. In regards to the outdoor spa, we have adjusted the hours when the pump is on according to the hot weather we have been having so it is at a nicer temperature and not so intrusive for our guests... More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

Was taken here for two nights as a surprise from my partner and was not disappointed! The cabins are nicely wedged within the rainforest so you can fully emerge yourself in nature. We were lucky enough to wake both mornings and see a cassowary and his chicks right beside our cabin. The complimentary breakfast was delicious and perfect to start... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sparrow R
DaintreeWilderness, General Manager at Daintree Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sparrow R, thank you for your feedback! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your surprise stay in the Daintree. Seeing the cassowaries right at your doorstep is really a treat! We are also glad that you appreciate what we have to offer and have recommended us to your friends and family. Please contact us in the future... More 

Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2016

When we made the reservation, they immediately charged us the full price of our stay. The day before our stay, when we were already on our way to the Daintree, they cancelled our booking arguing that they had 'overbooked' their rooms. We found them too unreliable after making us pay more than 4 months in advance! I would never recommend... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mariana A
DaintreeWilderness, General Manager at Daintree Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mariana A, my sincere apologies again for the inconvenience caused to you! Yes, we do charge first night's payment as a deposit at the time of booking and as your stay happened to be only for the 1 night, it was also full payment. Unfortunately mistakes happen as we are only human and I am sorry that in this... More 

Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
275 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Ecology is their specialty and I'm all for saving the earth but there are limits. We could not read as the lights were not sufficient. I had to wake up every two hours to push the button to keep the air conditioner on - even though it would only cool to 23C (73.4F). They have a TV for DVDs only... More 

Helpful?
Thank TheGoBird
DaintreeWilderness, General Manager at Daintree Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Dear TheGoBird, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your experience at Daintree Wilderness Lodge was not what you had anticipated. As you have stated, eco-friendliness is our key policy and the lodge has been awarded with a certificate in advanced eco-tourism. Bearing this in mind, we use long... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

What a lovely place. You can't be disappointed here. We were greeted warmly by the owner. It's a really unique feeling being within the rainforest and listening to the sounds at night yet warmly sheltered in your cabin. The cabin itself is beautiful with a very modern feel yet solitude. There's 7 cabins here so there's enough people to chat... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
DaintreeWilderness, General Manager at Daintree Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Dear TripAdvisor user, thank you for your feedback! We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the lodge and everything we have to offer. There is definitely a special feel to sleeping in the rainforest and listening to all the sounds around us. :) If you are ever travelling up our way again, please contact us... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2016

I stayed at the Wilderness Lodge for 3 nights with 3 of my adult children and loved the experience. The cabins are beautifully situated right in the middle of the rainforest and each one is separate and quite private. There was a mix up with our reservation, however, the manager, Sirli, went out of her way to try to make... More 

Helpful?
Thank AtticusShmatticus
DaintreeWilderness, General Manager at Daintree Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Dear AtticusShmatticus, thank you for providing us your feedback! It is much appreciated! We are very glad to hear that despite some confusion with your reservation we managed to make your stay memorable and enjoyable. It is nice to see our guests experiencing the lodge and our surroundings to the maximum! We look forward to having you stay with us... More 

180 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (170)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
0:28
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diwan
9.1 km away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
482 reviews
29.5 km away
Silky Oaks Lodge
Silky Oaks Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mossman
834 reviews
16.6 km away
Cape Tribulation Beach House
Cape Tribulation Beach House
#1 of 12 in Cape Tribulation
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Heritage Lodge & Spa
1.1 km away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
3.2 km away
Daintree Crocodylus
Daintree Crocodylus
#1 of 2 in Cow Bay
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Your cabin is tucked away with complete privacy and is surrounded by the natural beauty of the rainforest.With only 7 cabins we offer boutique style accommodation with friendly and personalized service.The property also offers an outdoor pool, nature walk and fully licensed restaurant spoiling you with Australian Cuisine. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Daintree Wilderness Lodge

Address: 83 Cape Tribulation Road, Diwan, Queensland 4873, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Diwan
Price Range: ₹ 14,864 - ₹ 16,228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Daintree Wilderness Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Daintree Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daintree Wilderness Hotel Diwan
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Daintree Wilderness Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Daintree Wilderness Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All cabins are similar”
 of 5 bubbles 116frankg, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Well it was supposed to be private bur I could see into the next cabin”
 of 5 bubbles Ruth111962, 11 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Guess they are all good”
 of 5 bubbles kencU286FI, 31 Jan 2016 | Read review
“If you want to stay right in the rainforest and feel part of it without roughing it, this is the place for you.”
 of 5 bubbles 835kerries, 24 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Rooms away from the restaurant will have less disturbances.”
 of 5 bubbles DG050403, 9 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay